We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant stay - good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocoa Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cocoa Mews
Ranked #36 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay - good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in the Standard Double Bed Private Shared Bathroom which was quite small and had no window. The internet was intermittent. The place was clean, quiet, had personality, great location (little india), one set of stairs. Great servoce - the two guys were always helpful and rarely there was noone there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitegreycat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    55
    17
    9
    10
See reviews for
3
77
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mataram, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

It's my first time travelling abroad, and I glad to choose Cocoa Mews for 2 days at Georgetown. The staff were very friendly, informative and help me everything about Georgetown. Show me the best place for eat, and what to see, the transportation, and even helped me to book a ticket. The facilities are good and worth the money I spent there. My room had a DVD player,to spend my time when I get too tired exploring the city. The atmosphere were great, but the only thing I regret is the signboard that a little bit hidden and first time I try to find it, I passed it. I definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardiansyah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Cocoa Mews is certainly very affordable and in a great location in Little India, with easy access to delicious food. The beds probably need an upgrade and it can be quite noisy so bring earplugs. We thought the guest house could benefit with a communal area where visitors can interact. The staff member Arthur was fantastic – very friendly, helpful and informative. He deserves a thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hostel is located in the heart of the Little India area of Georgetown, with good quality (and cheap) local eateries virtually next door. The dorm was nice and cool, with two air con units, though the mattresses were a little tired. The staff were the real stars of this place though - very welcoming, informative, and always ready to chat and suggest places to go and how to get there. The 'fruit of the day' was a really nice touch :) I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If in the dorm, one bed is directly beneath one of the aircon units - a cool but noisy and breezy ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratbort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The staff were very welcoming, wanted you to have a great time. Offered advice on where to eat, drink and what to see. Offering you tea or coffee when you arrive, had local fruits for you to try.
I was in a dorm room - clean and locker to keep valuables, excellent value for money. Facility for Laundry only 6 ringgit per kg.
Two showers connected to dorm room, only drawback was the toilet is downstairs a bit of a thought in the middle of the night.
Location excellent, great restaurants nearby!
Wonderful atmosphere, would definitely stay here again if back in Penang.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0406MAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed 4 nights, Me+wife+3 kids+in-laws, in three of Cocoa Mews rooms. We have all travelled budget-consciously in much of asia and the rooms and facilities are good or better than what you can expect from the price. The location is fantastic. Great places to eat and lots to see right outside the door.

Howie and the others are most friendly and will give great answers to all your questions. The reastaurants they suggest really are great :) . If you are interested in hearing about ordinary life in Malaysia, they also seem to always have time to answer and discuss your questions about anything.

We really enjoyed staying here and hope we managed to keep the kids realatively quiet at critical hours. Only drawback with Cocoa Mews are the thin walls, so keep that in mind if you are noise-sensitive. We had rooms at the stairs and none of us were bothered by people coming and going, though. Cocoa Mews is in a heritage house, and therefore no permanent walls may be erected and the wooden floor cannot be changed as per regulations for the old heritage buildings. But as stated, it didn't bother us and nobody there mentioned it as a problem.

Howie is a great host and Cocoa Mews was the best place we stayed in our month in Malaysia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larsvilhelmsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This was one of our most wonderful stays during our 7 month trip through asia! We had such a wonderful time here.
Although the facilities are a bit basic, it's clean and nothing to worry about.
it's really the people (both guests and staff) and the atmosphere here that made our stay here one to remember.
Howie, the manager is a really nice guy, he really made an effort to make you feel at home. The fruittasting, and all other kinds of food he made us try were really nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnoud-adutchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Just Inn
Just Inn
#10 of 170 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#20 of 170 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#52 of 170 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
D Mo Inn
D Mo Inn
#53 of 170 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ros Heritage Motel
Ros Heritage Motel
#77 of 170 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muntri House
Muntri House
#29 of 170 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Mews

Property: Cocoa Mews
Address: 101 Lebuh King, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocoa Mews 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Cocoa Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing