We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Strategic location”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel has a very nice location. Surrounded with several shopping malls, we found that it was very easy to find foods, especially halal foods ( since it is kinda hard finding halal foods in Penang ).
The hotel also provides shuttle bus to the Adventure Zone. We felt it so helpful because the Adv Zone is located quite far from the hotel.
Rooms and service are just OK, but it's totally fine because the price are not too high compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gading3G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    845
    398
    95
    51
See reviews for
473
549
156
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Star707, Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 970 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We chose this hotel when we couldn't get into the hotel of our choice. In hindsight it was probably fortuitous that it turned out this way because this hotel is so close to everything we wanted to do with our 4 Nights and 5 days in Penang's Georgetown. And we could reserve a special trip to the other hotel for their famous high tea. We had decided to take a break from our Indonesia holiday and to see in the New Year in Penang. The check in desk is staffed by really great characters. They provide all that is expected and then add a red rose for the lady. Such a lovely and unexpected gesture and it generates such good will, right up front. The Trader, Georgetown is right next door to the bus station. However, we chose to skip buses and taxis and with the help of the concierge, we hooked up with a totally brilliant trishaw driver for our entire stay. He understood exactly what we wanted to do and made it happen. His vehicle could access the tightest of narrow lanes, one way streets and local markets. The concierge service at this hotel works really well across all aspects of their brief. We chose a suite of rooms because these days we like the apartment concept and find that for very little extra we have so much extra space. In this hotel the suite rooms consist of two rooms with a door between, with their own guest bathroom, so you could entertain guests with comfort, style and privacy, if you wanted to. Housekeeping kept the intelligently stocked minibar up to date with no prompting. When you wanted a cold beer, there it was. WiFi access was provided free and a good desk for working, if you needed to. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom well designed and appointed. We had a comfortable and deep bath tub, but mainly preferred using the shower, it being the tropics. Breakfast was served in the Executive Lounge. We found seating a bit tight, but the view over the building site across the road through to the ocean was a consolation. In the evenings they also served snacks and refreshments, however, the snacks ran out fast. The Lounge, which was staffed by really warm and helpful staff was also the location of the Smoker's Den where smokers could huddle and enjoy the camaraderie of being part of a dying sport. It was on the last day that we realised that we could have taken breakfast in the main dining room. The breakfasts here were the full menu and you were certainly spoiled for choice, but do make sure to get there on time because the food manager is a bit of a martinet who thought he was chanelling Captain Bligh. He doesn't care if you slept in and your blood sugar levels are plummeting, and unless you put something, anything, in your mouth you might faint. And pleading clemency won't help. The foyer offered comfortable lounge seating, unusual in this day and age. In the evenings there was a small group with scantily dressed singers who kept the clients entertained while they decided what they were going to do next. If you wanted to shop on site, there was a small arcade of jewellery shops and such. I happily discovered the beauty salon and persuaded one of the staff to give me a cream bath. Wrong country but great result. Check out was hassle free. We would probably stay at this hotel again. It met all of our needs. However, next time I will try to make better friends with the food manager.

Room Tip: Go for a suite and enjoy the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Star707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Great for people interested in sight seeing in Georgetown and close to many local food (cheap and tasty!!)
I booked this hotel through Expedia but it took a couple of months and a few emails to secure my room - even when it has been paid in full!
Check in was quick and painless - Makoto was really helpful and polite.
Room service was on time.
Room was ok in size and clean although the air conditioning is not cool enough.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SN8683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend. The hotel and rooms are a bit dated but clean. The bathrooms while clean are showing signs of age. The breakfast buffet was also well below other Traders hotels but the staff there are energetic and ready to be of service. The hotel is well located and the complimentary wireless is a big plus. The hotel is adjacent to a shopping mall that has a supermarket and an excellent food court.
Has a reasonable gym and pool. Good concierge service too!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and found the hotel to be well run and managed by helpful staff. Whilst a little tired the rooms were clean and of a good size. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Free Wifi (albeit a little slow at peak times in the evening) and coffee making facilities in the rooms. The hotel is well placed for all facilities being attached to the Komtar shopping complex/bus terminus, right on the edge of China Town, and 15 minutes walk to the George Town Heritage area. Komtar and the adjacent 1st Avenue shopping mall are very modern and have loads of shops including electrical gadget stores, chemists, supermarkets, coffee shops and food outlets. There are also many local hawker centres nearby (two can eat out for less the £5 but access to alcohol is limited) and as recommended, Kapitan's is a must for dinner (15 minute walk to Little India). Again however, no beer sold but their almond drink is great. The free 40 minute shuttle bus ride to the Golden Sands hotel at Feringgi Beach gives access to the beach part of any holiday. At the Golden Sands you can use all the facilities, including getting beach towels. One can pay cash for food and drink.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 11Maltings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and it was consistently excellent. The location is very handy and more central than you might think. Its almost on top of the central bus stations and 2 min to the mall that has everything you need. Your also only a couple of blocks from the old city. Having said all this its really the staff that make it. They are friendly and highly competent. I gather some of them have been working here for a while and it shows. The rooms were well serviced and nothing seemed to be too much bother. The gym is huge and well serviced. The pool could be better in terms of shade but this is a minor consideration, its fine in the morning and afternoon.
If we return to Georgetown we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as there is a little construction at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaronshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here a while ago now, but we can't wait to go back. We upgraded to the executive club and weren't disappointed. The hotel has truly set the benchmark by which we judge all other stays. Go to Kapitan's for dinner- it's the best!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edncharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.0 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
1.0 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 84 in George Town
1,634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#22 of 84 in George Town
1,073 reviews
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Property: Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in George Town
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang By Shangri-La George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing