We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but too hot - they need to sort out the aircon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roommates Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roommates Penang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice but too hot - they need to sort out the aircon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hostel is really nice - good location, great beds etc. but it's too hot. They don't turn the aircon on in the dorms till 10pm and its off at 6am. There is no aircon in the shared areas so the toilets are like saunas, the communal area too hot too. During the day we could not stay in the hostel at all as it was too hot. Even at night with the aircon on I lay in bed sweating. So we had to leave and move round the corner to the Regaee mansion which had ace aircon and more space. Such a pity they don't just sort this out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    37
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
19
66
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Roommates is by far the best guesthouse I've stayed at in Asia.
I just love the way that I was greeted at the bus stop by yen ( works nights). He was carrying a 'do you want to be my Roomie' sign on Chulia street! Coupled with a Great smile, I went with him to have a look at the hostel. The place was quiet, clean and friendly and very near to food stalls, and attractions. The rooms were clean and I loved the way they designed the guesthouse to make it so cozy,

I would stay here again when I come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Small very lovely hostel with character and personal atmosphere. Very friendly, helpful and nothing which is left out. Big beds, plenty space to store your backpack under the bed, curtain at the beds, little shelf and power socket in your bed. Good showers. Nice interior. Good location. This hostel was created out of own travel experience, all the goodies brought together with style and heart.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

One of the smaller hostel I've stayed at but cozy and cheap. Location is convenient to explore the local sites in Georgetown. The beds are nice with hard mattresses (the way I prefer) providing a good rest. Getting to the top bunk can be a challenge and struggle after a long day or heavy night out but was not an issue. Rooms are kept clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice little hostel for a quick visit to Penang.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevanlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights to just do a quick sightseeing in Penang. This hostel has excellent location because it situated on Chulia and right in the heart of Georgetown so nothing is really far away.

I love the concept having curtains over the bed so you have your own privacy. The only thing I find is the height for the top bunk is really high up. You might need abit of monkey skill to climb up. The bed is solid so it won't shake and also the pillow and mattress is very comfortable and soft.

The AC won't turn on until 10pm at night, and after 10am it is shut off. The room gets hot in the afternoon and the Mosquitos are present.

The staff is super cool and you get to meet people at the lounge area, very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comicpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The staff were chilling outside the porch and greeted me from afar, as i arrived from the Ferry from Langkawi island.
In my entire trip to Penang, i made plenty of friends here at Roommates, and i certainly enjoyed my self. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romeo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I was in Penang for the weekend and settled with Roommates after looking through multiple places to stay in the Island. In fact, I stumbled upon them by chance (a friend 'Liked' their Facebook page, and I decided to check them out).

Booking my bed in the dorm was easy. I just dropped them a message on Facebook and received speedy replies to my queries. The people at Roommates are really friendly and helpful too. Seeing it was my first trip to Penang alone, and relied solely on public transportation, the directions given by them was easy to understand and I travelled to and fro the guesthouse with no problems at all throughout my stay.

The place is really clean, and for someone who's got Regina Spektor in their playlist, that tops it all! ;)
Hangout at the lounge area and meet some really cool people!
If you are dropping by Roommates, say 'Hello' to the Swedish Guesthouse Mafia (heehee!) and the owner, Yen.

Roommates is strategically located in Lorong Chulia - approx. 15 min walk from the ferry jetty, less than 5 minutes walk to a street of food stalls, convenience shops and bus stop, and close to the UNESCO Heritage site. The guesthouse also provides information for 'lost tourists', without any fee. They've got a brilliant map on places around the hood to checkout and get grub too.

Thanks for the great weekend!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank royaltylites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#35 of 78 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 90 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
SIOK Hostel, Penang
SIOK Hostel, Penang
#3 of 90 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
House of Journey
House of Journey
#6 of 90 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dreamcatcher Traveller's Refuge
0.2 mi away
Couzi couji
Couzi couji
#5 of 90 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roommates Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roommates Penang

Property: Roommates Penang
Address: 17 B Lorong Chulia, George Town, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 90 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHO ARE WE and WHAT DO YOU GET WHEN STAYING WITH US??*18 century straits eclectic pre war shoplot - YES!*Experience staying in a classic heritage shop in Penang - YES!*Clean and comfortable- YES! *The place is so new you can even smell the paint- YES!*Guaranteed the Funnest guesthouse on the island- SOOO YES!*Value for money- YES!*So near to the heritage attractions, you can see it- YES!*So near to Penang Hawker food, you can smell it- YES!*SUPER Easy to get here by bus- YES! YES YES YES YES YES YES YES!!! :D We hope to having and seeing you real soon!Roommates Penang Guesthouse is housed in an 18th century refurbished ‘Straits Eclectic’ prewar shop lot centrally located within the core Heritage Zone of Georgetown, Penang. We are within walking distance to famous hawker food stalls like Chulia Street, Kimberly Street, shopping malls like Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue as well as morning markets like Chowrasta Market. All the ‘MUST SEE’ Heritage attractions within Penang are located around the guesthouse and can be easily explored by foot or by bicycle. We also offer bicycles for rent for the convenience of our guests. Roommates Penang is definitely the ‘smallest’, ‘newest’ and ‘funnest’ (we made this word up!) guesthouse on the island. Although the exterior and certain sections of the guesthouse still retains its prewar features, we did cracked our brains to come up with a simplistic yet modern interior so that you can fully enjoy an open concept guesthouse that only has a land space of 530 ft2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Roommates Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roommates Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing