We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice but old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Ranked #63 of 77 Hotels in George Town
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice but old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a 2-bed suite with my young family (ages 3 and 1). Had a very pleasant stay - the room was very spacious, great location (at the quieter, more accessible end of Gurney drive), staff very welcoming and eager to help, and food was good value (both buffet and a la carte). There is a separate swimming pool for kids complete with fountains, slides etc. - my boys loved it. The downsides? Hotel definitely needs updating (worn carpets, mould in shower, but otherwise very clean). The difficult thing to overlook though is that the pipes/ water pumps are very noisy i.e. we could hear when water is on in the adjoining room and we made it a point to not use our showers once both boys were asleep as the noise of the water pump would wake them up. A real shame as otherwise we would have had no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the higher floors and newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLLKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the recent stay and your comment. The hotel had been operated since year 2000 and it is understand wear and tear of the room physical condition. We had refurbished and upgraded certain floors and will continue the process like new linen, LED TV, curtain, sofa seat...etc. We hope to welcome you again for your future visit

From,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    143
    139
    69
    72
See reviews for
191
61
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here...very spacious room...yes a little outdated but comfy.
Pool was lovely
Breakfast ok...pretty ordinary
Not a lot of westerner s stay here but is in a nice position along the waterfront and within walking distance to lots of restaurants and Gurney plaza...which has nice eating places but is high end expensive shopping centre.
Don't expect any tourist info from the tour desk....they struggled to find us a map. Pick up some good info at peranakan mansion.
We got taxis to most places and found it pretty reasonable

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views it seems our was ocean view and also mtns
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comment and appreciated it. The hotel had been operated since year 2000 and we are in current process to refurbish and upgrade the guest room. We apology for the lack of tourist map availability at our desk and we will look into it.

From,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel has definitely been around for some time, and it shows in the furnishings. The 2 aircon blowers in our room were extremely noisy (sometimes drowning out our noisy neighbours' shouting match), the shower was extremely noisy, and the numbers on the lift buttons have long worn off such that you can never be totally sure if you will get to the right floor unless you bend down and look very closely. However, their rooms are spacious and if you are lucky, you could get a great seaview too. The beds are a little short - we are Asian but Caucasians probably have it worse than us. The bedlinen feels slightly worn out but in decent condition.

Managed to secure corporate rates, so I would say we paid reasonable prices for the standard of this hotel.

If you're looking to spend some time in both the Gurney Drive and Georgetown area, the location of this hotel is pretty good because it's at the start of Gurney Drive and also at the midpoint between Gurney Drive Food Centre and Georgetown. Getting there from the airport will set up back RM 44.70 - standard price set by the airport. Alternatively, you can hire a car from the airport as the hotel offers free parking.

Service is decent, though it appears that sometimes the concierge are overwhelmed with tasks and many guests to assist.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the recent stay with us and your feedback. We had taken action and rectified on the lift numbering and as for the air con we will check it if you could provide us the room number. We do regular maintenance on the air con on daily basis. We are also getting new linen like bed-sheet, pillow case,duvet cover, etc.....We hope to welcome you back on your future visit to Penang.

From,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

First, i would like to share about the hotel room, room is spacious but i think the furniture must update a bit, curtain with hole, you can see the sunlight shine in through the hole and colour faded, TV still the old model TV, sofa cushion--can feel that very old sofa till you can feel almost touch the inner. The bedsheet and pillow case using a good cotton although is old but still comfortable, but i can see one site a bedsheet with a black color stain. Room with bathtub--the bathtub with a layer of dust/wax, when my daughter wanted to play the jaguzzi i found that the cleaner didnt clean the bathtub.

Swimming pool--love the swimming located at 7th floor, nice view during sunset, for kids they have another special pools for kid and with slide and the big mushroom water dropping play area, and there is the sand place which u can bring your castle set or digger toy to play.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineLing126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the recent feedback and we appreciated it. There are room look a bit tired due to wear and tear since the hotel been operated since year 2000. We had finished and also on current process on couple guest floors with refurbishment and upgrading like new LED TV, new linen-bedsheet, pillow case, duvet cover, towel etc....we know we have to do it to ensure our guest keep on return back to us. We are looking forward to welcome you back again for your future visit.

From
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The location of the hotel is absolutely strategic. Clean, decent and large room, infinity pool with sea view. I would highly recommend the hotel for a good stay. The only bad part is that, d food service in d hotel is quite bad, they take too long to serve food. we almost waited 45minutes for our fried rice. Apart from that everything is good. :-)

Room Tip: Don't take rooms with pool view cause its very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aramena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We apology for the restaurant service to take a long time to deliver the fried rice and we will bring this up to the manager concerned. We look forward to welcome you on your future visit to Penang.

From,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed a night in Gurney and we enjoyed the food option in the vicinity. It is not too far from downtown Georgetown by bus U101. We enjoyed our stay there. The room is facing the sea and offers a nice view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shalom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcome you back for your future visit.

From
The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Rooms decent, price reasonable and location is facing the beach on the gurney stretch. I mean seriously, how can one complain? Its an old building but they have jacuzzis and a view. Total win! Area good. Curtains and sheets smell old but its a given I suppose. They have infinity pools!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxyredvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the comments. We appreciated it and for the curtain and bed sheet we had replaced certain floors to brand new. We are in process to complete all the room hopefully in couple of months.

From
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#37 of 77 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#29 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
0.8 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#13 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#11 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Property: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Address: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimming with matchless elegance, top-notch provisions, and cordial, genuine service, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in George Town, Penang, Malaysia truly stands out among the multitude of hotels in the locale. We invite you to bask in well-appointed suites replete with essential amenities, such as free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, and a private bath with jacuzzi. Business travelers can use spacious and well-lit conference halls, while holidaymakers can have a relaxing time in our restaurant, pool, and spa. Sitting along the tourist belt of Gurney Drive, adjacent to the Central Business District, our 4-star resort is a few kilometers from the airport and ferry terminal. It also enjoys an address with easy access to shopping centers, like the Gurney Plaza, Gurney Paragon, and Batu Ferringhi night market. Moreover, it is just a short drive away from several tourist attractions, such as the Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Bird Park, and Snake Temple. With these wonderful features, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in Penang truly is the preferred luxurious accommodation for any occasion at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing