We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean executive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, clean executive hotel”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great spot I have stayed twice. I will keep going back. They offer a travel agent rate with ID. The Traders lounge is nice and you can walk to local street food vendors. Perfect for business in Penang.

Room Tip: The fresh juice at the Breakfast Buffet is great. The Traders Club stays open till 11 and is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravGuru2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    836
    392
    94
    51
See reviews for
468
541
154
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I booked a club room and tbh was treated like royalty. The staff was so courteous, without being in your face. The club room facilities were excellent, having a few drinks and canapes watching the sun set was a great way to round off the day. The rooms are clean but in need of some modernisation which they will need to do to compete with an ever increasing market in Penang. The location is good, albeit right opposite a building site for another hotel! Highly recommended though,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Traders hotel is ideally located in the heart of George Town which was my top priority for choosing its central location with easy access to KOMTAR bus terminus conveniently linked to Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue within walking distance to Chowrasta where one can try Penang’s famous nasi kandar..
My 3D2N stay at the deluxe rooms was offered the cityscape view of the city rather disappointed not the expansive views of the Penang Bridge. But I was most obliged as my special request for adjoining rooms was met. Since I travelled with a family four which include my sister and her hubby plus my nephew; we preferred and insisted on connecting rooms for family fun and “silaturrahim”.
The deluxe rooms spacious (one king and two super twin beds) and adequate with bathrobes provided and surprisingly bathroom weighing scale plus a table clock on the bedside table. Not forgetting complimentary broadband internet access in the rooms for my nephew who rather stayed in the hotel rooms than going shopping with us.
Morning breakfast was superb with so many delectable and delicious food that guests be spoilt for choice. And I have to skipped lunch after sumptous buffet breakfast.for the past two days. Service staffs were very alert and attentive when come to clearing tables while kitchen staffs diligently served and replenished all the food and drinks needed top-up. I even caught a glimpse of the hotel GM just doing that to lend a helping hand during the peak morning breakfast which I think is quite rare. I have not encountered and never expected from the GM going the extra mile unlike other hotels like Kuala Lumpur or even in Malacca nothing compared to Traders hotel. Kudos to the GM and his staffs top-up the volume and keep up the ultimate excellent service.

Room Tip: Definitely12 floors and above with a view of the scenc and panaromic view of Penang Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeCatlover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in 2007, and based on that experience I booked this hotel for 6 nights stay in March 2013.
It is located in the center of the city with many shopping and food options around. Staff is very courteous and will guide you if you have questions. They have some tie-up with the TAXI agencies and it helps you to get TAXI at fixed price plus you know you would not be cheated as the hotel writes downs the taxi details before you leave.
The only issue I faced was the Internet connection, it was super crappy. After the first night I decided to check out, next day when I complained at the help desk. They were prompt to send some body to fix a router in my room, this improved the internet. though the backbone internet connection is low, but you can do basic Skype etc.
Overall an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Do not take a room which is far from the Elevator, you may not get good internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VijayMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Great business hotel. Centrally located. Staff friendly and alert. My room key didnt work on one occasion but staff quick to help. Even told me they will send someone up to my floor to help me out instead of having me run downstairs to reception! Few hotels would bother on such courtesy. Definitely will stay there again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel has it all. It is in Georgetown and next door to 3 shopping centers that range from very high end to mid range to bazar. It is very close to many historical attractions and the old part of the city. The other 3 areas for tourists (Gurney, Batu Ferringhi and Straits Quay) are very isolated from the local environment. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed with excellent amenities. We stayed on a floor with access to the Trader's Lounge. this is an intimate room with a great view and very good breakfast selections as well as evening cocktails and snacks. The service is superb in the Lounge and the food has Chinese, Indian and western selections including eggs to order. The staff led by Wan Kezali, Kumar, Calvin and Lina were friendly, attentive, multilingual and very helpful. Kathryn on the front desk is very helpful and speaks flawless English.

If you are up to the heat, you can walk to many attractions and get a real feel for the town. If you'd rather take a cab, there is a cab stand across the street and cabs are inexpensive and readily available (unlike some other places like Straits Quay). There are three free shuttles daily to the distant Batu Ferringhi area which have easy access to the famous and must-see Batik Factory and Spice Garden.

There is a large in-house restaurant with Chinese, Indian, Malay and Western selections. There is also a jewelry store and a hairdresser on site as well as a spa. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in this great city.

Room Tip: Always stay on a floor with access to the Trader's Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFLcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very enjoyable stay at Traders. Staff were the best as they were always saying hello and more than happy to recommend restraunts in the area. I often saw them all joking with themselves during breakfast which was nice to see. Rooms adequate - nice, clean and updated with free wifi. Welcome flower on arrival. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_Vegiemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.0 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 84 in George Town
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
681 reviews
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
426 reviews
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 84 in George Town
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Property: Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in George Town
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang By Shangri-La George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing