We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Penang to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in George Town
Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is located right next to the bus interchange and a huge mall. Hence, it is rather convenient if you are considering taking bus from the airport. However, the vicinity is rather dusty and disorganized. Upon stepping out of the hotel's main entrance, you'll be engulfed in hot and polluted air. However, most parts of Penang is that way.

The service staff were very friendly and greeted guests consistently. They were helpful and pleasant making the experience very comforting. The hotel also had a small pool on the 4th floor, which is perfect based on sheer heat during the day.

Room was old but sufficient for a comfortable stay.

Very good experience on the whole

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank genhxa2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is a little old and tired. But for its price, can't complaint much really. It is conveniently located and provides free basement parking for guests. Friendly service from the staff. The rooms are clean though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masahiko
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It is a old business hotel. Quite run down with all facilities looks rather out of date and out of shape. Front office staffs are polite and friendly while room service is good too. However, the hotel is seriously required an make over and renovation. Strategic location in the heart of Penang.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masahiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ernestloi, THPSM, Director Of Sales & Marketing at Traders Hotel at Hotel Jen Penang, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
June 14, 2013
Dear Masahiko
Greetings from Traders Hotel, Penang and thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Please contact me direct via email: ernest.loi@tradershotels.com for us to address your concerns.

Yours sincerely,
Ernest Loi
Director Of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel was clean and fresh and the staff were a dream, always greeting with a smile and recalling our preferences and cares. The room was a little tired but well kept and clean, with few personalised touches. Great location in Georgetown close to lots of sites and great hawker food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at the Traders Hotel Penang for two nights in March 2013. This was my second stay here, I also stayed for two nights in 2009.

The airport transfer arrangements are simply wonderful. Staff member waiting right outside the arrivals area, helping you with your luggage and brings you straight to the car (Toyota Innova - lots of space) with absolutely zero hassle. There was bottled water, newspaper and wifi in the car, and the driver was very friendly. I can't think of a better experience.

Upon arrival, I was ushered straight up to my room (deluxe, wifi and breakfast inclusive) where the check-in formalities were completed. A nice touch that makes things much easier. Overall every interaction with the hotel staff was positive.

The room was comfortable, especially the bed linens which were excellent quality. I slept well both nights with no interruptions. The inclusive wi-fi was very good and I never lost connection.

The inclusive breakfast had a good selection, and the service was very prompt and friendly.

Location wise, it doesn't get any better. You're so close to so many shops and restaurants - I didn't ever need a taxi and was able to walk everywhere I needed to go. And if you ever get lost, just look for Komtar and you'll easily be able to find your way back!

Some have commented that the hotel is in need of renovation. I can see their point - the decor is a bit dated. But the upkeep of the hotel is excellent, and the other positives far outweigh that minor quibble.

Overall, I love this place. When I'm back in Penang, I will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpdc1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My family and I stayed 1 night in Traders Hotel before staying at another Resort hotel in Batu Ferringhi. Check-in was a breeze, however the whole lobby is smell of smoke so not a great thing for non smoker like me. I was also travelling with my children so requested a non smoking room but the room still smell of smoke when we first check in. The room is clean, despite the hotel is quite old. The bathroom and carpet smell moist and mouldy though.

Location is great since it is beside 1 Avenue mall so we can get our diapers and milk powder. Great place for Starbucks or fast food as well.

Overall, the room is what you pay for. If you are looking for not too expensive hotel next to a mall, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda_leow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The location wise is great! Within walking distance (5-10 mins) to komtar and nearby shopping complexes. Located at the heart of Georgetown.
The room is very small (deluxe room) with a very spacious king sized bed but very old TV (pregnant kind) Room is clean but not very well maintained (old and a lil musty) The morning buffet breakfast has not much variety, I stayed at Le Meredien in KL last year for almost the same price but they serve fantastic buffet breakfast!
Basement carpark is small but free parking for guests, you have to drive down a small slope with terrible potholes (can't believe they can't even fix the potholes)
Swimming pool was in the midst of repairing when I was there. But they provide shuttle bus to the Crowne Hotel's during the repairing service.

The Ferringgi Beach hotels/resorts might be far better value for money if you don't mind the location (far from city)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weiwayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 72 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#20 of 72 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#12 of 72 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 2,350 reviews
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#18 of 72 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang

Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in George Town
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing