We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant...”
Review of Micke's Place

Micke's Place
Ranked #4 of 42 Coffee & Tea in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant...”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a quirky little restaurant near the 7/11 on love lane.small menu done well by the owner/chef.she cooks up some of the best food we had in Georgetown here.good meat used throughout all her dishes and very reasonably priced.we tried the brownie which was lovely aswell.drinks a little bit pricer than normal but that's the only tiny negative I can say about here.definitely worth a try!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    71
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Friendly, Cozy Place for Food”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stumbled upon this place when we were looking for dinner. It looks unassuming and only had one other customer in the shop.

We took a chance and walked in. The menu was very limited but they had daily specials. Ordered the Pork Ribs & Lamb Chop.

Both dishes were superb. The pork rib is unlike the smoked bbq pork ribs we normally had. It is served with rice and a little saucy. It was great - fall off the bone tender and superbly seasoned apparently with pineapple and orange according to Madam Choo.
The lamb chop was awesome! Very flavorful and cooked to perfection. I can't say how good it tasted.

The pineapple & banana yoghurt is creamy - but came with some of the black stuff (either from banana or the pineapple) which kinda spoilt it. Otherwise, it would have been perfect.

They were not too stingy with the food portion and the price is really reasonable. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone.

Madam Choo is also really friendly.
If there's a crowd, you might have to wait awhile.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinTinTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
543 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Good Food, Serivce Can Be Slow”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This intimate little cafe at the south end of Love Lane (next to the 7-11) has only about half a dozen tables. I've tried both their Western and their local offerings. The fish curry was just excellent -- hefty chunks of fish and tomato slices in a yummy curry broth. It needed a little salt but that was easily fixable. Came with rice and some perfectly cooked broccoli and cauliflower. The linguine carbonara was good, but not quite excellent -- about a 7 on a scale of ten. As the menu had warned it was slightly non-traditional with thin slices of ham instead of bacon. The cream sauce was tasty but, again, could have used a tad more salt. My pineapple-banana smoothie (w/ yogurt) was excellent.

Despite the smalll size, service can be slow. The kitchen is a one-woman operation. She has an assistant who's a sweet girl but really isn't good for much more than bringing out menus, drinks, silverware and food. So if a number of people order fairly close together, those at the back of the line can be waiting a while.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Cooked with Love in a Cozy Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Micke's is a cozy small cafe near the start of Love Lane a door or two away from the 7-11,

Menu is half Malaysian and half Western. We were in the mood for western and the woman cooking the brownies, who I assume is also the proprietress, eagerly made recommendations which were all delicious;

-Smoked turkey pizza with green pepper, cheese, & mushroom; 12R;
-Sweet and sour BBQ pork ribs with white rice: 14R
-Yogurt Banana and Passion Fruit Shake: 6R (With out a doubt the best smoothies I've had in Asia)

Just go! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I don't think I can write how much we likes Mickes place. The owner of the place name is really eric, he has to be one the nicest person we have mate in our travels. He gave us so many tips on where to go, how to get there and little things like that. His food is amazing. We found his place on the second night we were there and every night after that we ate there. If you are a fan of spag Bol it's a must try defo the best spag Bol I've tried!

Eric and his wife are two the nicest people we have met and I would defo recommend anyone to go there. I know if we're back again we will be eating there.

(hi guys hope Ye are doing well x tash and Anna)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Micke's Place also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Micke's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing