We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ivy's Nyonya Cuisine
Ranked #13 of 984 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving authentic Nyonya Cuisine. Closed for a short break from the 20th March till 28th March 2017. Business resume on 29th March 2017.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Had lunch with family of 4. Got bitten by mosquitoes 3mins after we sat down. Dinning area is their living room (small). The restaurant owner is very nice but we reckon quite a home cook taste. And honestly, not really impress by the taste.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank aderong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DragonTan, Manager at Ivy's Nyonya Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hi Ader Ong,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We welcome your honest feedback
as that helps us to improve.

Your unpleasant mosquito experience is much regretted. We always keep the
mosquito out but sometimes they will find their way to the human flesh.We will
do our level best to eliminate completely this mosquito.

Nyonya food is indeed home cooked food. The food is prepared using fresh ingredients,
spices ,chilies and herbs to arrive at its distinctive aroma and flavour.This is traditional way of cooking using slow fire, mortar and pestle to prepare the food has been kept alive till now
for people to enjoy the authentic nyonya cuisne.Its bascially cooked in great spices .

We are sorry our cooking fall short of your expectations but I suppose some folks do enjoy it much
and some enjoy if less.

Warmest regards.

Dragon Tan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 217 of 381 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

For the amount of food we had, 8 dishes & 1 dessert, it was value for money. The owner was very friendly and chatted with us on and off. Makes you feel like dining in someone's home instead of a restaurant.

Would highly recommend this place to everyone visiting Penang and wants to try home-cooked authentic nyonya food. Thumbs-up!

1  Thank Weng2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

There's definitely love that goes into the cooking here. The soya sauce chicken and fish maw soup are a hit with the young kids. Otak-otak was freshly steamed and took awhile to arrive. But worth the wait.

Only one wait staff on the evening we visited, think he's the owner as well. Highly efficient and friendly. If you like home cooking and comfort food, this is the place to go.

1  Thank SGParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We are very fussy eaters....but Ivy's nyonya cuisine have won our hearts...and our palates too! The food is authentic and the atmosphere is just great. No words to describe...you must go there to experience it your own...! Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank whitewizard888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A little pricy. So so only but still better than those so called famous hawker foods. Can give it a try if you love spicy foods. Quite cozy environment. Hidden place from roads

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Samantha8989kkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivy's Nyonya Cuisine also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Ivy's Nyonya Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing