We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Predictable & conventional family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Traders Hotel Penang is not a bad place: it's just like most other conventional business hotels. If you're in Penang, the UNESCO heritage city, you might as well stay in boutique or heritage hotels that have character and reflect the old glories of colonial Penang. If you stay at conventional business hotels, it looks like you have not left home, and you're in any other city (it's the MacDonaldization of hotels which offer standard fare). Traders Hotel Penang is a decent place, and there is nothing wrong with the staff or organization. I stayed here over the weekend to take advantage of the good gym facilities and parking at the hotel. I did not eat at the restaurant, and I stayed out in the day time (just to avoid the sterile environment). You should avoid the December & other school holiday period because there are lots of kids around, and checking in/out seem a bit chaotic with no crowd control (the guests don't believe in queuing up). There is nothing wrong with lots of kids but the hotel transforms from business hotel to family hotel, and that usually means noisy, mass consumption,

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,524 - 1,530 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2011

Traders Hotel is located at the heart of it all: within 10 min walk of good eats along Jalan Macalister and Georgetown, just next door to three malls, a short taxi ride to Gurney and UNESCO attractions. The free Penang tourist shuttle stop is just outside the hotel and the hotel's shuttle to Golden Sands Resort is a bonus for those who want to see a different side of Penang but not necessarily spend the whole holiday stranded at a far off beach resort. Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PMah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I arrived at around 1pm on a Sunday and the room wasn’t ready, however I am not surprised by that as it was during the December holiday peak period where occupancy rate were at it’s peak.

What made me disappointed was that the service rendered by the receptionist were extremely slow.

When I came back again at 4pm, I was attended to, by a trainee whom had difficulties locating my room key card and it seems like everyone at the reception were so busy that no one could assist her. Because of that I had to wait for around 10min just to get the key card however I understand her situation and would not blame her as she is a trainee.

Once done with check-in procedures, I proceed to the room allocated (727) which although is on a lower floor (I had requested for a room on the higher floor when booking) nevertheless it still had a panoramic view of Georgetown and the Penang Hill.

The room deco looks dated but everything were in good condition including the bathroom, there were also sufficient lighting. The king size bed were of very good quality and I had a good night sleep on it.

I also went to the pool and the gym and it was great. The location of this hotel is simply excellent, smack right in the centre of Georgetown, making it easy for travelling to the various parts of the island.

I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone for the location and the price it commands

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel_Reviewer_Jem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Overall had an excellent stay at the hotel. The first night we ended up in a room with an interconnecting door to another room which was very noisy. However they were able to move us the next day to a better room and we had a great stay. Staff were friendly, pool was good and location was good for getting around Georgetown

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skybluedave75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We had an emergency stop over in Penang when our train from Butterworth to Bangkok was cancelled last minute. We booked through expedia and got a good deal on a standard twin room for 1 night. This isnt the traders in KL its worth flagging that. The decor is a bit dated as other people highlight but its clean and we found the location useful for the shopping mall and also it was a 10RM taxi to Georgetown where most of the sightseeing is.
Our room was very clean and the bathrooms were of a particularly good quality. The key thing however was the service.

We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was good and well priced. Puma in the lounge area is worth a plug! He was a super guy and made us feel really at home. Try the baked cheesecake - its fab!!

Its a good solid 4 star hotel with staff who are willing to go the extra mile...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonDebsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Traders is definitely a true 4* hotel...international standard. It was everything you would expect of a 4* hotel if not, more. We went with family and had rooms on the club floor. Though we were on a non-smoking floor, one of our rooms reeked of smoke. It was changed once the complaint was made. The rooms were a bit small but clean and well maintained. Full set of toiletries plus extras like combs, hair bands etc added a touch of luxury. Lobby and club lounge staff were courteous and their housekeeping staff were simply great. Breakfast at the Islander Cafe was so-so but the staff were exceptionally attentive. Next to the new 1st Avenue Mall and the older Prangin Mall, that's plenty of shopping for the ladies. Overall, the Traders was a good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trufflelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I booked this hotel thinking that it is part of the same Traders Hotel chain that the one in KL belongs to. The Traders in Georgetown Penang is not in the same class. The room and furnishings are very dated. The check in service was slow and Gary who served us assured me that he wasnt abboe to arrange 2 rooms to be togther mluch to be on the same floor. What kind of hotel computer system cant find rooms for groups so they can be together? This will be my first and last stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExClemation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#10 of 87 in George Town
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 87 in George Town
709 reviews
1 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#16 of 87 in George Town
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Business Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang By Shangri-La George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing