We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee and dessert” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amelie Cafe - CLOSED

Amelie Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Description: Armenian Street is very short, so a house number isn't really necessary. Useful review here: http://www.foodbuzz.com/blogs/my/malaysia/2235775-amelie-cafe-armenian-street-penang
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great coffee and dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Tried 3 out of 4 types of dessert - Chocolate Pot, Pannacotta and Chocolate Mascarpone Cheese Cake. All tasted great especially the Chocolate Pot. The dessert would taste even better if they were a little colder.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisineat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Simply Rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Being a local, I would advice anyone considering visiting this cafe to avoid it at all cost. There are a lot more cafe in the heritage site of Penang worth visiting but definitely not this one!!

The boss of the cafe is extremely rude and is a total disgrace to Malaysian hospitality. Visited the place at 11am, thinking of enjoying a good cup of coffee. The sign board in front of the cafe says its opened from 10am but the door was closed, not locked. So I pushed the door opened and stepped inside. Was asked if there is anything that he could help me with. I politely asked if its open for business. The hext thing that came, surprised me and a friend. The exact reply was "CANT'T YOU SEE THE DOOR IS CLOSED".

I was speechless for a moment before briefly answered back that he didn't have to be so harsh! That was it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pohim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed with This cafe LAdy Boss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went here with my family we order a pasta and drink it took us one and half hour the food and drink still not yet arrived after asking the LADY BOSS the answers is CHILDREN IS NOT WELCOME to this CAFE I was shock why they did't hang up the sign board to alert tourist, people to enter .Very awful , terrible service How can YOU do business in this bad attitude ...it ready indisposed my holiday mood sad bad

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank ppchew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't visit the place anymore!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Service too rude to customer at all, indeed. 1 main course (pasta) + 1 dessert taking deliver around 1hr. The price is costly, not cheap also. Don't believe? Welcome visit especially lunch hour and experience yourself.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lokekp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad Service!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you just want a drink or photography. Don't go in!!! Because photography is not allowed!

Me and my friends, 3 of us ordered 2 cups of coffee. Next, my friends ... they ordered a cup of coffee. The proprietress said: "A lot of people come in only 1 drink?!" Then my two other friends, they ordered 2 drinks...

8 peoples consume 5 drinks and we stayed in this cafe only a very short time to finish left. You will not cause the loss!!!

Very POOR service!

Helpful?
2 Thank Starsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelie Cafe also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing