We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fascinating place in Georgetown!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coffee Atelier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coffee Atelier
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating place in Georgetown!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

For the travellers who want to enjoy the relaxing old day’s atmosphere in Georgetown without missing comfort and style, the Coffee Atelier is the perfect place to stay and dine. Thanks to Stefan Gehrig and his wife Lorina, these five interlinked “shophouses” (from 1927) at Steward Line 55 have been brought back to life thanks to a carefully managed mix between preservation and restoration. Stefan’s other passions are photography, arts and – well, coffee. What a great way to wake up in the morning! Birds are singing in the Peranakan-style backyard, the art gallery just next door, and the smell from coffee-roasting from that original wood-fired oven and its roasting equipment is still in the air.

Manfred & Emma

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and glad you had a good time - hope to see you both soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    38
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
63
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I went to Penang with another couple and had booked two nights at the Coffee Atelier for a weekend trip. Having read many reviews about the place and seen the photos, I was really excited about our stay and I hoped that my high expectations would not be disappointed. Fortunately, we ended up having a great time!

The Coffee Atelier consists of five old Chinese shop houses next to each other - two have two suites each, one has a little gallery, one has the reception / greeting area and the corner one hosts the actual café which would also be the place where we had breakfast.

We had initially booked the two upstairs suites (in two houses next to each other) but switched to occupy a full house for ourselves. The suites have all the necessary amenities without destroying the charm of the old shop houses - this means that you do have AC, fans, a flatscreen TV (never used - why would you need this in Penang?), a fridge etc but the paint on the wall or the wooden stairs was left in its original style. The furniture was early 20th century Chinese style, the bed was super comfortable and the bathrooms were wide and open.

Our breakfast was delicious and we did enjoy the coffee a lot.

We enjoyed our stay in Penang a lot and having the Coffee Atelier as a base was just perfect due to its central location and the friendly staff. We ended up having drinks at the end of the night in front of our house and were very glad we explored this beautiful spot for a weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and glad that you had a good time! See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

cool lime juice from charming Ruby Lynn upon arrival ... Beautifully presented clean and comfortable rooms, roomy bathroom, generous breakfast and lovely people. Just a stroll from Little India, Cheong Fatz Zee mansion and the waterfront etc etc. Great restaurant and cafe too. You gotta stay here. (Traveling with my adult daughter). Another nice feature was the cotton bathrobes and good coffee in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you again for staying with us and glad that you enjoyed your time in Penang and at our place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Exceedingly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Suite furnished with beautiful Chinese antique furniture, modern glass sculpture in the entrance room, modern AC, satellite TV, DVD player and HD TV. Queen bed with netting but no mosquitos. Located in the center of the George Town World Heritage area. Great breakfast and cappuccino in the morning.

Room Tip: Upstairs suites have a huge master bedroom and small second bedroom. Downstairs suites have one bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our recent 4 nights at the Coffee Atelier far exceeded our expectations. Our room was really an apartment each room decorated with period furniture. Check-in was fast and efficient. The owner was there to welcome us with a refreshing drink. The breakfast was delicious and the cappuccino divine. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The downstairs were for two people and the upstairs rooms had two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaarrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a hotel across the road and visited here many times. They serve a mix of local and western food and a great drinks selection also. Great food and service and with the air cond a welcome relief from the heat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ratbagx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Staying in a traditional shophouse was high on our agenda whilst in Georgetown, Penang. The Coffee Atelier was ideal. Great location. The breakfast in their own cafe was better than expected. Stefan, our host, was very helpful. We (3) were pleased to have chosen this accommodation rather than a standard hotel room. Not much point going to a UNESCO site without experiencing just why this place is so special. The coffee served here was excellent as well. Even better after visiting the on site coffee museum which explained the previous function of this "shop house".

Don't rely on a taxi to know its location though. We found it easier to just get a taxi to Love Lane and just walk from there using our own map.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 79 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 79 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#21 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#7 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffee Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Atelier

Property: Coffee Atelier
Address: 47 - 55 Lorong Stewart, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in George Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coffee Atelier 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COFFEE ATELIER is located right in the core zone of George Town, Penang, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.It comprises a collection of five beautifully restored early 20th century shophouses. Today it houses an eclectic mix of a restaurant, an art gallery, a coffee museum and suites which are fully appointed with all modern amenities for short or long term stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Coffee Atelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coffee Atelier Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing