We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$193
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
$126
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
$113
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang(George Town)
$62
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Museum Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Campbell House(George Town)
$104
$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
$53
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $40/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Seven Terraces(George Town)
$171
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveler rating
65
186
190
102
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
186
190
102
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee beanskids poolspacious roomshopping centrekailanvolleyballcupboardsingaporeeateries
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 639 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017

booked 2 rooms and stayed for 3 nights on holidays with 3 of my friends, when first checked in, staff was only recorded one person who made a booking. The room was alot of space, "only the room is value for money" but the air-con has a very loud noise through out the stay.

On the 2nd day, it was heavily rain. the carpet at the window area are soaking wet and have a very bad damp smell. House Keeping came to clean it up and only put the towel on top of the wet area, which is not looking good at all and "No complimentary was offer"

On the 3rd day at breakfast, my roommate and i was delayed for breakfast, we went later than another two of our friends. when we got to the breakfast area, the hostess, i believed he is an indian guy with glasses mentions to us that for both room that we stayed, all 4 guests has already came for breakfast already, I was a bit surprise how they treating guest at this place, until my friends walked over and talked to the hostess. At that time he could not check the name as the reception at check in point only record the main booking person.

at the same day in the afternoon, my friends has went to the restaurant which is also the breakfast area to order something to eat. After finished the meal, the bill has been charges over price. when tried to correct the bills, the waitress informed that there are no supervisor to correct the bill at the moment, so he cross out the charge and write the correct price by hand. when we checked out they still charge us overprice. this seem that they are very careless, so please "BE CAREFUL" and check all detail in your bills.

On the 4th day at breakfast, the same hostess was at the counter, we informed him our room number, and he could not find our room number on the guest list. he have to ran down to the ground floor to re-print the update, and while he went down, there was guest also queuing be hide us and has not been served by other staff.

When my friends joining me at breakfast, we have to ask for a plate and we have to walk to get our own cutlery. I think this is very un professional, the staff is not at all friendly for both receptions and hostess, not to mentions it took us to request 3 time asking for a plug converter to our room.

The only two department that we very appreciated was House Keeping and Telephone service centre, and i would say that House Keeping have more service minded that front roll staff with a quick and shape service, polite and smiley.

Room Tip: Check out bill before you check out
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank May M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramesh R, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear May M,

I am replying to you to first of all thank you for staying with us recently and secondly to thank you for having taken the time to write a review of your negative experience. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and have taken particular note of your that we need to step up training in our room , front office and food & beverage service delivery. Please rest assured that we do take your feedback very serious and that we will do our utmost to better meet your expectations next time given a chance.

The training for all staffs are on-going and we will ensure to become more consistent in our service delivery.

We are aware that your opinion of our service has been affected by the handling of your concerns and can only hope that in time, you may reconsider your position and choose to stay with us again.

Many thanks again for your feedback.

Yours sincerely
R Ronald
GM - The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

Went with family for holiday.checked in and paid.then they inform me there is no towel till later at night.Do they expect people to bathe when they say yes!!can't even take the pool towel.Do they expect my kids to just dry by standing under the sun!!!!when complain the management said just complain like they are used to it.terrible

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank knife s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramesh R, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Dear knife s,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your feedback. I was just as disappointed as you to hear about the towels not being replenished and that you had to wait. After checking further with our team, I was informed that on that particular day our laundry machines were out of order for a few hours that led to the delay in getting clean towels back and due to the Hotel being fully booked , all our spares were used up as well. Please accept my sincere apology for this and let me assure you this is a one - off incident that could not be avoided. We have made alternative plans in place if this were to happen again and will ensure you or any other guests are not affected in the future.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We had a "suite", a very large room and good size bathroom with large jacuzzi bath and walk in shower. Loads of hot water. Just found the room lighting insufficient for the size of room. Also, house keeping needs to be sharper.
The staff are extremely polite and helpful.
Large selection at breakfast, wouldn't recommend eating in the restaurant.
On the whole, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a "suite"
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lothiancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramesh R, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Dear lothiancat,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your generous comments regarding your experience with us,it is always delightful to hear when our guests have a good stay.
We have also taken note on your comments regarding the additional improvement of our lighting facilities and the Housekeeping Services that needs more detail oriented standards. Rest assured will take appropriate actions.
Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Ronald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

stayed here for a one night business trip
served its purpose well which was to provide a place to rest my head.
its not a place i will choose for my personal holiday.
it's an old tired looking hotel. but it does have some plus points.
to make it simple:

Pros
1) Big room - lots of space, big bathroom.
2) Location - near the shopping mall and eating places

Cons
1) Really dated. The furnishings, the bathroom, everything. it's like stepping back in time. really.
2) Simple toiletries: Bring your own shampoo, shower gel etc if you are fussy about this.
3) Unreliable Wifi - very frustrating. i wanted to pull my hair out at one point. i just gave up and stopped working.
4) Carpet in the room was damp. felt kind of gross.
5) Not sure if its a smoke free hotel/room but the room was stinky. Stale cig smoke kind of stinky.

Hot water seems to be an issue for some guests. A guy was complaining that the heater was not working in his room and it took 10 mins of running water before the water got warm. I didn't have any issue but you may want to take note.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Water&Salt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramesh R, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Dear Water&Salt'

Thank you fir your recent stay and your generous feedback, both complimentary & with need for improvement. We are aware of all the issues you and the other guest faced and rest assured we are working on this to improve. With regards to the aged and old product , agree on all points as well and renovations are expected late 2108 or early 2019, planning process has begun.

Hope you will reconsider to stay with us in the future.
Yours sincerely
Ronald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

The condition of the room is good. But there was some defect curtains and the air-conditioner are noisy. Cant give a 5 star rate but 4 star is good enough. Keep it up in maintaining the hotel.
Price are affordable.
Toilet is clean.
TV channels cant tell because I didnt watch TV
Nice view from high level room.
Thank You The Gurney

Room Tip: Remember to check towel and air conditioner condition once you enter the room.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JubaM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramesh R, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear JubaM16,

Thank you for your recent stay and your review. We were happy to hear the positive comments and with regards to the curtains, we are working towards getting it fixed soonest while the air-conditioning issue is an ongoing preventive maintenance program in progress. Look forward to your next visit.
Thanks again..
R Ronald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews