We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room, value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Ranked #69 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed April 3, 2012

However, air condition in the room is overworked! Not very cold even though both aircons are turned on to the max!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevenGerrard1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 584 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is the worst booking experiance I ever had. I been trying to book into this hotel for days, and the internet booking service never work. When I called the hotel, they can't even book my family in through phone, they prefer their value customer todeal with computer.They kept on asking me to book it again online, so i had a try without sucess. I rang them again and they insisted it must be my mistake,that i had a wrong credit card detail with no apologies.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Weng W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear Weng W,

Thank you very much indeed for your valuable comments.

First and foremost, please accept our deepest apologize for the poor service that caused the discomfort to your good self.

We have taken your comment very seriously and your comment has been shared with all the relevant departments; rest assures immediate action will be taken place to rectify the issues.

Once again we sincerely apologize and do hope you will visit us again at the near future.

Please do not hesitate to email to our Front Office Manager (Ms Linda) - fom@gurney-hotel.com.my to assist you in any further enquiry in the future.

Very sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night for business. This is an old hotel and the rooms are showing their age. Service is rather average and the breakfast is nothing to scream about. Don't expect fantastic service at the front desk. Good thing is the hotel is located on gurney drive and you can get a great run along the esplanade. It is also close to the Gurney plaza shopping centre. it is a cheap hotel in Penang and that is why it is quite busy. You will find a lot of business people staying here for a night or two due to it's central location. The hotel needs a face lift badly and needs to replace the old furnishings in the room. Air Cond is also noisy due to it's age so if you are a heavy sleeper you will be ok. Don't think I will rush back to this hotel in a hurry......

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fasted09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We (4 adults, 2 kids and one 2 years old) checked into this hotel for a 3 days 2 nights stays. We booked a 2 rooms apartment for a net price of RM660.00 including breakfast for 4 adults.
Our rooms were 1203. 2 Indian ladies helped us to do the check in with smiling face. They apologized and told me that we had to wait a bit longer for another 1 hour to get our rooms as the housekeeping was busy cleaning our rooms due to the late departure of previous customers. So we went to next door and had our ice blended coffee and cheese cakes. We got a 20% discount using citibank credit card for payment. After happily enjoyed our light lunch, we checked again with the ladies and they gave us our rooms keys. We got out from the lift and smells of cigarette. We made a big mistake by not requesting for a non smoking floor. Both of our rooms were facing the sea and one room with Jacuzzi facing the sea as well. We enjoyed our jacuzzi and the nice view. Later on, our kids went to the 7th floor for a swim and happily played the sands. 7th floor also got an area for feeding rabbits and they enjoy playing with the rabbits. Breakfast were full of varieties and healthly choice. One downside of the breakfast was the THOUSAND ISLAND sauce was added in with CHILI SAUCE, which i think was a weird combination. Massage or spa in the 2nd floor was woth the value and i did my massage 3 days in a row...very relax and nice press. WE shall return in our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose non smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHONGCHINGSOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

First time in Penang on 9 March 2012. As I was traveling with 2 young kids and 1 elderly, the 2 bedrooms suite was great for family bonding. Aircon was cold enough so no worry when the sun shines in the morning. We loves the seaviews in our bedrooms and the big jacuzzi (though it's a bit noisy). The safe box and kettle was out of order but we managed to put our stuff in the lobby safe box and got a new kettle soon. Abit of issue when checking in as they couldn't find our reservation so please do print the confirmation email that shows the reservation dept's staff name. Check out was fast and reception staff was very friendly. Great hotel for family with 5-10 traveling together.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Libra2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Ten years ago, I am very happy to be here.But this time very angry, because the parking to be prepaid refund.To buy the room, including children and breakfast.Children to another to pay.Why change to so poor.I will not come back. . .

Room Tip: Sea room isbetter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Dear ivy c,

Thank you very much indeed for your valuable comments.

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your support to the Hotel. We are aware of the Parking Prepaid policy and the Multi-Storey Parking Facility is actually outsourced where by it also provide access to other Office tenants. All the Hotel Guest is entitled to claim back the Parking Fee upon checkout.

In regards to the Guest Room inclusive breakfast, we provide complimentary breakfast based on the Guest Room Rate but any additional breakfast is chargeable.

We sincerely hope for your considerate understanding. Once again we would like to thank you for your support towards The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences.

Very sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Had check-in several times at this hotel..
First was mid 2005 (family), second was Jan 2010 (family) and recently was in Sep 2011 (friend)..

Check in and check out is bit slow..
Anyway; the hotel has large waiting lobby..

Room is spacious..
Large toilet with shower..
Decor/setup is kind of dated and old..
Do need re-furbishment..

Swimming pool is ok..
Kind of kewl with beach style sandy setup..

Food at coffee house has wide variety and tasted not bad..
Many F&B outlet within the hotel premises: no issue with food..
Gourney mall is just 15 mins walking..

The only strange thing happen: may heard funny noise in room or toilet (if you know what i mean)..

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
4  Thank TSI_DSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#29 of 87 in George Town
792 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#42 of 87 in George Town
525 reviews
0.8 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 87 in George Town
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
#37 of 87 in George Town
69 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 87 in George Town
1,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Pacific Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Address: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $46 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimming with matchless elegance, top-notch provisions, and cordial, genuine service, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in George Town, Penang, Malaysia truly stands out among the multitude of hotels in the locale. We invite you to bask in well-appointed suites replete with essential amenities, such as free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, and a private bath with Jacuzzi. Business travelers can use spacious and well-lit conference halls, while holidaymakers can have a relaxing time in our restaurant, pool and spa. Sitting along the tourist belt of Gurney Drive, adjacent to the Central Business District, our 4-star resort is a few kilometers from the airport and ferry terminal. It also enjoys an address with easy access to shopping centers, like the Gurney Plaza, Gurney Paragon, and Batu Ferringhi night market. Moreover, it is just a short drive away from several tourist attractions, such as the Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Bird Park, and Snake Temple. With these wonderful features, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in Penang truly is the preferred luxurious accommodation for any occasion at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing