We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Need refurbishment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Ranked #61 of 79 Hotels in George Town
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Need refurbishment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed a night recently with my family as we wanted to come here one day earlier before our 4D3N Penang-Phuket-Krabi-Penang cruise on 'Libra'. We have stayed here many times for the last few years reason being it has fantastic location and the two bedroom apartment is just nice to accomodate us. But this time it really disappointed me a lot.

We were given the unit at 18 floor this time (not facing pool). This unit really need some repair and refurbishment.
1) The carpet floor right next to the shower always wet due to the water flow from the leaking shower screen edges.
2) The sofa at the living area need replacement as it sunk when we sit on it. Imagine the arm rest is so high that (due to the seat sunk so much) you can't really rest your arm.
3) The safe is not working. Did not complain due to the short stay.
4) Air-cond in the master bedroom leaking water after switched on for a while.
5) The whole floor power failure at night about 9p.m.for about 10 minutes. Came back on after reset. The technician came to reset and suspected "air-cond unit failure/shorted causing the tripped"
6) Only one towel given per bath room(2 bathrooms). Two bedroom apartment only 2 towels given, they got to be joking right?!! Oh yeah, no hand towel given also, have to request to get them sent over.
7) Moldy shower area.
8) Not so friendly staff. Maybe due to school holiday, too crowded. But no excuse, frontliners have to smile and greet people. Did not see much of that this time around.
9) No iron in the room but iron board was there. Need to request again.

Hope the hotel will improve in the immediate future.

Room Tip: avoid 18 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GanCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    153
    145
    77
    75
See reviews for
208
65
22
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I had been travel a lot..I haven't found a very bad service as this..they offer the room to check in which the door is lock..we had been waiting since 3 PM until 7 PM..they still couldn't fix the problem..I really hate the way the service manager tread me..since she know that even couldn't solve the problem..she affaird to see me afterwards..she sent some guy to fix the room at 8 PM impolitely..I like Penang but I would not coming back here..I hate the way she treat me!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Opinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel was full during the Deepavali Festival Season. Room don't have enough towel and we have to request. It took 30 mins and 2 calls towel finally reach us. When asked for additional towels, workers mentioned due to hotel was full towels was not enough. Hot water in the bathroom was not functioning - it took another 3 calls to the reception and the maintenance ppl came for repair. Overall, the hotel need to refurbish, the carpet was dusty. We asked for connection room, the door was lock and took another 30 min for ppl to unlock the door. Lastly the room service was lousy, they provide spoil comforter (blanket) for customer. I am staying at lousy hotel and should not rank as 3 to 4 stars hotel.

Room Tip: no comment as i can't give a positive remark
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celinetsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langkawi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

this hotel is so wonderfull, very nice seaview even i m from island too, i like the room, the bathroom, got a jakuzi in there.. i like the food, and i like the environment in the hotel. I hope i can be there again. Maybe u should try. I m so enjoy.........

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aku09lgkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is strategically located at the famous Gurney Drive in Penang. The hotel staff from the reception, concierge, waiter/waitress and even the maintenace crew are friendly and helpful. The room is clean and spacious. The food for breakfast also nice and varieties. The best part is, there is bath tub with jacuzzi in every room. There is swimming pool facilities at this hotel as well. The down part about this hotel is that the room equipment and the interior is a bit old and need some upgrading and refurbishment. In short, we had a good stay at this hotel. Other places near to this hotel are Gurney Plaza where you can buy electric appliances etc, Gurney hawkers where you can enjoy local food like 'pasembor', some seafood restaurant and clubs to hang around.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kfk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Those who have stayed in this hotel before would know that now it has paled very much in comparison to its heyday reputation. I have stayed here a number of times over the last ten years & I find that the rooms have not been well maintained and are quite run down. As observed, even the attitude and lack of enthusiasm of the reception and housekeeping staff leaves much to be desired too. It is obvious that this previously fabulous hotel is in dire need of refurbishment in order to stay in competition along Gurney Drive or even Penang Island as a whole. On a brighter note however, the hotel still offers reasonable pricing and a fantastic location for sightseers and food lovers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Arrived Gurney Hotel at about 11.45am and very kindly the Reception found me a room, unfortunately on the 29th Floor (smoking floor), I then requested to move and was given 34th Floor. Very comfortable spacious room for the two of us. We were there to celebrate my husband's birthday in Penang.
I must say "THUMBS UP" for the services rendered by all of the Conceirges from whom I sought assistance throughout my stay.
Generally, great hotel. May return again.
Just walk down the road and you find almost all of the best Penang food.

Room Tip: I was told choose the upper floors and I did just that
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheated045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#35 of 79 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.8 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#27 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.0 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Property: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Address: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimming with matchless elegance, top-notch provisions, and cordial, genuine service, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in George Town, Penang, Malaysia truly stands out among the multitude of hotels in the locale. We invite you to bask in well-appointed suites replete with essential amenities, such as free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, and a private bath with jacuzzi. Business travelers can use spacious and well-lit conference halls, while holidaymakers can have a relaxing time in our restaurant, pool, and spa. Sitting along the tourist belt of Gurney Drive, adjacent to the Central Business District, our 4-star resort is a few kilometers from the airport and ferry terminal. It also enjoys an address with easy access to shopping centers, like the Gurney Plaza, Gurney Paragon, and Batu Ferringhi night market. Moreover, it is just a short drive away from several tourist attractions, such as the Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Bird Park, and Snake Temple. With these wonderful features, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in Penang truly is the preferred luxurious accommodation for any occasion at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing