We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good hotel and well located”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I usually stay in this hotel when I visit Penang. The rooms are well equipped, staff very professional, good facilities, etc.... But is very well located. There is a new mall opened just in the next corner (1st Avenue). A lot of options for hawker food at the streets, excellent food in the area and cheap too. This hotel also has another facility in Batu Ferringhi (beach) and you can take a free shuttle to spend the day in their facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    836
    392
    94
    51
See reviews for
468
541
154
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a typical corporate hotel in design and finish. If you are looking for something a bit different or "edgy" then this is probably not for you. Rooms are typical comfortable modern corporate style, slightly dated though perfectly serviceable. However, the helpful attitude of the staff make it also a very good tourist base. It is well priced, well located, and a very pleasant base to explore the delights of Penang. Our first room was next to the lift and smaller than the others, but they quickly changed it, and apologised for giving it to us in the first place. We would come here again. This hotel had bad reviews up to 18 months ago, but apparently there has been major changes in senior management, and the earlier comments re poor service and cleanliness certainly did not apply on our stay. One of the managers told us that the rooms are being updated over the next year-and our room was really quite good as is!

Room Tip: Avoid any room ending in 01 ie 1201. These are adjacent to lift and smaller than the others, with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with an excellent location to discover all that Georgetown has to offer both by foot or by other transport. For shopping folks, you are right by a huge First Avenue shopping centre that has shops for pretty much every brand and item that you could wish!

The hotel itself is gently dated but is by no means unacceptable. The staff are charming and do all that you could possibly want to assist you. Our room - even though it looked out over a building site (!) - was very comfortable and well appointed but a tiny bit dated.

Because there are such excellent "hawker" food stalls within 10 minutes walk, the poor hotel Chef must pull his hair out in frustration at the number of customers who do not dine in the hotel. But "sorry" Malaysian cuisine from hawker stalls is SO nice!

The hotel pool is excellent and the pool staff are most attentive. A very pleasant stay - thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am a frequent traveller and stayed in hotels around asia every month and I will only write a review if is very good or very bad. In this case, is very good. Why do I say so? Let me share my whole experience.

I choose Traders Penang because I have a wonderful experience in my previous visit and this time I am experiencing the same. From the airport, take rapid bus 401 can easily bring you to Komtar and the hotel is right beside it. The moment I step into the hotel, the front desk wanted to help with my check in. Since there are others who also wants to do check in, I told her that I will do the check in at the lounge as I have booked a club room. She ask for my name and I went up to the lounge.

Never did I expect that Lina, the staff at the lounge was standing outside waiting for my arrival. She greeted me and all my details are already on the desk. That was fantastic. As a member, she only ensure that my details have not change. I was early so the rooms are not ready and she advice me to go for lunch. I ask if i can leave my hand luggage, she gladly say yes and ensure that I have no valuable inside.

After I returned back from lunch, Lina pass me the keys to my room. Hotel was pretty old but was well-maintained with the heritage feel. Can't write much because there are no complains for me to write. Other areas to compliment was the operator, housekeeping who go extra miles and i shall not say the details. Car park was complimentary for those who drives and there are shuttle service to bring you to their sisters hotel. Breakfast at the islander was pretty similar compared to other hotels.

What I expect from a hotel is not only the rooms and location but more importantly is the service provided.

Other things about the hotel was the location. It was located around many major shopping malls and also the current streets art so I will definitely come back to Traders in my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobng80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Yes it's true the hotel is dated but its spotless and the service in the club lounge above and beyond
A special mention for Gary and sanjez who could not do enough for us
Went to rasa sayang on the shuttle bus which we stayed at last time and its perfect

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boltotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Friendly staff but that's about it. Basic rooms. Poor service in the bar. We ended up in the shopping mall next door to have meals and coffees. We can recommend The Dome which near to Starbucks.

We took a complementary shuttle bus, provided by the hotel, to the sister hotel Golden Sands resort which they said would take 20mins, an hour and ten minutes later we pulled up to this hotel. It was awful, the whole place was like an ants nest and people were crammed into every space. Service was dire in that hotel too and we couldn't wait to leave their either. The beach is not owned by the hotel and stalls and other services e.g. massage etc have set up along their. There was a very small section of water cordoned off for bathers but the majority of it was for use by those selling watersport activities such as parasailing.

Also onthe way to the other hotel there was an accident where a car had hit a cyclist just in front of our bus and our driver beeped the horn for them to move the newly injured cyclist out of the way so he could continue driving.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivecaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very helpful in the hotel, especially on the club room floors and complimentary bathroom products were good.
The hotel it's self is very dated, rooms are small. The area doesn't feel very safe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss Moffat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ernestloi, THPSM, Director Of Sales & Marketing at Traders Hotel at Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear KohSamuiMarie
 
Greetings from Traders Hotel, Penang and thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Please contact me direct via email: ernest.loi@tradershotels.com for us to address your concerns.


With best regards
Ernest Loi
Director Of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.0 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
682 reviews
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
427 reviews
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 84 in George Town
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Property: Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in George Town
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang By Shangri-La George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing