We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 23 Love Lane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
23 Love Lane
Ranked #14 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

First impressions : arrived late and they had no records of our booking and we were set up in a sister hotel 20mins drive away but the manager was most apologetic and helpful.

Location : just a street away from all the famous street foods of Penang and what it has to offer, so, for us is excellent!

Room : loved the entire hotel and room. It is always great to be part of history staying in a lovingly restored house, everything was so well decorated and preserved with some modern touches.

Overall, we loved the warmth and generousity of this place and the people running it including the old couple tending the security was so lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drmandymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    43
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
90
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wonderful staff, beautiful rooms and calm surroundings. Our stay at 23 Love Lane was superb. We arrived in a flurry as we had just checked out at another hotel and we were on our way to Battu Ferringhi beach. We dropped our cases while the taxi waited and as we were getting back into the taxi we were approached and asked ..."Would you like some towels for the beach?" "What? Errmm... yes!" we replied a little shocked as 4 fluffy white towels were found for us.

This typifies our stay here....your every need was anticipated and fulfilled.

Breakfast was great and afternoon tea was a very nice way to round off the afternoon.

Thank you to all at Love Lane for a memorable stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Swissmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Love Lane in George Town may have had a seedy past...perhaps a kind of red-light district of Penang when sailors of yore frequented the area for love and sex! But this boutique hotel, 23 Love Lane, made me fall head over heels in love with it.

The hotel is actually a house set within a walled garden. With only 10 rooms, it offers privacy and comfort at the same time -- and you really get personalised attention from all the staff.

Next door, it runs the Steak and Frites restaurant (it's also where breakfast is served) which serves ONLY one dish on the menu, that's right, steak and fries (don't worry, it's really good!)

With its cosy/homey ambience, huge rooms with enough indulgences, it's easy to kindle romance here with your loved one.

The room we got was the Straits Eclectic -- large and airy tiled in orange clay tiles, with an equally huge bathroom and bed. There were nice touches that I really loved like the beautiful antique writing table, the Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries and full-length windows. Ours overlooked the garden, from where you can have your breakfast amid the pleasant green surroundings.

There's plenty of lounge areas to read a book, to enjoy the garden, to just relax. My hubby enjoyed the surroundings and even did some paintings there -- according to him, every corner and space at 23 Love Lane was just beautiful, perfect inspiration for an artist!

The upstairs lounge serves all-day/all-night coffee/tea/soft drinks and biscuits with game boards and books to keep guests occupied. Every afternoon, complimentary tea-time snacks and refreshments are served to guests.

Location-wise, Love Lane is right where you want to be -- within walking distance of Hameed Soup stalls near Cititel Hotel on Penang Road, Muntri Street where some chic cafes operate, the churches, the Padang Kota Lama, the old heritage buildings, etc.

Surprisingly, despite its great location, it's very quiet and serene inside. At night, the huge wooden doors of the property are locked up and you pull on a heavy bell for the caretaker to come open the door for you. It's a lovely place to be with your loved one, but families are also most welcomed here as they have at least one family unit, and at least our room was huge enough you could add in a cot (or two!)

At night, have supper at Behind 50 at the corner of Muntri and Love Lane for surprisingly good pasta and some people watching.

We just love, love, love this place and would come back to stay here again for the privacy, the great service provided by the staff, the delicious steak, wonderful breakfast and central location.

Room Tip: The Straits Eclectic Room on the right had full-length windows that opened up to the lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EnaRamli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a fabulous place. Do not be fooled by the common looking old-styled Chinese exterior as the rooms are modern and tastefully done. Stay here and enjoy a fab breakfast and afternoon tea; all part of your room rates and be waited on by the small but excellent Love Lane team. The AC in the room works well and keeps you cool plus you get a small remote control so you can switch off the lights whilst lying on your bed. Tea/coffee and a bottle of mineral water are provided on a daily basis and there is a fridge in the library/common area stocked with cold water and coke.
The best part about the stay here besides the room and good food was the service par excellence. No place have I stayed at where they truly serve you. Well done Mr Fauzi and team!

Room Tip: You will find local hawker fare at the end of Love Lane/Chulia St, Busier on weekends. You can also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexis539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have always stayed at the beach in Penang, however, for our latest overnight trip, we opted to stay at one of the many boutique hotels in Georgetown. We found some good review of 23 Lovelane and stayed a night. If you are not familiar with Georgetown, use the GPS as one can easily just miss this place. It's a small refurbished colonial house-turned into hotel. Limited rooms but oozes charms. The room we had was Straits and it was very beautiful. All the modern gadgets available, bathroom - a dream, bed very good and it does makes one feel more at home. Though not many workers around, one really dont need them as its within a small compound and you have full privacy. Breakfast was the adjoining coffee shop next door owned by them, wonderful breakfast and brings back memories of my grandparents house. It's lovely and a must try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kate66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

23 Love Lane really gave me a homey feeling. I was really impress with how they could blend in the old heritage building to the modern and stylish decoration; as a result hotel has accomplished its own unique beautiful style.

I stayed in the "Indian Shop House" a family room that can easily fit 4 person. The room has 1 double bed, 2 single beds and 2 bathrooms. In my opinion, the room was very nice and clean; the only drawback would be the chair/sofa in the room are not very comfortable (but what can you complain when it's traditional design?)

Service was excellent; all the staff were really helpful. I made my reservation via one of the online travel agent which I did not realize it was fixed date booking; unfortunately, I had to reschedule my booking, which of course the agency refused. However, once I have informed the hotel staff; they promptly response and coordinating with travel agent and re-book my room.

Hotel's breakfast was superb; they offer Western and Local Style that you need to order and also some other free flow fruit, juice and coffee. If you stay in the hotel in the afternoon they also offer you an afternoon tea. However, the hotel only serve one dish for lunch or dinner; if you are not picky on what you eat, you might need to watch out for this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Supaphon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

23 Lovelane was a delightful surprise for 5 of us business partners who needed some R & R. The property itself combines the charm of Old Penang with the modern amenities of a first-class hotel. We each had our Macs and phones, and the wi-fi powered them all! LOL … so much for R & R ☺… And the décor – wow! Someone obviously put a lot of thought into the eclectic mix of Peranakan vintage and modern furniture. Beautiful art pieces and accessories at every turn.

Fauzi and his team attended to us with impeccable attention to detail. He found a way to keep us 5 women in one beautiful room, organised pick-up at the airport, booked us on the Heritage Tour, etc. If you’re arriving as a family or want a girls’ night out, be sure to ask for the 2-storey Indian Shop House.

Probably the best part is the location! Our walking tour started right at our doorstep, with the guide explaining why the name “Lovelane” and then showing us a little bit of Penang’s rich heritage; lovely Penang food all within walking distance; plenty of shopping nearby. Yes I will go back to 23 Lovelane!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank elceevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 77 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 2,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#3 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 77 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#14 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 23 Love Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 Love Lane

Property: 23 Love Lane
Address: 23 Lorong Love, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 23 Love Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
23Lovelane Penang, A Heritage Boutique Hotel in George Town UNESCO World Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your 23 Love Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
23 Love Lane Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing