We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DInner with friends”

Mum's Nyonya Cuisine
Ranked #114 of 1,218 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our Official Tripadvisor page! We serve Traditional Nyonya homecooked dishes with our family's secret recipes handed down from generations to generations.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

Friend brought us here for dinner as recommended online. Restaurant was quite packed when we arrived, but we got a table quite soon. The food was not bad, but our favourite was the otak! Goes down very well with the rice. It is worth a visit to try their food.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Piggogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 89 of 234 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2016

The first time we went there, the "hong bak" they served had already gone "bad". I informed them and they promptly took it away.

Okay, thought I'd give them another chance and went again. This time we ordered the fish curry and it was two standard slices of garoupa. I had a shock when the bill stated RM140.00 for that two slices of fish meat. They were not even that fresh although edible. For this kind of restaurant (not a fine dining outlet), not even nicely decored, I think I had been conned. I didn't argue with them cos it is not my nature to be confrontational; why spoil my evening arguing with brick heads? So you can be sure I will not be visiting this outlet again.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GasmanPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vybl, Owner at Mum's Nyonya Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Hi Gasman. Thank you so much for your feedback and we do apologize for your unpleasant experience dining with us. We are pretty sure there was an error for your two slices of fish meat as it's suppose to be only RM70, not RM140. Gasman, we have been in the business for over a decade and we would like to clarify that WE DO NOT CON our customers. Our apologies to have used capital letters as your claim of us conning yourself has to be strictly clarified. With that, we would like to refund the overcharged RM70 to yourself if you would kindly return and show us the receipt. We also do apologize if you need to travel back to our restaurant for the refund but this could have been clarified if you speak to our staffs or cashier on your dining day itself. We do encourage all of our guests to give us instant feedbacks to avoid any inconveniences such as this. Please do not worry as giving simple feedbacks and asking simple questions will not spark into a confrontational argument as our staffs are professionals and NOT BRICKHEADS like you have claimed. We are glad though that you manage to inform our staff about the Hong Bak incident immediately and allow our staffs to take prompt action to rectify the mistake. Again, our apologies for the bad dish and we had spoken to our kitchen crew to ensure this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Food was really good and I don't care if it is or isn't authentic (as some complain it isn't) the place was packed with local families and they clearly know where they want to eat. When in Penang avoid the tourist restaurants - and that doesn't only mean frequenting the food courts!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank MarkOpatija
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

We were recommended Mum's Nyonya Cuisine by the concierge in our hotel and we were very happy with the recommendation. The food is delicious and we enjoyed every mouthful! The restaurant is simple and unpretentious but the food and service is good and the ambience authentique. Prices are reasonable. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank opinion3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

had one of the better assam fish here. the food is very tasty. recommend the acar fish, cincalok pork too.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank fsng282
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mum's Nyonya Cuisine also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Mum's Nyonya Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.