We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Roommates” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roommates Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roommates Penang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Roommates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

It was the fates
That led me to roommates

We love our comfy beds
Where we rested our weary heads

We were each given a curtailed partition
And our room was superbly air-conditioned

The food nearby was simply splendid
And an important bus stop was well within 200 feet

The wifi though erratic, met our needs
So stay in roommates; all other hostel it beats!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    37
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
19
67
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

this guesthouse isn't bad but it is by no means the best. I felt quite alone whilst I was here, the staff barely interact unless prompted and the small communal area makes it hard to meet other travellers. The air con is far too cold in the rooms too. It's an ok guesthouse that lacks a community feel. The showers are downstairs which can be arkward too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fuscia101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hostel is really nice - good location, great beds etc. but it's too hot. They don't turn the aircon on in the dorms till 10pm and its off at 6am. There is no aircon in the shared areas so the toilets are like saunas, the communal area too hot too. During the day we could not stay in the hostel at all as it was too hot. Even at night with the aircon on I lay in bed sweating. So we had to leave and move round the corner to the Regaee mansion which had ace aircon and more space. Such a pity they don't just sort this out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Roommates is by far the best guesthouse I've stayed at in Asia.
I just love the way that I was greeted at the bus stop by yen ( works nights). He was carrying a 'do you want to be my Roomie' sign on Chulia street! Coupled with a Great smile, I went with him to have a look at the hostel. The place was quiet, clean and friendly and very near to food stalls, and attractions. The rooms were clean and I loved the way they designed the guesthouse to make it so cozy,

I would stay here again when I come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Small very lovely hostel with character and personal atmosphere. Very friendly, helpful and nothing which is left out. Big beds, plenty space to store your backpack under the bed, curtain at the beds, little shelf and power socket in your bed. Good showers. Nice interior. Good location. This hostel was created out of own travel experience, all the goodies brought together with style and heart.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

One of the smaller hostel I've stayed at but cozy and cheap. Location is convenient to explore the local sites in Georgetown. The beds are nice with hard mattresses (the way I prefer) providing a good rest. Getting to the top bunk can be a challenge and struggle after a long day or heavy night out but was not an issue. Rooms are kept clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice little hostel for a quick visit to Penang.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevanlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights to just do a quick sightseeing in Penang. This hostel has excellent location because it situated on Chulia and right in the heart of Georgetown so nothing is really far away.

I love the concept having curtains over the bed so you have your own privacy. The only thing I find is the height for the top bunk is really high up. You might need abit of monkey skill to climb up. The bed is solid so it won't shake and also the pillow and mattress is very comfortable and soft.

The AC won't turn on until 10pm at night, and after 10am it is shut off. The room gets hot in the afternoon and the Mosquitos are present.

The staff is super cool and you get to meet people at the lounge area, very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comicpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#31 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
House of Journey
House of Journey
#8 of 99 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 99 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
SIOK Hostel, Penang
SIOK Hostel, Penang
#3 of 99 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Time Capsule Hotel
Time Capsule Hotel
#77 of 99 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roommates Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roommates Penang

Property: Roommates Penang
Address: 17 B Lorong Chulia, George Town, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 99 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHO ARE WE and WHAT DO YOU GET WHEN STAYING WITH US??*18 century straits eclectic pre war shoplot - YES!*Experience staying in a classic heritage shop in Penang - YES!*Clean and comfortable- YES! *The place is so new you can even smell the paint- YES!*Guaranteed the Funnest guesthouse on the island- SOOO YES!*Value for money- YES!*So near to the heritage attractions, you can see it- YES!*So near to Penang Hawker food, you can smell it- YES!*SUPER Easy to get here by bus- YES! YES YES YES YES YES YES YES!!! :D We hope to having and seeing you real soon!Roommates Penang Guesthouse is housed in an 18th century refurbished ‘Straits Eclectic’ prewar shop lot centrally located within the core Heritage Zone of Georgetown, Penang. We are within walking distance to famous hawker food stalls like Chulia Street, Kimberly Street, shopping malls like Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue as well as morning markets like Chowrasta Market. All the ‘MUST SEE’ Heritage attractions within Penang are located around the guesthouse and can be easily explored by foot or by bicycle. We also offer bicycles for rent for the convenience of our guests. Roommates Penang is definitely the ‘smallest’, ‘newest’ and ‘funnest’ (we made this word up!) guesthouse on the island. Although the exterior and certain sections of the guesthouse still retains its prewar features, we did cracked our brains to come up with a simplistic yet modern interior so that you can fully enjoy an open concept guesthouse that only has a land space of 530 ft2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Roommates Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roommates Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing