We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel at moderate price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Ranked #64 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good hotel at moderate price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

We are half way through 7 day stay as part of an Air Asia Package. We have a lovely room on the 16th floor with a magic view out over the bay. The staff are just so friendly and always keen to be of service. The room is probably the largest we've ever stayed in and certainly it is the biggest bed ever!
Breakfast has a simply enormous range of food available (and was included in our package price).
There is a large range of leisure and relaxation facilities within the hotel - spas, pools, gym, massage, etc.
There are several eating establishments in the same building on the ground floor.
There is no bar within the hotel if that is important to you.
Only downside for us is that you'll probably need a taxi to get anywhere you want to go - but of course taxis are reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrk36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    160
    153
    83
    79
See reviews for
223
70
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

I spent two nights in this hotel. The staff was very friendly, and our room was on the water shores side, so i had a good view of the waters & the town side.
Extensive menu of meals these guys served, i at least got something for my self.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamerito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

I had the unfortunate luck of having to travel alone for a business trip and being a lone traveller on many occasions, this doesn't quite ruffle my feathers. However, one of the bell boys who helped me with my luggage to my room somehow managed to get my mobile number and started to harass me in the middle of the night with text messages and repeated (albeit unanswered) phone calls! I was too terrified to continue my stay there and immediately checked out the very next day (and the persistant phone calls continued even when I have left the hotel).

It seems the safety and privacy of customers' data are not the top priority of the management in Gurney. It was terrifying for a single female traveller and it totally destroyed my opinion of the hotel.

So ladies, perhaps next time a fake mobile number is to be provided to the reception upon checking in, just to be safe.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soloaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

I agree with the review that lozslocombe submitted in that the hotel rooms were old, dirty, mouldy and run down. They were basically grubby, carpets were old and worn, the curtains were covered in mothholes and the bathrooms were mouldy. The "jacuzzi" in our bedroom did not work. The towels were thin and worn. Personally, if I am paying good money for a relaxing holiday, this is not where I would like to spend most of my time.

On a more positive note, the kids loved the pools, and they enjoyed the buffet breakast selection every morning. The staff were friendly and helpful.

We went to KL for a couple of days, and were supposed to return to the Gurney for the remainder of the holiday, however, I was happy to lose our flight money and rebook a beautiful, brand new, modern, clean apartment in KL and stay there for the remainder of our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

It was a nice hotel. I stayed there for one night. Going there for a conference. The swimming pool area is the special one of this hotel. Its in 9th floor and u can see SEA while swimming :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marufuzzaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

This hotel was the most rundown hotel I have ever stayed in...The big chandelier at the entrance needs to be torn down!!! It makes people think that this hotel is a luxurious palace!!! Palace- It is not!
We had 2 single beds put together for my husband and I (not holiday material). Our kids slept on the dirty dirty old, cigarette smelling lounge and floor. we had to pay for a rollout bed for them, as we were falsely sold the hotel room to sleep 4 people...and it only slept 2. Front desk didn't care, and we were charged anyway.
Shower area full of mould, safe repeatedly breaking, towels at least 10 years old, small and thin....Air conditioner leaked all over my daughter's suitcase, and the cleaner just moved the suitcase! and didn't fix the air con. Breakfast...bread stale every day! The state of the rooms made me too queasy to eat there...I bought my coffee at 'Coffee Bean' nextdoor.
This place trully ruined our stay in Penang. The Gurney needs to shut and properly renovate before taking money off paying guests.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozslocombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurneyHotel, Manager at The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear Lozslocombe

Thank you very much indeed for your valuable comments.

First and foremost, please accept our deepest apologize for the product quality and cleanliness that caused the discomfort for you and family.

We have taken your comment very seriously and your comment has been shared with all the relevant departments; rest assure immediate action will be taken place to rectify the issues.

Once again our sincerely apologize and do hope you will visit us again at the near future

Very sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

I stay for 3 nights in a suite with 2 rooms, went with 4 friends. The suite is simple yet very comfortable, the view I got for my room is excellent. Beds, sofa, Jacuzzi and etc are all in good condition. The staff is helpful and reasonably knowledgeable. Breakfast buffet is excellent, and the service is great, again with helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tanwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#26 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.8 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#38 of 82 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
#45 of 82 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Property: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Address: The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimming with matchless elegance, top-notch provisions, and cordial, genuine service, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in George Town, Penang, Malaysia truly stands out among the multitude of hotels in the locale. We invite you to bask in well-appointed suites replete with essential amenities, such as free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV, and a private bath with jacuzzi. Business travelers can use spacious and well-lit conference halls, while holidaymakers can have a relaxing time in our restaurant, pool, and spa. Sitting along the tourist belt of Gurney Drive, adjacent to the Central Business District, our 4-star resort is a few kilometers from the airport and ferry terminal. It also enjoys an address with easy access to shopping centers, like the Gurney Plaza, Gurney Paragon, and Batu Ferringhi night market. Moreover, it is just a short drive away from several tourist attractions, such as the Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Bird Park, and Snake Temple. With these wonderful features, The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences in Penang truly is the preferred luxurious accommodation for any occasion at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing