We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gurney- family oriented. Great for budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Ranked #68 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Local hotel converted from apartments. All rooms are suite style so plenty of space.

Two bedroom suites come with a living area, pantry and two bathroom

All rooms come with bathtub jacuzzi.

Location. Not too convenient for shopping. Food present at Hotel subway, coffee Bean and other western restaurant surrounding.

Rooms are old but acceptable.

Rooms are a bit

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 590 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for two nights. Easy to move to the city and the beach area. Walking distance to the hawkers center and eating area. The hotel also has a nice spa and massage parlor

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious. You can choose either super king size or super twin size bed. It has comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennychong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed in last week of June 2011 with wife & 2 kids.
Stayed there for 2 nights in 2 bed room suite.
Location is great - right at the end of the popular Gurney street (Gurney Drive)
Master bedroom has a king-sized bed & Second bedroom has a queen-sized bed
Separate living room, lounge, dining and pantry area. Guest bathroom in the common area
Jacuzzi bathtub , Separate shower stall. The suites also have a big sofa in lounge, dining area, and full-sized writing desk.
Room was clean and view was excellent from the rooms.
Big rooms and my baby run around the rooms
Break fast was excellent. lots of variety.
Reception lady allow us for kids brake fast include in the same price.(free).
My kid enjoy the Jacuzzi bathtub.
2 swiming pool. one pool for childrens, with water slides etc. & other pool for more serious swimmer. My kids love the fun pool with water slides & mini waterfalls .
Near or back side of hotel indian resturent available with unbelivable food price with good quality.
Gurney Hotel is a great place to stay in Penang.

Room Tip: Top Floor choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ahtesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have stayed at the Gurney four times now and would recommend it.
Rooms are large almost suite like, the upper rooms have great views along the shoreline and out to sea. It is away from the hustle of downtown Georgetown but well placed for small restaurants and hawker stalls and only a short and cheap taxi ride way from the centre.

Room Tip: If you don't mind heights ask for one of the high rooms. Also note that the hotel can be very bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

After a day spent running around Penang on business in the heat and humidity, I'm glad to unwind at the Gurney Spa in the Gurney Hotel, second floor, for a professional therapeutic massage. Nice, relaxing ambience, and the rooms have a hot shower, bathtub, and even a sauna. Some rooms can accommodate couples. A long-running promotion offers 1 1/2- and 2 1/4-hour sessions at money-saving prices. I've found the more experienced of the masseuses to be the most skilled. They start with a foot bath and follow with a Bali- or Chinese-style massage--they can probably do Swedish too. It all feels like a splurge but at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blokototerminous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed at the Gurney a couple weeks back and must say for the little money they charge the value is pretty good. The hotel has a very dated design and from the point of arrival in the lobby right up to the room you will experience a rather old hotel, but I must say it was clean, the water was hot and the TV even so small was working just fine! The breakfast is a typical local buffet for the masses and if it would not have been included it would not be worth much, I find it quiet good that they serve specialty coffees like Cappucino and Cafe Latte for an extra charge, as mention the room rates are so cheap that we were happy to pay extra for a good cup of coffee! Also if you order anything to the room like ice cubs, all will arrive with a bill, again quiet fair as the base price was low.
It is important to know that the hotel is featuring beautiful views out to the sea, the location is as good as the G Hotel just the shopping and restaurants are not next door as it is at the G.
After all, a good economy hotel which provides clean rooms and reasonable good service at a very competitive price!

Room Tip: Get one with a breathtaking seaview!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsetfanIpoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel several times, last time was couple of days ago. Generally, check in is not a problem. Whe. I checked in last time, it was a breeze and got sorted out within five minutes. Rooms are generally spacious too. I have taken a normal room for one person and also a two bedroom apartment. Generally both are spacious and well configured. Only thing i that the carpet and furniture generally are relatively dated and could use reupholstery. The TV could also be upgraded to a bigger screen or even lcd etc instead of the old models. Hotel mgmt could put better soaps etc as the small bar given is unbecoming of a hotel that stature. Service wise, the ti es when I reuested for some thing, service was quick and not a problem. They have a nice swimming pool and sand area on level 7 which is a fair alternative to te beach if you can't get a room in the beach hotels. the gotel also has a relatively good n affordable spa.

FnB wise, i normally go to the side of the hotel. There is coffee bean, starbucks for those upscale coffee lovers. A disco (not been in so cant comment there), a pub and a nice mamak shop called kapitans I believe. Kapitans serve nice tandoori and all those kinds of food for those who enjoy it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enjoystravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#28 of 87 in George Town
801 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#43 of 87 in George Town
531 reviews
0.8 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 87 in George Town
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
#36 of 87 in George Town
71 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Pacific Hotel & Serviced Apartment
1.4 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 87 in George Town
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Address: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $46 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimming with matchless elegance, top-notch provisions, and cordial, genuine service, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in George Town, Penang, Malaysia truly stands out among the multitude of hotels in the locale. We invite you to bask in well-appointed suites replete with essential amenities, such as free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, and a private bath with Jacuzzi. Business travelers can use spacious and well-lit conference halls, while holidaymakers can have a relaxing time in our restaurant, pool and spa. Sitting along the tourist belt of Gurney Drive, adjacent to the Central Business District, our 4-star resort is a few kilometers from the airport and ferry terminal. It also enjoys an address with easy access to shopping centers, like the Gurney Plaza, Gurney Paragon, and Batu Ferringhi night market. Moreover, it is just a short drive away from several tourist attractions, such as the Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Bird Park, and Snake Temple. With these wonderful features, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in Penang truly is the preferred luxurious accommodation for any occasion at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing