We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Ranked #66 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Big rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel staff is very friendly especially the Bell Hop, kudos to you guys! Slow check-in. 2 bedrm suite is big, comes with the usual plus square dining table w chairs and mini kitchen w sink for coffee making and fridge. All walls were not sound proofed. Whenever someone uses the bathroom, you can hear very clearly (I am not known to be fussy), whether it's from adjoining bedrm or from another rm next door, sound was very disturbing the first night but got used to it after that. Buffet breakfast spread almost the same except for the noodles. Lovely pools for kids and adults. Very convenient location, lots of eateries even for breakfast. Quite near famous Gurney Drive alfresco dining, about 20 mins walk. Nice view. Will not stay here again unless mgmt do something about the walls, the noise was a deterrent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the comment. We will look into the wall-sound proof issue. We will certainly pass the message to the bellman on their job well done...and as for the slow check in we apology for the delay due to high occupancy. We sincerely hope to see you stay with us again for your future visit to Penang.

From
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    161
    156
    84
    81
See reviews for
227
70
23
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Check in was really slow. Each guest took about 25-30 mins. Very unreasonable though the front desk reception was friendly - the wait is just too long.

There was three elevators each operating very slowly and gently. Long queues formed at reception now at Elevator well.

Room was clean and reasonably sized. All amenities were there. TV was a CRT 16-20 inch. Time to change to LCD/LED.

Parking was acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaRichWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the comments. We apologies for the long queue during check in and also the lift which is partly due to our high occupancy during this period. As for the TV we are in process to place the new LED TV at the moment. We are looking forward on your next visit.

From
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

a clean hotel, good location, good service.. bad wifi connection

came here with my family and friend, they have free breakfast which was ok~ average quality, the location was ok, have a nice walk at night to the market along the seaside and breeze

the service was alright, the massage was excellent, just a bit expensive

this is a good hotel overall, but not a luxury one, just a normal average hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the comment and will look into the wifi connection issue. We hope to see you again in the future.

From
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went there with our two children aged 3 and 6. For the price we paid on Agoda (Rm350 for a Studio Suite), it was definitely worth it.

Likes:
- Location near a popular mall called Gurney Plaza and Paragon.
- Restaurants and hawker stalls all along the same road.
- Fairly clean
- Room size was very big and comfortable
- Jacuzzi in the bathroom
- View of the sea
- Pool was fantastic! It had two water slides, 4 mushroom showers and sand on the side.
- The facilities for kids were: Beach futsol (playing futsol in the sand on the roof was great!), arcades, basketball, garden patch with bunnies and birds, volleyball court.
- Staff was very friendly and helpful.
- Breakfast buffet was not too bad - especially the "Nasi Lemak" (Malaysian rice cooked in coconut milk)
- Lobby was spacious and welcoming

Dislikes:
- No central cooling system. Had to turn on two air conditioners that were a bit old and noisy.
- We could only get two pool towels for the 4 of us.
- We could only get one extra towel for the room.
- Towels were a bit hard and thin.
- Our room was warm because of the afternoon sun beating in.
- The sea and beach were across a busy road. You can't swim in that part of the sea as it is polluted and smelly. But if you take a taxi to Tanjung Bungah (15 mins) or Batu Ferringhi (25 mins), you can swim and lay on the beach.

Transportation: There are ample taxis on the road.

Note: This hotel is close to town (10 mins). It is about 35 mins from the airport (off-peak hours). Strollers can be used on this road. But be prepared to cross busy streets and carry it up on curbs. Use the path closer to the beach for a smooth stroller ride.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpaSeeker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the comments and looking forward on your next visit with us.
We will look into the comment to improve it like the bath towel which we are in progress to upgrade from 12lbs to 15lbs which is thick and soft.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have been staying here on business trips since 2007 and it used to be great until recently (past 1 year) their service has deteriorated badly. The rooms were not well kept, the moment i stepped in i saw a cockroach running around and I could smell the staleness of cigarette smoke in the air. I recently made a booking for business travel and requested for a booking confirmation to be sent via email but waited more than a week and nothing happened. When I called back, the reservation department was extremely rude and did not even apologize. I asked for their corporate rate and they said they will call back but again nothing happened. Very disappointing for a hotel once so good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We apology and are sorry to hear your unfortunate recent stay with us. I will personally look into your concern and take necessary step to rectify it.

In the meantime for your future room booking kindly coordinate directly with us thru my Front Office Manager Ms Linda - fom@gurney-hotel.com.my / 016-4767959 or direct to my office email - execsec@gurney-hotel.com.my

We want to ensure your future room booking confirmation is immediate and room condition is well taken care of. Once again we apology for the shortcoming.

From
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here whilst on a Golf Tournament. Really nice room and the pool area was great. Majority of staff were extremely helpful. Food was OK, but on whole we went out to places for dinner. The breakfast was good and did have quite a variety. The only alcohol you could buy though was Beer but you could get something from down the road at the grocery store and bring it back to your room or down to the pool area.

Room Tip: We had a double room but it was two single beds put together to make a king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much and happy to hear from you enjoyed yourself during your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur,, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We travelled by car to Penang from KL with a 2 year old. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful. The infinity pool was lovely. The kids pool was a little windy and deep, but the slides were great.
The room was spacious and had plenty of seating. The bathroom had a bath and a shower which was nice.
The breakfast buffet was okay, I would like to see cappuccinos on offer, a toaster would also be nice. The singapore mee hoon was great. The eggs were also brilliant!
We will stay here again. The views were spectacular!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, General Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much and we are happy to see you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to see you again in future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#39 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.8 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#27 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
#41 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.4 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Property: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Address: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimming with matchless elegance, top-notch provisions, and cordial, genuine service, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in George Town, Penang, Malaysia truly stands out among the multitude of hotels in the locale. We invite you to bask in well-appointed suites replete with essential amenities, such as free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, and a private bath with jacuzzi. Business travelers can use spacious and well-lit conference halls, while holidaymakers can have a relaxing time in our restaurant, pool, and spa. Sitting along the tourist belt of Gurney Drive, adjacent to the Central Business District, our 4-star resort is a few kilometers from the airport and ferry terminal. It also enjoys an address with easy access to shopping centers, like the Gurney Plaza, Gurney Paragon, and Batu Ferringhi night market. Moreover, it is just a short drive away from several tourist attractions, such as the Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Bird Park, and Snake Temple. With these wonderful features, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in Penang truly is the preferred luxurious accommodation for any occasion at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing