We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location but urgently need refurbishment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“good location but urgently need refurbishment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Good location :
1) Macalister Road is just nearby, which lots of local stalls to taste the whole Penang.
2) shopping malls and local products/souvenir shops can be found within walking distance.

Average room:
1) the card holder which you need to insert key to on the room power was under maintanence.
2) bathroom old and dark
3) comfy bed but stain found on one of the pillow

excellent breakfast at island cafe:
1) wide choice of selection with international and local food
2) fresh and hot food refill every now and then

conclusion:
will i return again? yes, but cant wait to see refurbishment to be a modern hotel like other traders.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tree5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    792
    378
    92
    45
See reviews for
442
516
147
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Booked hotel at Zuji at a great rate. Great location in Georgetown. Near famous eateries, Perangin mall and Giant for shopping. Next to Komtar where a huge bus interchange is located. Also near the free CAT bus stops.
Rooms are a good size. We took three rooms in total for two parents in law and hotel was able to arrange for rooms side by side as requested

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terence1974_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We only stayed at Traders Hotel for two nights. The staff at reception were friendly and professional. It was my birthday the day before and the receptionist acknowledged this and said Happy Birthday which was a nice and unexpected touch. We got a complimentary upgrade aswell which was not expected. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious and had everything we needed. The location was central and convenient to get around to all the sight seeing spots. To my surprise I got a knock on the door the first afternoon and a staff member had brought up a small birthday cake. I was shocked at this I think my partner may have forwarned them it was my birthday but they did go to great lengths to make my birthday an enjoyable one.
We went for the room only option so didnt try the breakfast.
Many Thanks Traders Hotel Penang. We will return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Location of the hotel is great if you want to be in the heart of Georgetown, but the hotel is in a desperate need for a big update and facelift. Decor of the hotel is very well used and look tired. Value for money wise, it's ok, not great.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank amazingdestinati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent service, good staff, breakfast is adequate but nothing exceptional. Club lounge is fine but not as good as other Traders. The hotel needs upgrading. Carpets in the corridors have seen better days, room service Is pretty good, room on Club Lounge level is small and bathroom of B&B standard. If we visit Penang again won't be using this hotel.
Housekeeping was very good, but sometimes it was early and sometimes it was late in the day, which is a pain if you want an afternoon nap, or just a 'lie in'.
There is a real shortage of bars and quality restaurants around the hotel. Would suggest going to Batue Ferringa (excuse spelling) if you are looking for a selection of bars to have a drink and the same for restaurants.
Top tip for a steak. The Ship restaurant (Batue Ferringa). Fillet steak and all the sides for less than £10 and it was excellent' also Batue Ferringa has the night market.
Top moan. Our room was opposite the Trades Club Lounge. Lots noise from the Lounge staff larking about.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank honda124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

i know a lot of people who visits Penang prefers to stay at the beach resorts. But as my family lives nearer to town, i chose the traders hotel. It is actually very conveniently located. It is walking distance to Prangin mall and Komtar.

I am a big fan of Shangri-la and for a good reason. The hotel is clean and service is great

The only tip I can give parents is that you need to be dropped off at the front entrance if juggling with baby strollers or even big luggages for that matter. From their parking, the only way to their lobby is through this couple of steps. You can still carry the baby stroller up. But its best to just be dropped off if you are juggling lots of stuff.

Room Tip: I got the club room. They came with yummy free snacks and a selection of drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LYMLIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipoh, malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

this hotel used to be the number 1 choice if we make a trip to Penang. however with newer hotel in Butterworth with similar rates we have opted to stay there instead . The room is rather small with outdated decor and dirty looking carpets . the bathroom ..is one of the smallest i've been. we have once booked executive suite so as to have a bigger bathroom but to our dismay its the same size as the deluxe's . the suite is actually 2 deluxe room adjacent to each other with a bed in one room and a sofa set with tv on the next room . i was hoping for something like a junior suite in One World hotel PJ. well maybe the management should combine the 2 separate toilets and transform it to a luxurious bathroom with separate shower and tub area .

Well no doubt the location is rather good but for locals like us (with own transportation ) , the management should seriously consider upgrading the rooms. its about time isnt ????

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missylee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.0 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
0.3 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Property: Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in George Town
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang By Shangri-La George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing