We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coffee Atelier
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La(George Town)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
$147
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$58
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yeng Keng Hotel(George Town)
$100
$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$52
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$45
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
$48
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cititel Penang(George Town)
$70
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
$129
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muntri Mews(George Town)
$103
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
180
49
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
49
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroommosquito netunusual hotelcoffee museumdownstairs suiteperson suiteshort corridorlovely plantsgreat breakfast selectionprivate courtyardcharacterful hotelclothes washeddressing rooman art galleryrenovated housefirst floorantique furniture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 235 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This special place in the middle of the heart of Georgetown is not easy to find and somehow not easy to reach but if you have once been there you won't easily leave it.

It does not matter how you call it even though it is classified as boutique hotel. The rooms a built in four shop houses which are besides each other. Lovely rennovated with every room in a different style and a high attention to detail. A small gallery and a nice cozy restaurant belong to the hotel as well. The hotel is managed by a lovely swiss/hongkong chinese couple with great passion and always the view for a customer. This is even more to highlight as both do not have any background on hospitality...and this makes the different. Its not business ...it passion by heart.

The restaurant is another oasis you hardly find in Malaysia and maybe not even often in Asia. You can have a good breakfast with all you need, a simple straight but super tasty lunch...but the best of all is the "Tapas Style" menu. You have a choice of over 50 dishes...and actually you dont know what to choose first. Whatever I have tried it was just simply "yummy"... great braised beef cheek, sizzling prawns, tasty grilled eggplant, flavorfull grilled pork ribs, teriyaki salmon or or or... I make it simple go there and eat and you know what I mean. You can combine the great food with a nice bottle of wine. They do have a fair selection of international wines (try the spanish) and super fair priced.

I can only recommend the place go to Lorong Stewart, sit outside in one of the Rattan Chairs and enjoy Penang life... you will surely miss something if you dont try it out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_gh0strider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

at coffee atelier, i love that i get to live like the locals do in georgetown. it's like staying in an old house with attention to modern detail such as the dvd player, gryphon tea satchets and the toilet + shower area. i stayed in the ground suite with a courtyard. the suite has retained a lot of the old penang charm, which provides a much different holiday experience as compared to staying in a proper hotel. location is great and close to many attractions. staff were very friendly and helpful as well!

Room Tip: ground floor suites come with courtyard
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twitchhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great boutique hotel with excellent location and friendly staff/owners Our family stayed for 3 nights and we had a whole house for ourselves (ground floor for parents, 1st floor for our 3 kids).The owners (a Hong Kong and Swiss couple) renovatedthe whole building in a “soft” way. You can still experience the “old feel” and charmof a bygone area, without missing modern amenities like AC,TV, Shower, WiFi etc.The suites were nicely furnished and we felt like living in an old Chinese Shophouse. If you would liketo stay in a heritage boutique hotel -this is your choice. We foundthe location right inthe middleofthe GeorgeTown’s historic Heritage Zone just perfect. All majortourist attractions are within easy walking distance. Intheir adjoining restaurant they are serving delicious coffees and excellent food (tapas). Our kids just lovedtheir desserts! The owner andthe staff were very personal and helpful and always hadtime for a chat.They helped usto organize a fewtrips andtheir recommendations were just perfect. We would definitely staythere again and can highly recommendthe placeto anytraveler.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philippe-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Read about the place when it first started some time ago, and decided to give it a try to experience the different type of restored cultural buildings in Georgetown.

Coffee Atelier consists of a row of 4 shophouses, double storied. The corner lot is an in-house cafe restaurant, while the other 3 are accomodation.

Booked 2 units of rooms for my family, with the intention of being in the same shophouse unit. Upon arrival, the owner asked if we mind splitting into 2 upper floor units, as the the lower flrs have been occupied. Well not a problem for us !

The room is just as expected - original condition, not dilapidated, but restored to its original glory. The furnitures are not from the olden days, but constructed to mirror the architecture from the days. It's a spacious bedroom, and the complimentary 2nd room is a smallish unit but sufficient to fit 2 more people.

The owners - a German and a HK lady, they are absolutely lovely too. I'm from Malaysia, and they know more of the localities compared to me ! They take the time to chat and catch up with you, and it's heartening to see there are interested parties whom are not from the country, whom are just as enthused to preserve the local heritage and culture.

There are a plenty food choices in the vicinity being smacked in the midst of Georgetown, Coffee Atelier located just behind the Chinese temple, and just across from Love Lane and Muntri Lane. Spoilt for choices literally. You should try the local in-house restaurant too, love the meal set and the energizing fruit juices !

Not a posh swank place if that's what you're looking for, but i just love the place for what it is.. the simple but absolutely full of character as per the olden days!

Thank you for the memorable stay !

Room Tip: The upper floor has 2 rooms, good for family. Or book the entire unit of lower and upper floor, it will be like your own private enclave :)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugusmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stay here went I went for a business trip to Penang. It was recommended by a local friend. It was no regret staying there. It's really show tourist who and what Penang is all about. The coffee and cake at the cafe was fantastic. I bought some to my friend house at Bukit Mertajam. Everyone love the cakes. Keep it up and wish to return soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews