We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely taste of local cuisine”

Ivy's Nyonya Cuisine
Ranked #10 of 965 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving authentic Nyonya Cuisine. Closed for a short break from the 20th March till 28th March 2017. Business resume on 29th March 2017.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you're looking to try tasty local dishes served by lovely accommodating staff, Ivy's is a great restaurant to try.

We arrived late for a lunch serving because we had just arrived but the manager didn't mind. We tried the set menu for two people with the restaurants signature juice blends. All was very tasty and at a good price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lucifrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 227 of 374 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

I went to Ivy's in spite of hearing from proprietor of my hotel that there were better Nyonya restaurants, and we were glad we went! We went for lunch, and found the proprietor to be very helpful and friendly. He took his time to explain the dishes to us, and we had a pleasant conversation. We had assam prawns, curry kapitan, some kangkung belachan, and some honey lemon tea. Everything was delicious. We were given some desserts, pulao hitam, free of charge, and they were also utterly delicious. Next time in Penang, will be going back for dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eramakri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a simple restaurant with typical Malaysian food - but cooked in an excellent manner. If you are not sure, what to choose, just trust the recommendation of the very attentive owner and you can't get wrong. We also enjoyed the fruit Cocktails, e.g. the Ananas with ginger and the apple with cellary. Summarized it is a place worth to be visited and we will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MiroSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I went with two friends to Ivy's on 28 November 2013. The host, Dragan, was charming and helpful, and advised us how to construct a set of courses, including an excellent beef rending. He arranged for a man to appear with a small range of wines, including French and Italian reds. I would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We went to Ivy's because if the reviews on tripadvisor, the taxidriver didn't know where the restaurant was but luckely we found it.
We were greeted bij our host at a nice small restaurant. After our host gave us advice about which fresh fruitjuice to choose he explained us the menu. We choose the pineapple ginger and apple sellery juice...both had nice flavour!
We then had the grouper fish curry, sambal prawns, chicken kapitan in lemongras scented thick gravy...hmm succelent coconut beef rendang and vegetables which you had to wrap in saladleaves with a spoonfull of heavenly but spicy sambal (my favourite!!!)
As a dessert we enjoyed black rice in coconut milk...my favourite dessert also known in Indonesia.
The food was wonderful and we highly recommend Ivy's als because its nice to eat at a tradional style house in a nice quiet street opposite the 1926 Heritage Hotel at Jalan Burmah

Thank Maureen3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivy's Nyonya Cuisine also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Ivy's Nyonya Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing