We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, excellent price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Asia Hotel Penang
Ranked #82 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent location, excellent price”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Though I was a solo traveller, I stayed in the large Family Room as this was the only one available. Finding the hotel can be a bit difficult, but once there, it is easy to relocate one of the two entrances that front onto different streets. Note that there are no elevators so one must carry all luggage up the stairs to reception and the rooms.

Check-in was efficient, and though my room was located close to the reception it was still quiet. Room was large (as expected) with a balcony that faced the back of another building, so no view. Bed was the firmest of my travels in Malaysia, but I still managed a decent night's sleep. Bathroom was located into the corner of the room with a three-quarter wall built around it. The bathroom was very small - only one person at a time - but did what was required and the shower poured forth plenty of water. There was a TV with scratchy reception, but since I couldn't find any channels broadcasting English, the quality of the reception was irrelevant. Air conditioning worked very well as I was able to regulate the room temperature to my desired level. Everything was extremely clean, no dust or dirt was apparent.

There is a common area within the hotel with without a roof. Free water is available from two chillers and I was able to consume food from an excellent street stall here. Note that smoking is allowed within this eating section, so non-smokers may need to eat elsewhere if the place gets crowded with smokers (it didn't on my visit).

The location of the hotel is excellent - bustling street food directly outside the door, but a rather nondescript combination of malls nearby (1st Avenue Mall is the best of them). Many of the attractions within Georgetown are a short walk away which was of significant benefit. It took approximately 10 minutes for me to walk to the City Hall (though I am a fast walker) so nothing was too far.

The price was very competitive considering some of the options in this city. I would certainly stay here again mainly due to the price and location. For those travelling on a budget, the New Asia Hotel is difficulty to beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    45
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
34
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days early January. Located right in the middle of Chinatown, it can be a little intimidating when you first arrive. However when you settle in, you will soon realise that this place is all you need in Georgetown. Rooms are basic but serve all your needs for a budget price. Staff are all excellent, especially reception which is always manned by gentlemen of more senior years. Their english is excellent as well as is their knowledge and they're always more that happy to help with any information or assistance you require. The hotel location is just a short walk from the Komtor which serves as an excellent landmark as well as being the location for several large shopping malls and the the main bus station from which you can reach any part of the island. If you're just looking to explore, this place is all you need!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_P_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

A great place to stay in Penang because it's in the heart of Georgetown, fantastic hawker stalls erupt on your door step and a good, clean comfortable very helpful and friendly hotel. Very lucky we got to stay here. The staff were most helpful in getting us Ferry tickets to Langkawi and a taxi to take us to the ferry. They have lockers to keep your valuables like passport but you have to collect the key between 9am and 9pm. So if you have an early flight remember to get your valuables the night before. There is also a common area with hot and cold water which we used to make our tea and fill our water bottles. Great Dim Sum place opposite the entrance of Jalan Pintal Tali which starts up at 5am. Kimberly street has fantastic hawker stalls. The rooms are small and comfortable with a lovely balcony with a great view of the life below. The bathrooms are fitted in to the room, are small but you don't actually need much space when you think about it. The power shower is great. Well maintained lovely hotel. A real pleasure to stay here, great value for money. COunt yourself lucky if you get to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayatriganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in the family room for 4 for 2 nights. The location was good as there were a lot of hawker stalls at night right at the doorsteps of the hotel. Room was clean and the staffs were friendly and helpful. One thing to note is that they don't have lifts so be prepared to carry the luggages up the stairs. Overall an enjoyable experience :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiaoJie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostende, Westvlaanderen
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is located on the first and second floor above some shops. The (old) staff is very friendly. We've had a room on the street side with a balcony that overlooked a busy street with food stalls at night. The room was big with a bathroom inside, the bathroom is only a square without a ceiling they put in the middle of the room, but hey, you have your own bathroom. The location is good to explore the old city centre by foot and if you want to go shopping, the Komtar mall is 5 min walk away. We've had to get the bags up and down the stairs by ourselfs, it's a very basic hotel but we loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natgatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

my friends & i went to Penang,Georgetown last weekend...v booked a room which had 2 double beds...Honestly, v are budget travellers & won't expect too much about the facilities of a hotel..However, this hotel really gave me a big surprise and satisfaction. indeed, it is absolutely the right choice..y?
first, the room is very big, air-conditioned, and fully facilitated with fan, tv, dvd player, small refrigerator, wifi, shower...(but the attached bathroom was not sound proofed, i can talk with friends outside.of course,my friendsl oso can hear what i do inside )
In addition, the design of the entire hotel and room is very special and ancient atmosphere. It is in line with the status of georgetown as a heritage city...
Furthermore, the hotel is located in a strategic location, very near the shopping area(eg.1st avenue,prangi mall), heritage area, komtar bus terminal(hub of bus services in georgetown)...
besides, it is only few minutes walk to morning market, a place where u can hv a more depth understanding of local life..
Moreover,u will find that the street in front of the hotel sell a lot of hawker chinese food at night...
lastly, the hotel staffs are very friendly to us,& they r fluent in english...

Room Tip: rooms facing the street is a bit noisy at night(because the street in front of the hotel sell a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We are long term travelers with basic needs - general level of cleanliness and enough space for our (minimal) stuff. This place was very clean and provided plenty of space.

The room had a nice TV, a fridge, a couch, a desk, and an armoire. There was even a small sitting area with a coat rack in a slightly separated room. The bathroom was nice, too. The room was very clean and comfortable.

The location was very good. Definitely eat the dim sum across the street!

The people were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeDocumented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#33 of 84 in George Town
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
INN Residence 18
INN Residence 18
#44 of 170 in George Town
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
B Street Hotel
B Street Hotel
#12 of 170 in George Town
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#47 of 170 in George Town
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
WeLuv Travel Guesthouse
WeLuv Travel Guesthouse
#20 of 170 in George Town
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malabar Inn
Malabar Inn
#24 of 170 in George Town
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Asia Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Asia Hotel Penang

Property: New Asia Hotel Penang
Address: Hotel New Asia 110 Jalan Pintal Tali, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Asia Hotel Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your New Asia Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Asia Hotel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing