We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berjaya Penang Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Embassy Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropics 8(George Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burmahtel Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hong Kong Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
Hotel Waterfall(George Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveler rating
83
153
144
42
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
153
144
42
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgurney drivegeorgetown citywalking distancehotel roomstaying at this hotelf bbus stophigh flooreasy accessshopping mallkalapahpatientspenangparagonproximityconvenience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 465 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my third time to Penang, and I have always stayed in this hotel and in its junior suite. My friend(s) wanted somewhere near Gurney Drive, and this may be the best choice unless you have much more budget for G Hotel.

The suites are of arguably low rates, and are cosy and spacious enough. The hotel is near the temple with Sleeping Buddha (20-min walking down the road), and Gurney Plaza (15-min cutting through residential bungalows at the back of the hotel).

Other good points include old-school coffee shops nearby for breakfast, a KFC restaurant next door, convenience stores below, a bus stop and a taxi stand directly outside the hotel.

My one slight complaint is the swimming pool which was disturbingly milky during my stay. The gym is serviceable and well-attended though.

Room Tip: 1) Request for a room on a higher rise when you may even see the ocean. 2) Compare the package rate for taxi hire offered at the concierge, and with the drivers at the taxi stand outside the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwardChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stay recently in March and very please with the service provided by all front line and coffee house staff.
Room cleanliness still have to improve as found dusty at certain area but over service is prompt and friendly.
Gym need an upgrade and pool is too small. The location is a +plus value.
Public transport like bus stop and taxi are just at the front of the hotel, very convenient for guest.

Room Tip: request room at high floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamwongyc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Berjaya has always proven nice hotels with excellent customer service to the guests. First of all, I think the hotel staff at check in looks forward to adjust you in the lowest category of the room booked in the hotel. And if you complain on anything, they come running up and try to sort out issues and manage to convince you to stay at the hotel. If you are strong at words then the manager is called in and later on after wasting like an hour or so...you manage to get a room changed. For travelers looking forward to stay here..would say..be ready for the welcome. The hotel is close to Gurney Plaza where you can find a movie theater and food court to keep yourself busy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khizerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Xin, General Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We thank Khizerf for his review although we are quite puzzled by the date of stay which was stated as March 2012. This is almost a year since his stay and therefore quite difficult for us to trace his complaint.

At the same time, we are also uncertain about his comment that "the Hotel staff at check in looks forward to adjust you in the lowest category of the room booked."
Hotel staff are always encouraged to try to sell higher category rooms to guest to maximize revenue. On the other hand, if one were to book a lower category, he would rightly get that type of room and should not expect to be upgraded to a better room. It would be unfair to the Hotel if many guests booked a low category room and then upon check-in, demands a better room than what he booked.

Having said the above, we regret that Reviewer had a less than pleasant encounter at our hotel and hope that his next stay would be much improved. We have discussed the situation with our Front Desk management and we are always open to suggestions to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Organized a function/meeting here and had to arrange lodgings for the participants. I found that the staff are very helpful and accommodating even on last minute requests as they were some late-comers. The Sales Manager, Encik Ayznan, especially, had been very cooperative and tried to cater to our needs & requests even at the last. Overall situation, comitment, hospitality is very excelent. Most of our participate are very satisfied with the arrangement given their stay. they could nt find any situation that is bad. Personally, we will organised more of oue outcome in future. On behalf of the participant i would like to congratulate the management. Thanks.

Room Tip: All are good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unclejoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Organized a function here and had to arrange lodgings for the participants. I found that the staff are very helpful and accommodating even on last minute requests as they were some late-comers. The Sales Manager, Encik Ayznan, especially, had been very cooperative and tried to cater to our needs & requests even at the last second. The front desk & banquet personnel are friendly and helpful. I really appreciate the great service that this hotel has provided, and in making sure that the VIPs were well taken care of in terms of their comfort. I would definitely organize another meeting/function should an opportunity arises. The only drawback is the location as it is in the middle of a very congested area, but that could not be helped and the choice of breakfast served. Overall, I am very happy with the service provided by the Sales Manager and his helpful staff. Good job & keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews