We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are a little faded but great service in the heart of penang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Compared to the newer hotels alogn Gurney Drive or even along the beach at Batu Ferringhi the rooms at the traders were old and needed some updating. Our room safe did not work.

That said, Traders' excellent service and location (in the heart of georgetown) is unbeatable when it comes to experiencing penang. The service and food at breakfast buffet was superb despite the crowds. We could always get taxis at the hotel (not always the case at other hotels). Best of all, the location next to the mall and close to heritage trails and hawker food stalls made experiencing Penang more complete.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keiragopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,945)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,226 - 1,232 of 1,945 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked a junior suite for my 2 teenage kids and myself for a few nights. We drove up to Penang and arrived before the 2pm check in time but was welcomed all the same. They were pretty full but they informed me very politely that the room would be ready soon as their housekeeping was getting it ready. They let me check in and leave my luggage whilst the kids and I went off to look for some lunch. About half hour later, their reception called to let me know that my room was ready and we could get the keys and settle in.
Our rate came with breakfast either at the coffee house on the ground floor or the business floor. The first day, we had breakfast at the coffee house. Though the spread was substantial, it didn't really appeal to the kids. However, what's nice was coffee and tea was delivered to your table in a thermos. The kids had milo in a thermos too!
The second day, since we were in the business suite, we headed up to the 15 /16 (i forget) floor's business centre for breakfast. Though it was a small spread, the kids enjoyed the food more than downstairs. They also had a cooked breakfast - eggs anyway you want done for you. There was free flow of non alcoholic drinks all day. The kids could go up to the lounge provided they were accompanied by an adult.
Traders also had a tie in with their sister hotel at Batu Ferringi, Rasa Sayang Resort. Traders guests could bus into Rasa Sayang, spent the day there (with signing privileges) and bus back in the Traders bus. Unfortunately, we didn't manage to make use of that privilege.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LionAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in October at the hotel and was overall happy with it.

Location is excellent, close to shopping centres and walking distance to good eating places.

The room is of average size and the bathroom is dated with shower over the bath and shower curtain instead of screen. Room and bathroom were well-kept and clean and amenities provided were good which included bathrobes and slippers and in-room safe.

Service was generally good - front desk/reception staff, porters and concierge were friendly, helpful and eager to please. Waiting staff in the coffee lounge were attentive.

However, the buffet breakfast was a bit disappointing as the range was limited and there was little variation from day to day. Food in the coffee lounge was very pricey e.g. a plate of chay kuei teow (Malaysian fried flat noodles) costs RM32 when one can get the same thing in a coffee shop outside for RM3 or RM4!

All in all, would stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to friends who wish to stay in the city centre instead of at the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watchdog_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Traders Hotel in Georgetown recently for 3 nights. The hotel is in a great location close to the central bus terminal, cafes, shops and the old town buildings. Although, an older hotel the rooms are very clean and staff friendly and helpful. We were happy to stay at the hotel, and actually stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjbsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is the standard by which all hotels should measure their staff performance. As Shangri-la's trademark, the staff is so warm and friendly that they truly make you feel at home. Arrival, departure, administration, help & advice during our stay; it all was managed wonderfully well. Our baby son quickly became the hotel 'mascot' and we were treated with smiles and friendly gestures all the time. The hotel itself is getting a bit older but that has it's charm. Only the pool area is so-so and could use some re-styling.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pacifico W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

After the debacle of a 1 night stay (should have been 3) on the Jerejak Rainforest Resort island The Traders Hotel in Penang was just delightful. The staff are extremely courteous, proficient and so professional. The hotel is ideally centrally located in the heart of Georgetown and the facilities are very comfortable. The hotel is right next door to the Komptar central bus station so getting anyway is no problem.
Vicky and Pat the F&B gurus made our 26th wedding anniversary one to remember.
If you want a taste of the beach a daily shuttle service runs between the Traders and it's sister Shangri La hotels in Buti Ferringhi. The use of services at these beach side hotels can be charged to your Traders Hotel room. Highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: The interior of the hotel will be undergoing an upgrade in 2013, so worth bearing that in mind when...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Good location :
1) Macalister Road is just nearby, which lots of local stalls to taste the whole Penang.
2) shopping malls and local products/souvenir shops can be found within walking distance.

Average room:
1) the card holder which you need to insert key to on the room power was under maintanence.
2) bathroom old and dark
3) comfy bed but stain found on one of the pillow

excellent breakfast at island cafe:
1) wide choice of selection with international and local food
2) fresh and hot food refill every now and then

conclusion:
will i return again? yes, but cant wait to see refurbishment to be a modern hotel like other traders.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tree5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.0 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 85 in George Town
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 85 in George Town
704 reviews
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 85 in George Town
1,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 85 in George Town
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in George Town
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $64 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang By Shangri-La George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing