We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Weekend at Gurney Resort and Reidences” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Ranked #63 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Weekend at Gurney Resort and Reidences”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent last weekend 20-23 September 2013 in Georgetown, Penang Island. Booked a two room suite for the family. Nice room and view of the Gurney Drive, especially at night. Breakfast can be better. Good walking and jogging area by the beach. Service especially reception can be better

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank arhamid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the recent stay with us and your comment.
We had noted on your comment especially on the breakfast and our reception service. We certainly looking forward to welcome you back again on your future visit to Penang.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    143
    140
    69
    72
See reviews for
192
61
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The size of the double room is fantastic compared to other hotels. It can easily fit in an extra single bed. But there is no central air conditioning only an air cond unit which seriously need upgrading as it was not cold. The bathroom is a good size but the toilet flush can be improved.
If you want the sea view you have to put up with the setting sun heat.

Breakfast is a good mix from local to Japanese and a good variety.

Downpoint is you have to climb up the stairs from the basement carpark. So remember to stop at the front, check in with your baggage then go and park your car i.e. if you are driving.

Room Tip: If you want the sea view ie facing Gurney Drive, it can be quite hot when the sun sets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the recent stay with us. All our guest room come with split unit air con and we regularly carried out our maintenance service non stop on the whole year. We apology for the air con not cold enough for your room.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Revisit Gurney Hotel last weekend for an event in Penang.

Hotel staff check in was really slow, only 2 staff at the counter with a long queue. Waited for almost 15 minutes.

The usual friendly staff at the front desk and door-man is gone. The usual greetings of welcome and warmth hospitality of Penang is lost.

Rooms not much improvement though sometime ago there was a refurbishment of the rooms.

The only thing I saw changed was the CRT 16 Inch TV to now a flat screen. Rooms still smells of musk and sofa still feels old and dirty.

Power points in the rooms are now even lacking in proper areas to charge your phone.

Well, still has the beautiful coastal view of penang from the high floor rooms.

What to do... will reconsider to change hotels but Gurney still provides value for money with the view in a location.

Room Tip: High Floors XX05 or XX06 gives beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the recent stay with and your comments are well noted. We apologies for the 15 minutes wait for check in and had spoken to the front office manager on staff manning to avoid prevention of long queue. Room refurbishment had completed on number of floors and still ongoing to upgrade the rest of the guest floor like 32" LED TV, linen, curtain, sofa seat etc...

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in the 2 bedroom suite on 28th floor (a smoking floor which stinks so was a little disappointed as I am sure I booked nonsmoking) The room stank of smoke. It was a huge space for us with our three children under 6yrs. 6 & 3 yr old shared the queen bed in one room and our 2 yr old slept in the king bed with husband and I, and there was plenty of room. The suite came with a washing machine and fridge in the semi kitchenette area which was great. A kettle with tea and coffee was supplied plus 4 bottles of water per day.
Wifi was easy to connect to with a username and password provided upon check in.
Good location with easy access to Georgetown (15rm for a taxi, or approx 1.40rm for bus).
The suite was very rundown and parts of it looked really dirty, such as the shower area in the main bathroom. To call itself 5 star I think it needs a revamp in the room.
The view from the suite was fantastic from both rooms.
Buffet breakfast was very good, with lots of choice from small pancakes to french toast to Nasi Lemak, to Japanese breakfast, croissants etc.
Lots of eating places on Persirian Gurney, and also a yummy place called Kapitans about 50 metres along the street next to the hotel.
Pool area could do with a facelift too.

Room Tip: 28th floor is smoking and stinks so stay away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFirstMrsYoungy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the recent stay with and your comments.
We had taken note on the 28th floor smoking room and had spoken to my housekeeping manager to do spring cleaning regularly and the bathroom cleanliness. We thank you for the positive comment on our breakfast.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed in 2 bedrooms apartment during my visit from 7th September ~ 9th September.
Pro: Large rooom, good function Jacuzzi,large make-up room, marvelous seaview, 2 TV which can remote for 2 difference channel in 1 time (make my both kids so happy to view for the own favourite channel), large living room, good location whereby the famous Notham Hawker Center can be reach by 15 min walking district, Gurney drive Hawker Center 20 min, and alot of restaurant + my favourite coffee beans cafe just nearby.

Cons: we was unfortunate to get the smoking room, the room was so smelly and it can't be covered by air freshener, it might be due to the carpet itself already been used for many years, the window was been lock, we can't open it to let the fresh air in. The hot air from air dryer was smell like rubbish. The furniture + tv+ air cond+ lamp need to be change! The room is totally need to refurnish!

Besides the smell, i have not much complain due to i rented the room under SGIVC member price.
I am not sure about the upper floor rooms condition, but if i pay in full, i will rather choose others hotel.

Room Tip: ask for non smoking room during your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fpyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the recent stay with us and your comment.
We apology for the smoking room smell and I had spoken to my housekeeping manager to do spring cleaning. For the room refurbishing we are ongoing to upgrade the room with 32' LED TV, new linen, curtain, sofa seat etc....

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My staying period is from 24th - 26th August. I booked my room thru their website, www.swiss garden.com. During the selection of the bed type for suite room, it was clearly indicated that either twins or king size. I choose the King size bedroom. I reach Gurney hotel around 3pm and the room is not yet clean after my check in. The check in time is clearly stated at 3pm. Disappointed!

By the time I enter the room, I was shock as the room does not comes with king size bed, it was a combined of 2 twin become king size, it is really ridiculous. When I call the front office to change the room, I was told that all suite room comes with twin bed, no king size bed available. All king size bed room is the combine of twin bed. I totally disappointed with this as I am bringing my 2 yrs old son for a vacation in penang, but ended up the bed is really uncomfortable as you can feel the gap while sleeping.

The duty manager told me that they can’t do anything on this, they had a room that is well combined the twin bed and ask me to have a look, the bed is covered by a king size bed sheet, but it’s actually not a king size bed. You still can feel it. Again, annoying and ridiculous!

I wanted to cancel my booking, but it was failed as I was told that the booking is made thru online and no cancellation is allowed. Nothing that the management wanted to do on this, the only action from them is to get their staff to put a new cover on the bed in order to have a better view of the bed (king size bed??). A plate of fruits provide as FOC as a complimentary?? I don’t know as none of staff informed me on this. I am totally disappointed with the service provided by Gurney Hotel.

P/S : The Swiss Garden hotel website is still showing an option of twin or king size bed!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coc211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the recent stay with us and your comment.
We apology for the king size bed for not been provided as requested. All of our studio suites come with hollywood twin combined into one(king size bed). We have the king size bed in master bedroom in our 2-bedroom suites. We sincerely apology for the shortcoming.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, which was reasonably clean and spacious. We were not happy with the service offered at the hotel, the staff are non responsive to requests by phone, the concierge desk was hardly available and could hardly see a staff member smiling. The Hotel facilities were good never the less but the food variety and preparation need to improved drastically. The hotel is ok for 1 or 2 days stay but anything longer than that I suggest to look for alternative Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mukhtar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the recent stay with us and your comment.
We apologies for the shortcoming and I had spoken with all the managers concerned. Generally we do received good comment from my guests and we are disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectation. We again apology to you.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#37 of 77 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#26 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
0.8 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#13 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#11 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Property: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Address: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimming with matchless elegance, top-notch provisions, and cordial, genuine service, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in George Town, Penang, Malaysia truly stands out among the multitude of hotels in the locale. We invite you to bask in well-appointed suites replete with essential amenities, such as free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, and a private bath with jacuzzi. Business travelers can use spacious and well-lit conference halls, while holidaymakers can have a relaxing time in our restaurant, pool, and spa. Sitting along the tourist belt of Gurney Drive, adjacent to the Central Business District, our 4-star resort is a few kilometers from the airport and ferry terminal. It also enjoys an address with easy access to shopping centers, like the Gurney Plaza, Gurney Paragon, and Batu Ferringhi night market. Moreover, it is just a short drive away from several tourist attractions, such as the Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Bird Park, and Snake Temple. With these wonderful features, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in Penang truly is the preferred luxurious accommodation for any occasion at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing