We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff and good location”
Review of Roommates Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roommates Penang
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and good location”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

They have two buildings of rooms across the road from each other.
Stayed in a 4 bed dorm with AC. Room was clean, nice touch with own curtain to make it a bit more private, each also had their own plug and light. Lower bunks were high enough to sit up in.
Towel provided shared bathroom on the ground floor.
Breakfast also included, toast and boiled eggs, and you can go to either building for breakfast.
Staff were really helpful in giving us a map and info on where to go locally and also answering our silly questions.
Good location within walking distance of the street art and close to bars and street food.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool***
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cquinn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    41
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
21
68
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my 2 nights stays at Roommates Penang! Location was great, less than 10 minutes walk from jetty terminal, few walks away from Lebuh Chulia and most of the wall paintings are all within walking distance! Besides, i even walked to Komtar which took me 15 minutes only.

Staffs were helpful. He guided me on the famous food around the area. They are also very friendly n chatty :)

Facilities wise, its definitely value for money. I receive blanket n even tower. And i love the concept of having curtain at every beds with 2 plugs and a attached wall light which provides a little bit of privacy for us. However, my bed had bugs but the staff quickly changed a bed sheet on the first night n switched a bed on my second night.

Oh and not to forget about the living hall where I've spent most of my time there. It is wood based concept and with 4 wood tables and 2 mini sofas. It was quite cooling but electric fans were at the corner just in case we were still feeling warm.

Overall its value for money and i enjoyed my stays there. Will definitely recommend to people and revisit in near future.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Roommates has very good location that takes you about 10mins to market, food center, heritage, temples...The room is sooooo clean and cozy and quite (like you'r home) which provide you a tight sleep after long day of exploring the outside, wifi is excellent and the most impression to me is great service. The owner and staff here are so helpful and friendly with a big smile every time :) I really miss Penang and definitely wanna come back!

P/S: You guys can take a bus number 101 or 102 (bus station is too near Roommates) to Batu Ferringhi beach and enjoy night market there. It worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I spent a good 5 nights at Roommates... when backpacking and you find a comfy bed you know its time to just catch up on some sleep. Roommates is perfectly located allowing you to enjoy the awesome food that Penang (Georgetown) has to offer! The wifi is excellent, the curtains and own light & power source by your bunk give loads of privacy and again, excellent nights sleep! The breakfasts where simple (boiled egg, toast and coffee) but what more do you need!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My first full-on dorm experience. It was great! The manger Ong, is such a nice guy!

The beds all have curtains for privacy, shelves, hooks and reading lights. the rooms are kept at a great tempature and the whole space is spic and span. The place has a cool, relaxed vibe and people seem to either be hanging out enjoying a beer and each other's company or lost in thier lap tops or books. There are computers as well for everyone to use. Oh and there are great rain showers.

Breakfast uncludes hard boiled eggs, toast and coffee.

And if your in need of an afternoon pick-me-up, pop across the street to the coffee shop to enjoy the air con, Lavazza cofee and milli crepe cake.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjpDag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hostel is more to chillout than a party hostel, but is all good. The wifi works really well, and the staffs were friendly and really helpful. The location is very good! about 5 minutes walk to the street food at night, bus stop and 7-11. I'll be back, see u again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmukhriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The manager for Room Mates is a top bloke. He left the hostel to drive me and my friends in his car to the ferry to go to Langkawi and then helped us buy the tickets and gave us great recommendations for langkawi, friendly, helpful and kind, a top malaysian

Room Mates is also clean, friendly, fun and in a good location!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunner1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 112 in George Town
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#5 of 112 in George Town
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SIOK Hostel, Penang
SIOK Hostel, Penang
#3 of 112 in George Town
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
House of Journey
House of Journey
#7 of 112 in George Town
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
#1 of 112 in George Town
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roommates Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roommates Penang

Property: Roommates Penang
Address: 17 B Lorong Chulia, George Town, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 112 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHO ARE WE and WHAT DO YOU GET WHEN STAYING WITH US??*18 century straits eclectic pre war shoplot - YES!*Experience staying in a classic heritage shop in Penang - YES!*Clean and comfortable- YES! *The place is so new you can even smell the paint- YES!*Guaranteed the Funnest guesthouse on the island- SOOO YES!*Value for money- YES!*So near to the heritage attractions, you can see it- YES!*So near to Penang Hawker food, you can smell it- YES!*SUPER Easy to get here by bus- YES! YES YES YES YES YES YES YES!!! :D We hope to having and seeing you real soon!Roommates Penang Guesthouse is housed in an 18th century refurbished ‘Straits Eclectic’ prewar shop lot centrally located within the core Heritage Zone of Georgetown, Penang. We are within walking distance to famous hawker food stalls like Chulia Street, Kimberly Street, shopping malls like Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue as well as morning markets like Chowrasta Market. All the ‘MUST SEE’ Heritage attractions within Penang are located around the guesthouse and can be easily explored by foot or by bicycle. We also offer bicycles for rent for the convenience of our guests. Roommates Penang is definitely the ‘smallest’, ‘newest’ and ‘funnest’ (we made this word up!) guesthouse on the island. Although the exterior and certain sections of the guesthouse still retains its prewar features, we did cracked our brains to come up with a simplistic yet modern interior so that you can fully enjoy an open concept guesthouse that only has a land space of 530 ft2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Roommates Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roommates Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing