We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice budget hostel”
Review of Red Inn Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Inn Court
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice budget hostel”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very nice budget hostel with great lócation right in the center of china town, everything is closeby. We liked the room and the helpfullness of the staff! The breakfast is basic but ok. One small remark: the noise of the showers and toilets just next door our room was a bit annoying

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    65
    39
    12
    3
See reviews for
8
52
58
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Red Inn Court is staffed by super friendly folks who really want your stay to be fun. I was staying during a busy time-- and at the last minute without reservation-- and had to move my room a few times. The staff was always accommodating and friendly even though I was probably an annoying guest.

When I reached Red Inn I had been traveling solo for five months and was relieved to see that their facilities were clean, cozy, and had several amenities that are not so easily found, including a washing machine, hot water, and delicious breakfasts of local cuisine.

They have wireless internet on both floors of the hotel, with a lovely patio outside and common area inside for guests to relax and interact. Beds were comfy, and air conditioners were in each room.

Red Inn is centrally located in George Town, but just off the beaten path so you're not bombarded by tourists, but close enough to enjoy the action easily.

My only complaint was nighttime noise level-- Red Inn is located next to a market that plays loud, live music every night until 1am. If you are early to bed or need a lot of rest, I would advise looking elsewhere as there are no rooms free from the noise.

Room Tip: All rooms are exposed to the music of the market next door, but those closest to the market are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veg-e510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The place is clean and the beds are great but it is very overpriced. We stayed in a double dorm room and the price was 70RM, the room is so small that both of us coundn't be standing up. We right price for this room would be 50RM max, not 70!!!!
The breakfast is ok, but who wants toast, butter and jam when you are in Georgetown?
Overall is a very nice place to stay, just really overpriced.

Room Tip: A little tip is not to get the room in the ground floor because it is next to the TV room and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I spent much longer here than i anticipated. The staff are all sweet as honey and they could not be more helpful. The dorm room is really tiny but after a couple of days i swapped to a huge private room which was wonderful treat. The breakfast is a tempting buffet and you can do as little as you like here. Basically it is a really friendly chill out place for a bit of a getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This place is absolutely great, stayed here 2 different times, with a visit to Langkawi in between. The beds are big, comfy with 2 pillows, aircon can be on all day if you want and there is a small locker at your bad to store valuables, also some space to put a few small things. 6 bed dorm is a bit more spacious then the 4 bed dorm but both are fine.

The staff is friendly, both the front desk girls as the cleaning lady, who really does an excellent job. I think this is one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed in, and it gets cleaned everyday, rooms, toilets, showers, hallway, common area, everything. Really really good and clean.

Location excellent, in Little India, with everything close by.

Communal area is nice, with a few pillows to lie on and a big tv with a lot of movies on a disk. Showers are also excellent, big ones with extra water beams for your body :)

Place is really recommended, only 2 small things to think off. First the Wifi was quite slow at moments, works better in the lobby area, but can still be small. Second, 2 toilets are in such a small area that the door is almost in your face. :)

Minor things, If I would go to Georgetown, i would not hesitate to go back to this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed here a few hours. Dorm room was a tad small but very clean. Free wifi. Very relaxed communal area out front. Friendly staff.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank domtheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I was travelling on a budget and found the local hotels to be a little pricey so decided to chance my luck with this hostel and I was pleasantly surprised.I splashed out and treated my self to a room with double bed and ensuite shower room and WC reasonably priced at 108 MYR,The room was small and compact clean and tidy, with Air conditioning and a ceiling fan with large flat screen TV.The Staff were quite friendly and the hostel was nice and quiet,Was only staying one night so the smallness of the room was not a problem
Breakfast was noodles and rotti type thingys with a selection of fruits toast and jam and coffee.
The hotel is situated in a good location just on edge of little India and is a 10 minute walk to bus station
Overall not bad for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#35 of 84 in George Town
647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 84 in George Town
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#6 of 115 in George Town
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 115 in George Town
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#4 of 115 in George Town
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
SIOK Hostel, Penang
SIOK Hostel, Penang
#3 of 115 in George Town
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Inn Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Inn Court

Property: Red Inn Court
Address: No. 35B 35c, Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 115 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Inn Court 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" A Heritage Experience for the Weary Traveler" Red Inn Court is a boutique eco-guesthouse centrally located in Georgetown, Penang, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. "Every stay becomes a memorable experience" characterises the hospitality one can expect from Red Inn Court. Your stay will be infused within an oasis of myriad cultural experiences that make up our heritage. Use our guesthouse as the starting point to a day of exploration. Many of Penang's prime heritage attractions are only minutes away. Little India is right behind us & the 200-year old Goddess of Mercy Temple is across the road from us. After a long day's walkabout, return to the warmth among friends and little home conveniences. We offer free Wi-Fi, free breakfast, free use of Internet PCs, a kitchenette, a Lanna area, in-house movies, free flow hot/cold drinking water, book exchange, lounge area, hot spa showers and that little extra touch unique to us. Our eco-guesthouse is built for leaving a very small impact on the environment; heat-recycled hot spa showers, all lighting use LEDs, an active recycling program, eco-ventilators, automated lighting for bathrooms, etc. Guest can relax in our Lanna. A chill out area where you can sit back, relax and catch up on movies. We offer our facilities as: • We have a mini library (novels, comics, games and book exchange) • FREE HD Movies via Media Player viewed on a 42" HD TV • FREE yet Fast Wi-Fi. We dare say one of the fastest among Penang's hostels. Wi-Fi is available througout the hostel including all rooms. • FREE Breakfast - A simple selection of local and continental spread for breakfast • FREE Flow of Hot & Cold Water • FREE Flow of Coffee & Tea the entire day • FREE use of a Shared Kitchenette (equipped with microwave,cutlery,toaster and kettle) We are unique to other hostels or even bigger hotels, is that our guesthouse is built for leaving a very small impact on the environment. Green is not a byword. We have installed heat-recycled (from the Air-Condition) hot spa showers, ALL lighting uses LED, an active recycling program, Wind-ventilators, Automated lighting for All bathrooms (Toilet lights and exhaust fans switch on when door is closed) and common light timers. Last but not least, we also have a resident tours and travel guide whom would be glad to provide tourist information on Penang. Do enquire to experience what Penang has to offer :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Inn Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Inn Court Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing