We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, helpful Sr Manager and Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georgetown City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Georgetown City Hotel
Ranked #43 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
“Friendly, helpful Sr Manager and Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Frontdesk staff and banquet staff led by an experienced
Senior Manager in Mr Leon Tan gave us good service.

Location is good. We also used their ballroom for an event
and staff members were helpful and patient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phgoh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    135
    126
    40
    39
See reviews for
165
60
40
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Considering that we paid a decently low price for the room, we did not expect too much of this hotel. Based on our stay though, the hotel need to refurbish and upgrade the dated room interiors, especially if it wants to compete with hotels in the surrounding area. The hotel service was average and so was the food. Location wise, this hotel is near to many facilities including Gurney Mall, entertainment, hospital and food eateries. Overall,it was a decent stay with basic facilities and hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norli85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed there because it is near to adventis hospital. The room is spacious and clean. The linen are all new. The location of hotel is very strategic. You just need to walk to find some restaurant. The customer service are extremelly helpful. I will back again to this hotel in my next visit to georgetown.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xiaofoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kedah, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Bellman and front office staff were very accommodating, friendly and efficient. We were checked into a clean room within 10 mins though arrived there early and hotel was may be due to long weekend. Room facilities normal but functioning perfectly well.
Will definitely stay in this hotel on my next trip to Penang.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penang_Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel itself was well located, but my overall experience was so so. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room service food really good, but the breakfast very basic and fairly ordinary. Not to mentioned there was one chef cooking the eggs/omelettes and the line up a mile long. We couldn't be bothered waiting, so went with out. As for the room; the bed was comfortable, but windows very dirty/mouldy, bar fridge smelled horrendous and was not stocked (why????) and there was mildew in the bathroom. The towels were very tired too. Also we were freezing! The thermostat for the air conditioner did absolutely nothing, which was a huge pain as the cot they provided didn't come with cot blankets and our daughter was cold and ended up in our bed every night. Not a comfortable way to sleep! I would choose to stay somewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Xin, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We thank Reviewer Nirelle B for writing her comments in TripAdvisor thus giving us feedback on our shortcomings, for it is with such feedback that we can improve our standards and services for our future guests. At the same time, we also would like to convey our regrets to Nirelle and family, especially to her baby for any discomfort they may have gone through.

We regret that Nirelle opted to skip the complimentary breakfast and hope that she understand that during busy periods, the Cafe was quite full resulting in a queue at the egg counter. The Kitchen does task 2 persons to the egg counter now and then to clear the crowd. While it is true that the breakfast was ordinary but most of the basic breakfast items (to cater for Western & Asian taste) were there.

The dirty windows mentioned by Reviewer we presumed is on the external side whereby being a high rise, cleaning is only done periodically. As for the mini fridge, we have intentinally left it empty and there is a signage to inform guests of this - requests can be made to stock it up for those who so wish to. As for the baby blanket, we would have provided it upon request - usually most guest prefer to bring and use their own blanket.

We would like to inform Reviewer that some of the shortcomings mentioned (eg tired towels, smelly fridge etc) could have been rectified had it been reported to us at the time. Nevertheless we thank Nirelle for mentioneing our hotel's good location, friendly staff service and good room service. We hope to welcome back Nirelle & family to see improvements in our hotel in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level Contributor
134 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

this hotel is situated at pulau tikus, not far from penang adventist hospital and 10 minutes walk to gurney plaza. however, getting to this hotel from airport is now a hassle as direct bus no 102 from airport to telluk bahang does not directly in front of the hotel like it used to be. if u r carrying bags, not advisable to use bus to this hotel anymore. just have to use taxi cab, which cost RM44.50 from the airport.

upon check in, the bell boy is helpful enough to carry ur bags up to the stairs for check in. check in was fast, but the lobby looks unimpressive. checked in to room at level 11. the floor smells musky, with old pictures of berjaya resorts.

booked super single room, it was small. and the room smells musky as well. the view is not so bad, as u can see part of georgetown. however, the bathroom was horrible. stains on the curtain. most of the things r rusty! it gives a horrible look to the room. the kettle also has a rusty coil. upon asking for replacement, then only i got a good kettle without rust.

sleeping at lower floors may not be comfortable as u can hear the sound from pub below till 5.30am! i guess no other cities in malaysia can open up pub till 5.30am esp at hotel area except in penang. that was horrible considering u need to go for conference the next day.

asking for extra towel was also not allowed. one towel may not be enough for me as i took a lot of shower in a day.

overall, not staying here again. even if the refurbished, the sound from the pub below is really irritating. prefer to stay somewhr in town or gurney drive area.

Room Tip: choose higher floor, maybe the sound from the pub is less
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank az412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently used the hotel's Grand Ball room in its various guises with partitions and without, for a conference. We found that the audiovisual help was excellent and the floor staff were very helpful. Almost any thing and everything could be achieved within a short time. Tea breaks and lunch were served to us in the hall, all buffet style, and was good value for money and the spread was good. Vegetarian food though nice in appearance left much to be desired as it was quite unimaginative and relatively tasteless. The management staff were readily available either in person or at the end of the phone lines, even at odd hours and that was a great help. The lifts were a bit slow but did not end up with a bottle neck. the space in the verandah was sufficient for us to put up exhibition booths and to serve tea to the participants at strategic spots within. All in all this is a good facility for holding meetings for crowds of 200++ people. I would strongly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room high up if possible overlooking the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palani47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.8 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#26 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Penang
Hotel Royal Penang
#53 of 82 in George Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#29 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown City Hotel

Property: Georgetown City Hotel
Address: 1 Jalan Burmah, George Town, Penang Island 10350, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Penang Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Georgetown City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to discerning business and leisure travellers, the Berjaya Penang Hotel is conveniently located as part of the lively ‘1-Stop Midlands Park’ business and entertainment centre. With enchanting cultures, heritage and tantalizing food all around, the Penang Island also heralds in a golden opportunity to make business a true pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Georgetown City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Hotel Georgetown
Georgetown City Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing