We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in Penang downtown”
Review of Western Spices @Green Hall - CLOSED

Western Spices @Green Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Italian, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Just a short stroll from historic Fort Cornwallis, "Western Spices" is based on the values of traditional western hospitality and service - delivered with style, panache and distinction. Our menu is a stunning repertoire of European haute cuisine reflected in the presentation of delicacies and superb sauces made with fresh natural ingredients, herbs and spices. We welcome you to come experience authentic pastas & steaks in our heritage setting.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Penang downtown”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a must try restaurant in Penang. The food quality is really delicious and at a reasonable price. The staffs are friendly and helpful. And off course, the environment is extremely comfortable and romantic.This is one of the 'fine dining" restaurant that penangites must have a try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hengor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Western Spices@Green Hall is the best restaurant in Penang!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you come to Penang, you must visit this restaurant-Western Spices! Their service is professional and the most important is the food is super delicious!

We are really enjoy our dinner at Western Spices, thank you Western Spices brings us very wonderful dinner and service, we would like to come and visit next time =)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blairq_cheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Places that never want to stop going”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Good restaurant that me and my fiance never stop going, even just a simple lunch. Reasonable price with a great food served by Chef Nick. From the appetiser to the deserts, will definitely makes you unforgettable. A place that must go.

Helpful?
Thank susuyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I found the taste of O'connell St Bakery over here.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Absolutely authentic of western cuisine. I might not have tried all restaurant over in Penang but up to date would say this is the best of western cuisine i had over in Penang.

Atmosphere was great, warm dim light, soft music and excellence heritage decoration.

Price is reasonable, service are just fine. every Sunday start 7 pm there would be pianist play piano. If you want to feel the Eastern & Oriental Hotel like of restaurant but do not wish to pay for high price, this is the place you should not be missed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeromeNG_WK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the food, loved the music !”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had a craving for western food but didn't know we were about to spend a lovely moment thanks to the great pianist and singer in the place ! Seriously, this person is a super musician.
The food was pretty good and service fast and efficient at reasonable prices. The salmon was delicious and we even chose some waffles for dessert. I was just feeling very cold but it looks i was the only one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Froginsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Spices @Green Hall also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing