We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go in Penang”

Monaliza bar-restaurant
Ranked #158 of 920 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Samut Sakhon, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to go in Penang”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good fresh juice and Chinese food for very reasonable prices. Good and friendly stuff.
Also important, the free WiFi access, with a better speed than in the hotel I stayed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    29
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great place to sit down and relax with drinks and food and watch the world go by. We were with a few friends, who go here on a regular basis.
I can see why. The staff are so friendly.
Don't miss stopping in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank danutaperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Good simple food”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a nice little cafe/bar, aimed at tourists. It's in an area with plenty of nearby backpackers so is budgeted accordingly. It was one of the cheapest - and best - meals I had on Penang. Although the cuisine type is listed as Malay above, it's really more Chinese with a bit of a western menu as well. I had a great pork and vegetable dish, that was really tasty. Food is cooked to order so don't expect it to be too quick. Staff are very pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in Penang”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our hostel was around the corner and thats how we found this amazing place. We've been there 6 times in 3 days! Had breakfast (good juice, milkshakes, fruit, etc), lunch and diner. All very good and tasty :-) the staff is so sweet and friendly. There is a an older Chinese man who isnt the quickest but hey, youre on holiday! We've been there a couple of nights as well, for some beers. The young guy who worked there was really friendly, costumer focussed and quick!
Really had a good feeling at this little restaurant. From young backpackers to locals and older tourists.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JelskeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I had lunch at the cafe today, We came upon it by chance and were pleasantly surprised with our meals and accompanying drinks. We had pineapple rice and chicken stay with rice together with iced coffee and ice pineapple. Total bill 36 MYR

Both meals were extremely tasty and the drinks great.

We were served by an elderly chinese gentleman who was very pleasant. Others have complained about the tardy service but we didn't experience an excessive delay. maybe it was because there were only a few other customers there at the time. We were in no rush anyway.

All in all a nice find and we would certainly be back if ever in Georgetown again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yotsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monaliza bar-restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Monaliza bar-restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing