We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Every Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Micke's Place

Micke's Place
Ranked #3 of 54 Coffee & Tea in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Drinks, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Seattle
Level Contributor
542 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Excellent Every Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I reviewed Micke's Place after a visit last summer and gave it four stars. My wife and I are back in Penang now (Jan., 2013) and have eaten 2 of our four dinners so far at Micke's. I'm upping it to five stars. On the first visit this time I had the fish curry which was even better than I remembered it, with a generous amount of fish and a really unique and tasty curry (the star annise makes a big difference). My wife had a light meal of mushroom soup and garlic bread, both excellent. On our second visit we both had linguine alfredo (that is, their carbonara w/o the ham) and it was really fine -- perfectly cooked pasta with a very tasty sauce. We shared an order of garlic bread. The lady who runs the place is totally charming.

The review below by HP88 alleging that the food is all microwaved and none of it is fresh could not be more false, misleading, misguided and downwright ignorant. Ignore his rant and come to this wonderful little place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    67
    17
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
774 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Great food and a really friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

It is situated just off the main road near to the seven eleven. The food is all excellent and a lot of work has gone into adding spices to make it taste absolutely delicious. I liked the sweet and sour chicken but my favourite was grilled lamb with linguine napolitana, basically a large tasty lamb chop on a bed of large noodles. The pizza was well topped with lots of cheese. All in all a great place but limited in size so fills up quick. You can borrow a pen and leave a message on the wall along with all the hundreds of others. My favourite place in Penang.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgusting, microwaved food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

The worst food we have had in our 4 months travelling South East Asia. Seriously.
The service was slow, although we don't really worry about this because food tends to make up for it. But, when you are served cold vegetables, microwaved pork ribs and a clump of rice, everything about the experience tends to become an issue.
The staff didn't smile or welcome anyone. They spent 15 minutes in the kitchen, without once returning to front of house to make sure customers were happy (there were two tables waiting to pay all this time).
The menu consists of soup, pasta, pizza, pork ribs, chicken and fish dishes...none of which are prepared fresh to order.
Definitely would not recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a quirky little restaurant near the 7/11 on love lane.small menu done well by the owner/chef.she cooks up some of the best food we had in Georgetown here.good meat used throughout all her dishes and very reasonably priced.we tried the brownie which was lovely aswell.drinks a little bit pricer than normal but that's the only tiny negative I can say about here.definitely worth a try!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Friendly, Cozy Place for Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stumbled upon this place when we were looking for dinner. It looks unassuming and only had one other customer in the shop.

We took a chance and walked in. The menu was very limited but they had daily specials. Ordered the Pork Ribs & Lamb Chop.

Both dishes were superb. The pork rib is unlike the smoked bbq pork ribs we normally had. It is served with rice and a little saucy. It was great - fall off the bone tender and superbly seasoned apparently with pineapple and orange according to Madam Choo.
The lamb chop was awesome! Very flavorful and cooked to perfection. I can't say how good it tasted.

The pineapple & banana yoghurt is creamy - but came with some of the black stuff (either from banana or the pineapple) which kinda spoilt it. Otherwise, it would have been perfect.

They were not too stingy with the food portion and the price is really reasonable. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone.

Madam Choo is also really friendly.
If there's a crowd, you might have to wait awhile.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TinTinTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Micke's Place also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Micke's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing