We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved every minute of our stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Loved every minute of our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

From the friendly, efficient airport pickup by Rajiswary to our last sensational breakfast of Yeemee noodles with chicken, Chinese mushrooms, bok choy and fresh apple, celery and ginger juice, we had a wonderful stay at Traders in Penang. All the staff are friendly, welcoming, caring and go out of their way to assist guests. Ranjeet, the guest relations supervisor, helped us with directions for local attractions and shopping. Vikky introduced us to delicious food each morning from the Malay, Indian and Chinese cultures - with the assistance of Khozaimah, Badri, Fatima and all the other staff at the Islander Restaurant in the hotel. Our room was lovely with a view of the Straits and an extra comfortable King size bed. Iswari kept the room clean and tidy every day and made us feel any home with her beautiful smile and concern for our well being. Guests can take the complimentary bus to their beach hotel Golden Sands for swimmong and more relaxing. We've had an unforgetable holiday!

Room Tip: Seventeenth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    792
    378
    92
    45
See reviews for
442
516
147
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we saw the Trader's rep Rajiswari's smiling face at Penang airport we knew it would be a great stay at Traders. My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights, and in that time we were totally spoilt - in the restaurant by Vighesveren, Khozaimah, Badri or Fatimah, and at reception by the wonderful Ranjeet who gave wonderful service and tips for our stay. The rooms are supremely comfortable and supplied with all you could need. It would be remiss of me not to mention Iswari who cleaned our room and greeted us with a huge smile and friendly conversation every time we saw her. There are many hotels in Penang to choose from, however for location, value for money and the friendliest staff, go no further than Traders.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulie5416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nothing to be complaint but only compliment to Traders Penang, it is just perfect!
Definitely well worth to pay for Club Floor as it is really really nice, air cond is cold cold enough, comfy bed, amenities are just wonderful, even though the hotel are quite old but the maintenance are tip top, can't even see the dirty stain that most happen in others hotel,that's really make us love Traders so much (^○^) They had a nice swimming pool, nice lobby, nice breakfast, everything is just nice and we will definitely will go back again. Thanks for the Club Floor friendly staff who extended their great services (^-^)/ appreciated very much and keep up the good job!!

Room Tip: Club floor is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nites and had a room on the lounge level. Lounge was great. Lots f finger food and
plenty of beer and cocktails from 6 to 8pm. Convenient location next to the shopping complex.
took a cab to batu ferringhi. They also ave a shuttle bus. Can use the facilities at Golden Sands there so very convenient. :) get the 2 double beds. Beds r adjoining so much bigger bed and room than the king sized one. Rooms r clean. No cartoon channels on tv but theres dvd player so bring ur own. Breakfast at the lounge is great. Both western and local.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairydust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel seems to have received some pretty generous reviews. Combined with my previous experience at Traders KL, my expectations were high.

I’m sorry to say, but I was very disappointed. There was nothing particularly bad about this hotel, but it’s very tired and dated. It doesn’t appear to have been renovated since it was built, and everything from the fixtures to furnishing seemed very 90’s to me.

It is NOTHING like the Traders in KL.

I stayed in Room 821 (Non-Smoking King) but had a colleague staying in a smoking room (by choice) on Floor 15… I visited that smoking room at check-in time and couldn’t stay for more than 2min the smell was so bad… worse than other smoking rooms I’ve experienced.

The rooms and public areas had free wifi with your room number login. The download speed was average.

The breakfast buffet was again not bad, but also not great. The Nasi Lemak was the highlight, but the Char Kway Teow was sodden and overcooked.

The gym was a little above average, with four treadmills and a good selection of workout machines. It was also quiet the Sunday morning I visited.

Located right next door to a largish mall, the upside is that you’re never far from shopping, eating, convenience stores and coffee (both local kopi-shops and Starbucks).

I paid RM285++ per night, which I suppose is about right. This about USD$90p/n and that seems like a fair price. But I wouldn’t stay by choice again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manasicaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our first trip to Penang using the excuse of a friend's wedding. We opted to stay @ Traders because of the Brand recognition and it did not disappoint. Big bonus is the connection with Golden Sands Hotel on the beach. and the free shuttle bus which we used and enjoyed. Disappointed with har dresser facilities where my wife felt high pressure soles tactics to buy services she didn't want. Oveall, lovely service and well positioned Hotel with good facilities. A very safe choice

Room Tip: We had a pretty ugly view of a building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamessta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The only thing that was disappointing was the DISHONESTY of the hotel housekeeping staff - left iPhone charger and multi plug in the room upon check-out. First call to hotel within the hour we left the hotel - lost and found department was NOT helpful at all. 3 follow up calls to the lost and found department was no avail. Decided to go back to the hotel to check - got back multi plug but iPhone charger was NOT returned. What could have been a wonderful near perfect stay experience was ruin because of the DISHONESTY of 1 INDIVIDUAL. I sincerely hope that Traders hotel look into how their Lost and Found department is managed.

Other than the above incident, the stay was good. We were pleasantly surprised when we receive pink roses on the day we check in - nice touch. Great location for foodie to enjoy some yummy local fare, all within walking distance. Hotel's helpful friendly concierge staff made our stay truly memorable. The hotel suite we stayed was clean and comfortable. Provided with L'occitane toiletries.Traders Club Lounge is great for a nice cup of tea in the afternoon. Wifi signal strong throughout the whole hotel premises. Staff at the F&B dept (Badri, Vickey) made our breakfast experience truly memorable with their warm hospitality. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3HungrySGgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ernestloi, THPSM, Director Of Sales & Marketing at Traders Hotel at Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
June 14, 2013
Dear 3HungrySGgirls

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.


The service shortfall mentioned in your review are of great concern to us. We would like to obtain more details about your stay so that we can address these issue to prevent future recurrence. Can you please contact me directly at email: ernest.loi@tradershotels.com

With best regards
Ernest Loi
Director Of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.0 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
0.3 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Property: Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in George Town
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang By Shangri-La George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing