We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!!!!”
Review of Hotel Malaysia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Malaysia
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in George Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away!!!!”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

OMG it was the worst hotel stay I had ever been. The wifi (RM11.60) was unstable. Staff was unfriendly. Breakfast was cold. Check out the picture, the hot water from the tap was BROWN (it was darker than what you see at the picture) You will be able to find a better place with this price else where. Please stay away from this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nothappyjan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    83
    61
    29
    21
See reviews for
60
40
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My first impression of the hotel was lukewarm, they had a small cafe and even smaller lobby!
My family proceeded to check in, however we had a small argument with the discourteous receptionists over the price which was inaccurately displayed on their website.

During my stay ,i had several mosquitoes *greeting* me upon my arrival.
Cockroaches were seen ,scurrying up my luggage. DISGUSTING!

The showers were cold! hot water was also NOT available( only warm water!)
The aircon was centralised and not adjustable. It was VERY VERY COLD during the night.
Beds provided had stains of red and brown, visually unpleasant. I even found a Finger nail.

When i attempted to access the wifi from the lobby, i was unable to connect to the internet thus requiring myself to seek out the assistance from a staff. The receptionist merely handed me a peice of paper and did not explain what i should have done with it. It left me puzzled as i had no idea what it had to do with accessing wifi.

The *ONLY* saving grace, was its convinient location to the city centre. Try out the local cusine on left of the hotel. 5 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chua e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This hotel is basic and clean.

The only problem we encountered was that there is a food market that opens at night that is located directly below the hotel (next to the Cheong Fat Tze museum). They play loud music until the wee hours of the morning and the noise carries right up to the rooms.

As much as the view is great over the harbor, I would have to choose a room on the other side of the hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed here on a family trip, with the hotel bookings already made by my in-law. I would never ever dare to stay here again, because:

- There's a food place right next to the hotel which has performances every night. So loud music till past midnight.

- Very dirty hotel room. The rubber mat that is to be used in then bathtub, was very moldy. That is a health hazard.

- The shower head was busted. So water was shooting all over the bathroom.

- Parking structure in the building is very small, with one way in, and the same way out. I drove a Toyota Alphard, so it was pretty tight. But fortunately they had a parking space outside with ample space.

- The only good thing about this hotel is walking distance to various good food places such as the famous teochew cendol.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roycie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kota bharu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Loaction is very convenient, the pubs, places like little india etc are all a 5 minute walk.Giant chinese foot court right next door( can hear the music).Also walls are wafer thin and the room we got had a connecting door! it was xmas so they were booked out
Room and bathroom are clean.Service is ok for a budget accomodation.
A clean basic hotel located at a VERY convienient part of penang,especially if you want to enjoy the night life

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozman o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Last minute trips we planned left us with limited choice of hotel on our range. This hotel was one of them and we booked it online. The location was good, near with mamak stalls. Just for note: it quite hard to find halal food in georgetown. We booked 2 rooms. Our rooms located at 3rd floor and face on back view/parking lot. Never mind, at least we can check over our cars at night. The carpet dirty with unknown stain. The toilet also no in good condition, maybe it quite old to compare with others hotel i had visited. However, the night came make us more regretted about this hotel.The karaoke in this hotel,i have no idea what floor it located was too noisy. Just imagine, with 2 babies with us, the lousy noise for sure make them can't sleep soundly, together with us. Fortunately, we only had a terrible night in this hotel. Not recommend this hotel to family with babies.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nazuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Usually stay in USD20 places so review clouded by the standard of this place. Stayed for one night in Oct 2011 for 118 Ringitt in room 901. Free buffet breaksfast, cable TV, large room with fine view. no complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Merchant Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#41 of 84 in George Town
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#34 of 84 in George Town
636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#70 of 84 in George Town
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#31 of 84 in George Town
134 reviews
1.0 mi away
1926 Heritage Hotel
1926 Heritage Hotel
#64 of 84 in George Town
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malaysia

Property: Hotel Malaysia
Address: 7 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Malaysia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaysia Hotel Georgetown
Malaysia Georgetown
Hotel Malaysia Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing