We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$171
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
$125
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jen Penang(George Town)
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
$113
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Campbell House(George Town)
$92
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang(George Town)
$62
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
$38
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $40/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Seven Terraces(George Town)
$171
$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveler rating
65
186
190
102
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
186
190
102
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee beanskids poolspacious roomshopping centrekailanvolleyballcupboardsingaporeeateries
Filter
Updating list...
602 - 607 of 640 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2006

We stayed here on our honeymoon in October. The bellhops were extremely rude, trying to forcibly take our luggage despite us saying no on numerous occasions. There are only three lifts which are very slow.

We had booked a suite with a 'king sized' bed, which turned out to be two beds pushed together, and the bedsheets didn't actually fit and came loose in the night. The neighbours on both sides were very noisy, and one night they had an event on in the bar which we could hear into the early hours.

Breakfast was reasonable, and the taxi service at the front is very helpful (although I imagine it's much cheaper to get a normal taxi from the street). We also had a massage in the Spa Suite which was excellent. Along Gurney Drive there are many good places to eat.

It's hard to recommend this hotel as the bed was pretty lousy considering the room was relatively expensive. I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bhindi_Bhagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

Stayed for 4 nights and booked two interconnecting one bedroom suites. Hotel lobby was grand but could not get checked in until after 3pm, I'm not sure if that is their policy. But when we did get the rooms, they were not bad. They were very spacious, very big bed, sofa, dining table, desk. Our bathroom was starting to show wear & tear with some broken tiles and the light fitting falling off(though they did fix it promptly!!). The other room was fine and overall the rooms were good value for the rate we paid. It also included buffet breakfast which we found was ok, but there's plenty of room for improvement. Walking to where all the hawker stalls/shopping took about 10mins, so very convenient. There is also a nightclub below the hotel and so was noisy in the late evenings. The service was the best thing about staying there and overall the hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yen-chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2006

This hotel was terribly unprepared for the Chinese New Year period. The hotel was fully booked and literally bursting at the rafters. There are only 3 lifts in the entire hotel which meant up to a 20 minute wait each time! My nephew injured his foot in the child's pool (part of a tile lifted up and lodged under his toenail). He had to go to the local hospital to have the tile removed. Even when this happened to another child they still kept the pool operational after we demanded its closure. The rooms were ill-attended - I was always calling for towels and for items in the room that were missing. The toilets hardly flushed properly. I advise travellers to not visit this hotel in the Chinese New Year period. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Moulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2006

Gurney Resort Hotel is an excellent choice for Penang. It is on Gurney Drive in Georgetown, which is a sea-front avenue in the heart of Georgetown. Great views of the harbor (no beaches here, though). It is about a 15-20 minute walk to Gurney Plaza and a 5-10 minute walk to many restaurants and hawker stalls along Gurney Drive. You are also an easy taxi ride to much more dining/shopping in the city.

The hotel itself is fairly new. The room (we had a studio suite) is very spacious and has a Jacuzzi bathtub. Also, there is an in-room safe and mini-fridge. The buffet breakfast was decent (included in the room price). A Coffee Bean, Japanese restaurant, and nightclub are also part of the hotel.

The best part is probably the recreation area on the 7th floor. There are two large swimming pools - one adult and one kids. The kids pool has a couple of small water slides, mushroom waterfalls, etc. There is plenty to do to keep the kids entertained without leaving the hotel.

Overall, a great hotel. Unless you're looking for a beach resort, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cr4909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Singapore
13
Reviewed November 26, 2005

Checked in was delayed for almost 30mins as the 2 bedroom suite was not ready. Time was almost 4pm when we were finally allowed into the room. Having travelled more that 7 hours from S'pore with 3 young kids, 30mins seemed like eternity.

Loved the bathroom attached to the master bedroom. Huge, spotless and with great view of the sea. The jacuzzi is my favourite not the mention a mini pool for the kids and the weather was wet during our stay.
The children's pool is fantastic but the water too cold and winds strong. Thank goodness for the Jacuzzi again.

On the 2nd day, the air condition was leaking in one of the rooms. It was promptly repaired but we discovered that the living room air con gave the same problem subsuquently (any chance of servicing the air con regularly??). We experienced a 5 minute blackout on the 22/11/05 after we came back from dinner. The reception was informed but the lights came back whilst I was on the line.

On the whole, we enjoyed the stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews