We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A short weekend stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A lovely hotel but we had a room overlooking the dome and back of a building with views of air-cond units. Room is generally clean and well kept but the shower head needs an upgrade. Staff are helpful, friendly and polite...

Being used to have a hose to wash up at the toilet, having none either in the hotel's bathroom and at the public toilet at the lobby is a bit uncomfortable, in my humble opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiEntikaShardlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    836
    392
    94
    51
See reviews for
468
541
154
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Traders' staff were friendly, and quick to attend to any issues. The rooms were well-kept, and the bed very comfortable. Free and fast Internet was appreciated, although it was only wi-fi, with no ethernet. Location-wise, it was acceptable -- but this is more an issue with the Georgetown area rather than the hotel -- it's difficult to say where a "good" location in Georgetown would be. The city is not especially walking-friendly, nor is it easy to hail a cab, and does not have a modern mass transit system like the larger SE Asian cities (subway or train). As I opted to explore the area on foot, the hotel seemed like an oasis amidst the heat and traffic. I'm unsure if I would visit Penang again, but if I did I would have no issues staying at Traders, which is a fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed there over the weekend. Facilities are good and clean though it looks dated, especially from the exterior. Location is generally convenient, within walking distance to 3 major shopping malls and a short taxi ride away from Gurney. Staff is also friendly and accommodating. I like it that they offer stalks of roses to female guests at check in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank dyhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Easy to move around. Near Geroge town, Little India. A bus terminator behind the hotel and shopping mall with Cinema just surround the hotel. Nearby lots of food to explore. Have free shutter service at 5.30pm to bring you to Golden Sand Resort. Can go there to see the night market and have dinner. From Golden Sand Resort you may take a bus back to the hotel, very convienence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I chose to stay at this hotel based on the reputation of the Traders chain and the location. The location was great - very central and convenient to all in Georgetown and the staff were friendly and helpful. Also, the free shuttle to and from their sister hotels in Battu Ferringhi is very convenient. I did however find the hotel needs a facelift. The hallways were dark and a bit musty. The rooms could use an update - musty smell, the bathroom could use an update and the TV was quite old - not a flat screen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rkn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for 5 days, extending twice for a day at a time, due to the sheer luxury.

The hotel is located at the centre of the City, in a complex that has a couple of malls. Parking is available within the hotel. The building itself is 25 years old, and no longer gleaming, but what they lack in chrome, they make up in the excellence of their service.

We stayed in the Club rooms. The rooms were well furnished, beautifully kept, and well-appointed. The Club Lounge is great to sit in, look out, and sip coffee.

The buffet breakfast has a decent selection, again, it is the service that sets it apart. Ever present, but non-obtrusive.

I did not use the pool or the spa. This is not a beach hotel, but if you want a quiet place to relax and sleep on very comfortable beds, I doubt there is anything better within a hundred miles.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at Traders Hotel in one of their Club Rooms. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by Lina in the Traders Lounge check-in and she looked after us beautifully all during our stay. The room was very comfortable and the only criticism I would have was the bathroom had the shower over the bath and the bathroom was a little small. The breakfasts downstairs in the main dining area were wonderful and once again we were treated on a very personal level with Padre looking after us every day, making special "treats" for us as well as the Restaurant Manager taking time to talk to us and make sure all was well. This type of personal treatments is not often found in large Hotels and was therefore the highlight of our stay in Penang. We just loved our Farewell cheesecake with "good bye" in chocolate at breakfast on our last day. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay such a wonderful experience and we loved the afternoon "cocktail" hour in the Club Lounge where nothing was too much trouble and once again the staff were lovely. We also found a great little restaurant in Cintra Street called Sin Nam Huat (on the right hand side) which served the best duck and pork fillet with rice (just basic restaurant no frills) and it was the best duck I have ever had and it was all so cheap. If we returned to Penang we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReplyInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.0 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
682 reviews
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
427 reviews
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 84 in George Town
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Property: Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in George Town
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang By Shangri-La George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing