We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad - have to change 3 rooms in just 5 hours”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
“Bad - have to change 3 rooms in just 5 hours”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I'm not the first time to stay in this hotel. But today I very disappointed to the reception & room services. First room I check in 1201, the facilities in the bath room are not completed, no towel, Jacuzzi is dirty. The pillow, the bed very old & the bed sheet is very dirty. Very uncomfortable & not worth for the price. It just like pay a high price but stay in a low range. After my complain change me to room 1704. Their is no hot water, air conditional is not functioning. Once I call to the reception, the Indian girl receptionist pick up the phone call, not even I finished my conversation with her, she straight put me to maintenance department, not even said please hold or etc. Bad attitude customer service from reception, continuously after I managed to talk to the maintenance department for the poor air conditional it took from 9.30pm to 10.45pm to come over for the checking for the air-cond. They can't do anything for the air conditional, then changed me again to the room 2306 this is the last room finally. And I get tired too, just have a sleep then

Room Tip: The higher room much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the comment and please accept our sincere apology that we did not meet your expectation. We will follow up to inform the Front Office Manager on the receptionist concerned. For your info we are now upgrading the room on stage by stage basis whereby changing of air conditioning unit is part of the project. Once again we apologized and hope you will allow us to serve you better in future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    163
    162
    89
    82
See reviews for
237
71
24
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Recently, we checked into Room 2105 about an hour just before midnight on Friday 11-April 2014. Upon, getting into the room, we discovered that the room is infested with cockcraoches. They are everywhere from the coffee making table to the study table, the bed, the carpet. We were all upset. My kids were horrified.
I called the reception immediately from the room phone and was told that they will send someone over to change us to another room. We waited for almost half an hour but no one came.
So we went down and told the front desk. We were given another room no. 2104 (neighbour to the cockcroach infested room). There were no proper apology make by the staff. Then I demand to see the manager and the manager was kind enough to offer to personally select a room for us. However, it was too late, damages were done, everyone was upset as it was almost midnight.
Therefore, we left and demanded a full refund.
I cannot rate this hotel unless Tripadvisor has negative star rating ..... this hotel is now called the COCKCROACH HOTEL by my kids.

Room Tip: definitely not room 2105... well cockcraoches moves everywhere left - right - up and down. From room...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickLim1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept our sincerely apology for the displeasure and inconvenience caused to your goodself where pest was found in your rooms during your recent stay with us. We have instructed pest control agent to provide a thorough checking and fumigation in the hotel. We hope that you will allow us to improve and serve you better in future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I had heard horrid things about this hotel and I think that made a huge difference. My expectations were low. So when the Hotel managers, Linda and Sunny, personally attended to me, I was more than impressed. Then when I got to the room, I was truly Wowed! The room was large and spacious. Perfect for my mother and I but more than enough space for a family of 4, 5 or 6. There's a fridge, microwave oven and even a washing machine. I didn't use any of those and I agree that the decor was stuck in time. But the amount of money I paid was just so low, that I really have no problem with the dated decor. I would definitely go back if I could get the very same room. I am that impressed. The breakfast was fine and there's plenty to eat. Have your eggs however style you want and they will make it on the spot for you. Every day is the same but it doesn't fazed me. I wasn't staying long any way. But that would be the only nitpick I have with the hotel: lack of variety. But other than that, everything was lovely.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a high floor and have low expectations. My room was also one of the two corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service rendered has met your expectation. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcome you back on your future visit.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullaloo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Booked a two room apartment for my family. Was promised a recently renovated room which was okay except it stank of cigarette smoke. To the point of giving us all headaches. Changed to another room which was old, tired amd dirty. Fridge also did not work. Will not be staying here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BigMac666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the recent stay with us and your comment.
We apology for the smoking room smell and I had spoken to my housekeeping manager to do thorough spring cleaning for the the rooms. For your info we had done some room refurbishment and yet to complete all. We are continuing to upgrade and refurbish. Once again we are sorry and looking forward on your future stay with us.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My relatives stayed in Rm 1305-big room but infested by cockroaches and insect- eating curtains-holes in them.Complained about them ,nothing is done,is the hotel going to be responsible for the clothing being destroyed by them or worst still,- disease, it is acceptable to have a cockroache but not infestation, get your act right , treat it with an insect spray,turn off air cond and, leave room for 2 hours-walah all under controlled. Isn't head office checking how the manger runs this hotel-swiss garden has a repitation to hold.Hope the manager sees this review and do something about it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leng G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are distressed to hear that you were subjected to such displeasure during your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience
caused. We have instructed our pest control agent to provide a thorough checking in our hotel. We hope that you will allow us to improve and serve you better in future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very old fashion even that I see all the bad review bfore, I still book it. Thought was stay there is the nearest place to town. However really can't imagine that this hotel was terrible. Elevator is too old, inside the room was very very smelly, carpet is very dirty and old, phone was spoilt. Check in and out still wait a long time, front desk of the staff they no greeting and no smiling, I'm in this hotel industry, I also can't accept this kind of the service.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chin1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comment and appreciated it. We will follow up to inform the manager on the front desk staffs concerned. Besides, the hotel had been operated since year 2000 and we are in current process to refurbish and upgrade the guest room.
We are looking forward to welcome you for your future stay with us.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My family and I have been travelling to Penang yearly for holiday or sometimes even more than 2 times a year. Gurney Resort Hotel is always been our priority list in our hotel selection and no complaint till this recent March 2014. I hv booked for 3 nights and the kids just can't wait to go to the pool. I've discovered that the water is not cleared as it supposed to be and asked the hotel staff, they explained that there is some problem with the contractor or some parts/pump which need fix by tom. I would not risk my children health to let them in the water which I do know if there the water contamination. So they end up playing with sand.
Secondly the room, there is no table, lamp, no kettle, no safety box. My husband called housekeeping to request for those items. I can't imaging that we have to request for those basic things that are supposed to be in the room at the first place. Even the towel, they just put only 1 towel. The worst thing is the aircond, even there are 2 airconds in the room, 1 is faulty and the one working but in the middle of the night, the noise from the aircond really disturbing our sleep and in the morning, a few frozen cube of ice drop out from the aircond!! This is really beyond my tolerance limit. We checked out immediately after 1 night of disaster experiences with Gurney.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to apologize for the displeasure experience during your recent stay with us. Your comments have been deliberately shared with the department heads and they will come out with necessary remedy action to overcome the shortcomings to further improve on the services and facilities we are offering. We hope to see you again in near future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#27 of 84 in George Town
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#44 of 84 in George Town
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 84 in George Town
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
#38 of 84 in George Town
56 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Pacific Hotel & Serviced Apartment
0.9 mi away
Berjaya Penang Hotel
Berjaya Penang Hotel
#45 of 84 in George Town
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang

Property: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang
Address: 18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimming with matchless elegance, top-notch provisions, and cordial, genuine service, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in George Town, Penang, Malaysia truly stands out among the multitude of hotels in the locale. We invite you to bask in well-appointed suites replete with essential amenities, such as free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, and a private bath with jacuzzi. Business travelers can use spacious and well-lit conference halls, while holidaymakers can have a relaxing time in our restaurant, pool, and spa. Sitting along the tourist belt of Gurney Drive, adjacent to the Central Business District, our 4-star resort is a few kilometers from the airport and ferry terminal. It also enjoys an address with easy access to shopping centers, like the Gurney Plaza, Gurney Paragon, and Batu Ferringhi night market. Moreover, it is just a short drive away from several tourist attractions, such as the Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Bird Park, and Snake Temple. With these wonderful features, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in Penang truly is the preferred luxurious accommodation for any occasion at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing