We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sensational staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you walk through the door you feel special. Breakfast is brilliant with lots of coffee choices, and food beautifully presented. Room is complete with all amenities and club rooms have a wonderful view of the harbor.
The location is amazing as shops are 1 minute away. Fantastic stay at a very reasonable price.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 4thtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    792
    377
    92
    45
See reviews for
442
515
147
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the traders and would like stay that all the staff were excellent and always smiling. The breakfast was very good and good variety. The location is excellent and easy access to most places.


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Arti2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have read the other reviews of the Traders hotel in Georgetown and took the suggestion to book at Traders Club floor room, which we did.The extra price was very easily offset by the extra value. The Happy hr. cocktails allowed us to mingle and learn about sites to see before venturing out and other tips. We also booked the shuttle to the Golden Sands resort where we had a great day on the beach.The hotel is well situated in downtown Georgetown to do the walking tour, and at the crossroads to drive out to Kek Lok Si Temple.We read where some criticize the hotel for 'tired' rooms. Well the good news is you can see where they are renovating all the time, so that's good. We stayed in Rm 1623 which was great!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I checked in to Traders George Town on 28 December for a 2 night stay - the hotel was totally full and ever so busy but the staff were fantastic and always had time to assist us. The Guest Service Manager who checked us in was just helpful and took the time to make sure we would have everything we needed - her suggestion to pay for Club facilities, as breakfast was not included in our package was totally worth it.The hotel needs a bit of a revamp and keeping the mould from growing on the outside of the windows is an ever present challenge for all hotels in the area. Our room however was very clean and pleasant.

Breakfast on the ground floor gave plenty of choices. The hawker food in New Lane at night is not to be missed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

was staying at Traders from 1 Jan 2014 to 4 Jan 2014, it was perfect for me. good hotel good food and nice friendly staff, i stay in room 1730 and the view was fantastic. would stay there if i were to be in penang in the future

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank goingholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked a room on Traders Club for 3 nights stay in December. Check-in was fast & smooth, maybe because we checked in on the Traders Club level. Room is abit small as compared to some other hotels I have stayed and condition of the rooms are good and clean. Nice comfortable beds, good strong aircon & wifi. Service was excellent from all staffs including chamber maids. Breakfast buffet is decent. There is a shuttle bus to Batu Ferringhi Golden Sands Resort but must remember to book a seat for the trip back. Hotel location is good as it is in the City and beside Prangin Mall and Komtar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Overall, the Deluxe Room of this hotel can be recommended. The room is decent-sized, with good air-con, wi-fi, and, in particular, the sofa and coffee-table were much appreciated. The hotel has smoking rooms, the staff are friendly enough, and there is a huge mall next door which is very convenient. On the downside, there is nothing of note or character around the hotel and it is a dusty, sticky, perilous walk towards the heart of town. The hotel is rather old-fashioned in its decor and in dire need of an update. It is also very expensive by local standards and the view of an ugly construction site from the room does not improve one’s mood.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasparus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.0 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
0.3 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Property: Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in George Town
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang By Shangri-La George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing