We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Moments”
Review of 23 Love Lane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
23 Love Lane
Ranked #17 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Happy Moments”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We (4 adults) stayed in Anglo-Indian Grand Room & Petite Room for 2 nights, and we wished we could stay longer because the place is fantastic! Felt like staying at a friend's house - an old mansion with an annex which was originally a horse stable, transformed into an elegant 10-room boutique hotel. We couldn't stop taking photos at every corner of the place. The location is perfect if you're discovering Georgetown. No parking provided but we always managed to get one across the road, charged at 30 sen every half hour.

The service was top-notch with Mr Fauzi leading the team. Thank you so much for the wonderful unforgettable moments.

Room Tip: There is a duplex available for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank oneleene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    49
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
101
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed at 23 Love Lane for 2 nights. We were initially considering the Muntri Mews based on tripadvisor reviews but after further research we came across 23 Love Lane on Agoda and booked it last minute. We certainly did not regret it. It is located right in the centre of town so very close to all amenities and tourist attractions. The property itself is beautifully restored with plenty of character. We were initially booked to stay in the 1920's Jackroof but asked to change to a more quiet room as the one we were allocated was a bit noisy (close to the street so could hear some small traffic noise). We were immediately changed to the Straits Eclectic (also downstairs by the garden), which was extremely quiet. Both rooms were absolutely breathtaking but we are very light sleepers so preferred the Straits Eclectic, although the 1920's Jackroof was brighter. The hotel is very clean and we were very impressed by the housekeeping standards. Sheets were changed after the smallest stain, something that even more expensive resorts don't tend to do. The quality of the bedding was superb and we had an excellent night's sleep. The communal areas are also divine and are perfect to relax when it gets too hot outside. The hotel also provides bicycles should you wish to cycle around.

We agree with other comments that the staff are not yet 100% comfortable with the guests but they get friendlier as they get to know you better. Don't let a potentially lukewarm greeting disappoint you!

ps. the hotel has the friendliest local guard who will warmly smile at you every day as you start your daily sightseeing. she definitely made our day every morning :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LondonSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This heritage house has only 8 rooms. Each is spacious and well decorated with art works. The rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel has a lovely garden and the lobby area is filled with art and antiques. I would rate this hotel above the Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion for its more pleasant surroundings and friendly staffs.
The staffs are very friendly nd enthusiastic but they lack the knowledge to provide recommendations on attractions and restaurants. The breakfast is also a little disappointing for the room rate as the selection is very basic and limited.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are quieter although there are rooms downstairs open out to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Casa131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We heard about this "new" hotel from an architect friend who was involved with the reconstruction works and was eager to check it out. There is a proliferation of boutique heritage hotels within the protected zone of Georgetown (usually restored shophouses) and conservation aficionados truly have plenty to choose from. What probably sets 23 Love Lane apart is that it was evidently a lovely century-old colonial villa belonging to a large and rich family set within a pretty walled garden - a rarity in this part of the old quarters. There are just ten rooms/suites laid out in the main (masters) house and a collection of adjunct buildings (presumably servants quarters). The rooms are comfortably spacious with nice high ceilings. The bathrooms generously large by any hotel standards. The well-appointed bedding is soothing and very comfortable. The "public" spaces like the common upstairs living room and ground floor dining terrace are filled with an eclectic jumble of Malay, Indian, Chinese & Nyonya artifacts and accouterments. An antique cupboard even displays old porcelain and ceramic fragments discovered on site during the re-construction works. While we initially booked a family suite, we were offered two separate rooms in the Anglo-Indian Mansion with a great-looking living room (due to some double booking) on the first night - no complaints. The family suite in the Indian Shophouse (on the second night) came with a loft structure much to the delight of he younger ones - nice wide spaces with lots of light. Service is gracious & genteel albeit a little hesitant with the junior staff but Fauzi the front desk manager was impeccable and very accommodating. If there is a need for improvements, the management may want to look into the car parking provisions for guests (there are none at the moment). All in all a very pleasurable experience. Well done 23<3LANE!

Room Tip: BTW, the light combination switches takes a while to get used to. Ask the staff to explain if needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ECKLKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel completes the old Penang experience. Located in the heart of the UNESCO protected area of Georgetown near to temples, clan houses and restaurants, it is la little oasis of serenity and style. The 10 rooms are quiet and individually decorated in a beautiful eclectic mix of straits Chinese and colonial British. A full breakfast is served in and around a lovely converted kitchen courtyard complete with gardens and pond. Staff couldn't do enough for us. I would return to this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Furfantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We booked a last minute deal on Wotif but unfortunately our booking wasn't recorded by Wotif (the problem was with Wotif, not the hotel). The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and found an alternative room for us. The property is beautiful, the renovation is tasteful and the space has been well thought out.

We stayed in a Straits Ecletic room which was spacious and the bathroom was bigger than expected and well stocked with amenities. The location is fantastic, walking distance to excellent local food and sights. It is on a street with a few hostels but after you enter the gates it is so tranquil and peaceful that it feels like a completely different place. The breakfast was fresh, simple but tasty (fresh bread from the local bakery with kaya was delicious, freshly squeezed juice, omelettes to order, coffee, yogurt with fresh fruit) and it leaves enough room to sample the local food.

Having been to Penang a couple of times before, I would highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here on my next stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Glamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

23 Love Lane is like no other hotel or specialty lodging that I have even stepped in.

The property consist of an old mansion, servant quarters and a old indian shophouse dating as far back as 1860s. Penang being an up and coming tourist destination filled with UNESCO heritage sites, 23 Love Lane is essential to a culturally and historically filled experience of Penang. So when I researched for a place to stay in Penang, and saw this place, I booked the room for four - the Indian Shophouse - and crossed my fingers! (Since it was so new - 2 months! - I didn't really know what to expect!)

The place is amazing and exactly what you see in the pictures. You cannot imagine something so beautiful is so so very old! The conservation is superb and their effort to modernize the place for today is respectable. You really feel like being in the grand colonial era and yet with modern amenities! The details is simply amazing! Two thumbs up.

Service was also amazing! Fiona and Fariz were excellent host and takes care to your every needs. Fiona spent some time telling me about the history of the place which gave the place so much more character. 23 Love Lane (and the actual address!), is even applying for a UNESCO conservation site, which makes it even more respectable! They have to follow by strict conservation rules like absolutely no chemicals to clean, but takes some understanding from the part of the guest. (For eg, the property takes months to restore water leakages - not because of the conservation rules they have to follow).

Things we like (other then the charm of the place) - Good air conditioning, nice comfortable beds, SPACIOUS, large bathrooms, good shower, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, good breakfast - eggs made to order, lovely freshly brewed coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice.. and on and on.

There were some minor things that can be improved, but, the biggest issue we have was the lack of parking. There are public parking throughout Love Lane, but sometimes its pretty hard to get. I don't know how the property can fix this though, but to be noted.

We stayed in the Indian Shophouse, which was perfect for a family of four. (Eventhough the upstairs was designed for kids, my husband and I were pretty comfortable. We loved that we got to spent time in the same room with my parents and yet we got our privacy by being upstairs!)

Highly recommend this property! It's not just a place to stay but an experience!

Room Tip: Email the property or go through agoda.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aliku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.1 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#12 of 84 in George Town
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 23 Love Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 Love Lane

Property: 23 Love Lane
Address: 23 Lorong Love, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 23 Love Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
23Lovelane Penang, A Heritage Boutique Hotel in George Town UNESCO World Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your 23 Love Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
23 Love Lane Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing