We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Expected From The Berjaya Group Of Hotels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgetown City Hotel
Ranked #40 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Karachi - Pakistan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Expected From The Berjaya Group Of Hotels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Berjaya has always proven nice hotels with excellent customer service to the guests. First of all, I think the hotel staff at check in looks forward to adjust you in the lowest category of the room booked in the hotel. And if you complain on anything, they come running up and try to sort out issues and manage to convince you to stay at the hotel. If you are strong at words then the manager is called in and later on after wasting like an hour or so...you manage to get a room changed. For travelers looking forward to stay here..would say..be ready for the welcome. The hotel is close to Gurney Plaza where you can find a movie theater and food court to keep yourself busy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khizerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Xin, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We thank Khizerf for his review although we are quite puzzled by the date of stay which was stated as March 2012. This is almost a year since his stay and therefore quite difficult for us to trace his complaint.

At the same time, we are also uncertain about his comment that "the Hotel staff at check in looks forward to adjust you in the lowest category of the room booked."
Hotel staff are always encouraged to try to sell higher category rooms to guest to maximize revenue. On the other hand, if one were to book a lower category, he would rightly get that type of room and should not expect to be upgraded to a better room. It would be unfair to the Hotel if many guests booked a low category room and then upon check-in, demands a better room than what he booked.

Having said the above, we regret that Reviewer had a less than pleasant encounter at our hotel and hope that his next stay would be much improved. We have discussed the situation with our Front Desk management and we are always open to suggestions to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    123
    109
    32
    38
See reviews for
146
53
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seremban, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Organized a function/meeting here and had to arrange lodgings for the participants. I found that the staff are very helpful and accommodating even on last minute requests as they were some late-comers. The Sales Manager, Encik Ayznan, especially, had been very cooperative and tried to cater to our needs & requests even at the last. Overall situation, comitment, hospitality is very excelent. Most of our participate are very satisfied with the arrangement given their stay. they could nt find any situation that is bad. Personally, we will organised more of oue outcome in future. On behalf of the participant i would like to congratulate the management. Thanks.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unclejoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Organized a function here and had to arrange lodgings for the participants. I found that the staff are very helpful and accommodating even on last minute requests as they were some late-comers. The Sales Manager, Encik Ayznan, especially, had been very cooperative and tried to cater to our needs & requests even at the last second. The front desk & banquet personnel are friendly and helpful. I really appreciate the great service that this hotel has provided, and in making sure that the VIPs were well taken care of in terms of their comfort. I would definitely organize another meeting/function should an opportunity arises. The only drawback is the location as it is in the middle of a very congested area, but that could not be helped and the choice of breakfast served. Overall, I am very happy with the service provided by the Sales Manager and his helpful staff. Good job & keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked a double room during the peak period of Chinese New Year for 3 nights stay thro internet for less than MYR700. There is a coupon for a welcome drink at the bar but only for one person.

The location is ok though not central, it's close to Gurney Plaza for shopping, and a local market with a lot of local food, there are also some restaurants for pizza, ice cream, etc. We were on 21st floor and have a good view.

However the room is less than desire, it's size is std with writing table, a coffee table and 2 chairs. But still equipped with 21" CRT TV, the Aircon tempreture control dail is not working, we have to switch it off totally as it was freezing in the night. There is a mini safe, one extra pillow, a cattle for hot water but no slippers.

The bathroom only have 2 shower towers, no face or hand towers, eventhough you'll see the rack istalled for them, no tooth brush, toothpaste, razor or comb, but only cotton buds and shower cap and a hand soap.

The shower head is old and not enough pressure, they offer only one 3 in 1 shower gel which serve as shampoo + conditional + shower gel. The hair dryer installed in the bathroom is not working, it took 45 min and 3 phone calls to housekeeping to get another hair dryer.

Strangely Wifi is allow for one person login only, it is chargebla if you request another login, to me this is absolutely ridiculous as a double room is for 2 person, and any person could have 2 gadgets like a laptop and a mobile phone to login. After a complain call to the front desk, the lady told me she will refer to her manager and feedback to me but never did. I have to go to front desk personally the next day to finally get another login.

Overall the front desk staff were friendly but the back end were rather slow after the Wifi and hair dryer experience. It looks like the hotel did a renovation or upgrade recently, if so, we would be very dissapointed cause we can help to feel that the hotel is cutting corner everywhere, which make the overall experience rather bad. It's ok for the price we got during the peak period but we won't pay more.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Xin, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We would like to start by wishing AK from Singapore a Happy Chinese New Year. We of course regret that Reviewer found the hotel not up to his standards. Some of the points he mentioned like having only one welcome drink and slow staff response may be due to the fact that the Hotel was experiencing extremely high occupancy thus errors occur and service may not be as good as usual. We hope AK can appreciate that during peak periods, we have to cater to many different requests sometimes coming all at once.

On the other hand, what Reviewer felt as the hotel cutting corners is actually part of our Loving Earth conservation program. We are going for "Green Office" certification and reduction in use of detergent, production of waste (especially plastic material) etc is part of our contribution to these efforts. The rooms have clear notices & signs explaining to guests about this program and urging them to participate. However, those who are partial to the conveniences of having more towels, mini bottled toiletries & amenities like slippers & toothbrush are welcome to request for the items which our staff will gladly provide.

With the above clarification, we hope AK and other guests will understand and indeed join us in our Loving Earth program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I used to stay at this hotel regularly in the past, but due to traffic to and from the hotel area and the dated rooms, I gave it a miss for the past few years. Recently they renovated their rooms and I decided to try the new rooms. The bathroom however, was the same as before. The soap dispenser was mouldy and broken. When I called for shower gel, it took almost an hour to arrive. This was after I came back after a long day, at 11pm. Sheets were very thin and worn. The safe was also not working, with the number pad missing.

Location is quite good, with Gurney Plaza a 10 minute walk away. There are convenience stores and a KFC below. If you are not fussy about your room, this is a good choice as the price is excellent for its location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nicely located in Penang, near hospital which is my primary reason to stay in here.
The hotel itself is a bit rundown, a renovation would give this hotel a 5 stars rating.
Very easy to find food, all within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Xin, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you to Reviewer Alexandre N for mentioning our strategic location which is easily accessible (by walking distance) to food, hospital and even to the famous Gurney Drive area.
For info, we have done some refurbishment in our rooms with carpets, curtain, upholstery, mattress & bed divans as well as TV all replaced new.

We do agree that further renovations would opgrade the hotel to an even higher level and we do have plans to do this in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Checked into this hotel on 26th January 2013 and stayed for 2 nights.

- Poor Bellman service
- Imagine i had to queue for almost 45 mins to queue

The first night, there was no water supply at all. From there it continued for the 2 nights. The Manager on duty gave me a reason due to it's full house, therefore they're experiencing it.
I used to stay in this hotel yearly for about 7 years now, and at all times they're service sucks big time.

I paid total of about RM750 for 2 nights for a basic room and i ended up not having water in the room. Reason given by the manager on duty was, the management knows about this water supply problem during full house but they refused to do anything.

For the 2 days, my family and me consist of 3 showered with slow pressure of cold water. We had no choice but to live with it due to we're late for our prayers.

I had to speak to 2 different manager on duty for both days, and on my second day, i was provided with a pail to collect water and bathe.

Lifts in this hotel are very very slow. Very annoying as only one lift leads you to the car park and the other two lifts will stop at lobby level itself.

The operator who answers the call, can hung up on me when i raised up my concern of there is no water supply. There is no basic customer service etiquette to some of the staffs in the property. They don't respect the guests and very laid back.

I will never ever stay in this hotel for future years.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SingGuy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-Xin, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
First of all we would like to thank Reviewer for being a loyal customer of our hotel for 7 years. At the same time, we hereby convey our deepest regrets to SingGuy13 and his family for all the discomfort he went through during his stay.
Reviewer checked in on 26 Jan which is not only a long weekend but in between 2 holidays. As he rightly pointed out, the hotel was fully occupied for that few days. This of course is not a good reason for a hotel to run out of hot water. Unfortunately the Hotel was catering not to a 100% occupancy but a 200-300% occupancy as many rooms were utilized by 4-10 persons!

Thaipusam today is a Grand affair and this year's Thaipusam is very much more patronized than previous years. Our staff and facilities were quite overwhelmed by the number of guests using it almost at the same time. Thus a room meant for 2-3 persons maximum was "borrowed" by family and friends to use for shower etc. As such, hot water capacity meant for 500-600 persons were being used by thousands daily during the 3 days from 26-28 January. Wave after wave of people continued to utilize the water before the tanks had a chance to fill up and re-heat.
Saying that the Management refused to do anything about the problem is not quite accurate. In view of the special occasion (Thaipusam), we refrain from strictly enforcing our Hotel standard rules on limiting the number of people in the rooms.

We certainly regret the above situation as well as any other inconveniences SingGuy13 went through. Certainly in a full house situation, bell service, reception, lifts will not be as fast and efficient as what a guest will expect. In any case, we thank Reviewer for his feedback and we will continue to find ways to improve our services and facilities in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Penang
Hotel Royal Penang
#46 of 77 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#27 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#18 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
#33 of 77 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#21 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown City Hotel

Property: Georgetown City Hotel
Address: 1-Stop Midlands Park, Burmah Road, George Town, Penang Island 10350, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Penang Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Georgetown City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to discerning business and leisure travellers, the Berjaya Penang Hotel is conveniently located as part of the lively ‘1-Stop Midlands Park’ business and entertainment centre. With enchanting cultures, heritage and tantalizing food all around, the Penang Island also heralds in a golden opportunity to make business a true pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Georgetown City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Hotel Georgetown
Georgetown City Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing