We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High floor with nice sea view rooms. Location- good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in George Town
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High floor with nice sea view rooms. Location- good”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have booked for one 2- bedroom suite and 2 studio suites in August for the period of 30 Oct to 2 Nov. at first we were still worried of the negative feedback being posted online related to the hotel. Was thinking of changing the hotel, but we were glad that we didn't change the hotel.
We requested for high level, given level 27 with great sea views. The rooms are clean and big for both the different types of suite we booked.
Yes, the lifts seemed to be a bit slow during my check day out which falls on a Saturday. It seemed crowded on that day. Aside from that day, the rest of the weekdays, there isn't much problem with the lifts.
The breakfast selection is good but every day is almost the same dishes. But overall is okie.
Walking distance to gurney paragon, gurney plaza and the gurney hawker: 20 mins walk. Walked along the pathway next to the sea and enjoyed the sea breeze while walking back to hotel. Will stay at gurney hotel again during my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciated your comments and noted on the short- comings. We are looking forward to welcome you for your future stay with us.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    164
    163
    90
    85
See reviews for
239
72
24
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Banglamung
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We (4 adults and 1 child) stayed for the first time two nights at The Gurney Resort Hotel and have been happy with the huge room with sea view), the food (breakfast and lunch) and the staff who offered us great service; and on top with the location, on the shore and near to restaurants we liked and to attractions we went. Have been to Penang many times staying in different hotels and for sure will come again and probably stay at The Gurney Resort.

Room Tip: High Floors and room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that your family members and yourself enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your future visit to Penang.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel had a lot of promise, but ended up being disappointing. It is large and spacious and the staff helpful and amiable and friendly. Our room had a great view out to sea, but the nightly thunderstorms caused water to run down the inside of the windows and across the carpet and I stepped out of bed onto wet carpet. We cut the trip short and headed back to Singapore.

Room Tip: Higher seemed better so that the view was better and you couldn't hear the disco downstairs, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the recent stay with us and appreciated your comments.
We apologies and will carry out necessary remedy action to overcome the shortcoming.


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

first of all, i haven't have the pleasure to stay in this place but the customer service line already gave me an unwelcome voice. the way they talk on the phone is too terrible!! i was wish to spend my holiday here so i make an online booking for the rooms, but the website damn hang and when i have key in my credit card number and the details bla bla bla.....and click "confirm" ... the website show "timeout" "please resend" so i did it as well... still the same thing no response at ALL!! but bank side ady sms me the transaction done and it did twice!! i dun even get my reservation ID!! i called customer service, they feedback can't help!! they said no need do online booking just walk-in there is plenty of rooms here!! what for u create the online booking web when it is not functioning!! i told them want to cancel the booking and plz refund they said can't do it and my booking is now pending and pending......can get someone to help? my vacation is over the corner...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbie277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to apology for the inconvenience caused to your goodself. We will assist you in your booking and would appreciate if could provide us your details or kindly contact our Front Office Manager, Ms Linda @ 604-370 7000 for assistance.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

A bit disappointed staying in a suite when all the interiors are gloomy. The furnitures are old and they don't even bother to have a good sofa for a suite. The room is
clean. Breakfast is average. Staffs are attentive though. Room price is affordable and can be considered cheap.


Es

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the recent stay with us and your comment.
We do refurbished and completed on several floor guest rooms with 32" LED TV, linen, curtain, sofa seat etc...We are continuing to upgrade and refurbish. We apology for the shortcoming of the room condition and we would like to welcome you back again to stay with us.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is ok, the rooms are large, and everything is fine. Great views. Breakfast was terrible, heaps of food but all pretty bad quality. Service of the staff was as you would expect although when we arrived we had trouble calling the reception as they weren't picking up.

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciated your comments and noted on the short- comings. We are looking forward to welcome you for your future stay with us.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having made the mistake of not reading the trip advisor reviews before booking this hotel, which were not very complementary, I was surprised to find this hotel reasonable for the price. The staff were good except for the front desk staff who were incapable of doing their job. The pool was great and big with very few people using it. Overall the place is a bit run down but not as bad as I expected and in a good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comment and appreciated it. We will follow up to inform the manager on the front desk staffs concerned. Besides, the hotel had been operated since year 2000 and we are in current process to refurbish and upgrade the guest room.
We are looking forward to welcome you for your future stay with us.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#27 of 84 in George Town
771 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#41 of 84 in George Town
507 reviews
0.8 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 84 in George Town
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
#39 of 84 in George Town
59 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Pacific Hotel & Serviced Apartment
1.4 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#22 of 84 in George Town
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang

Property: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang
Address: 18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimming with matchless elegance, top-notch provisions, and cordial, genuine service, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in George Town, Penang, Malaysia truly stands out among the multitude of hotels in the locale. We invite you to bask in well-appointed suites replete with essential amenities, such as free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, and a private bath with jacuzzi. Business travelers can use spacious and well-lit conference halls, while holidaymakers can have a relaxing time in our restaurant, pool, and spa. Sitting along the tourist belt of Gurney Drive, adjacent to the Central Business District, our 4-star resort is a few kilometers from the airport and ferry terminal. It also enjoys an address with easy access to shopping centers, like the Gurney Plaza, Gurney Paragon, and Batu Ferringhi night market. Moreover, it is just a short drive away from several tourist attractions, such as the Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Bird Park, and Snake Temple. With these wonderful features, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in Penang truly is the preferred luxurious accommodation for any occasion at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing