We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocoa Mews

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocoa Mews
Ranked #39 of 168 George Town B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hostel is located in the heart of the Little India area of Georgetown, with good quality (and cheap) local eateries virtually next door. The dorm was nice and cool, with two air con units, though the mattresses were a little tired. The staff were the real stars of this place though - very welcoming, informative, and always ready to chat and suggest places to go and how to get there. The 'fruit of the day' was a really nice touch :) I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If in the dorm, one bed is directly beneath one of the aircon units - a cool but noisy and breezy ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratbort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    53
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
2
70
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The staff were very welcoming, wanted you to have a great time. Offered advice on where to eat, drink and what to see. Offering you tea or coffee when you arrive, had local fruits for you to try.
I was in a dorm room - clean and locker to keep valuables, excellent value for money. Facility for Laundry only 6 ringgit per kg.
Two showers connected to dorm room, only drawback was the toilet is downstairs a bit of a thought in the middle of the night.
Location excellent, great restaurants nearby!
Wonderful atmosphere, would definitely stay here again if back in Penang.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0406MAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed 4 nights, Me+wife+3 kids+in-laws, in three of Cocoa Mews rooms. We have all travelled budget-consciously in much of asia and the rooms and facilities are good or better than what you can expect from the price. The location is fantastic. Great places to eat and lots to see right outside the door.

Howie and the others are most friendly and will give great answers to all your questions. The reastaurants they suggest really are great :) . If you are interested in hearing about ordinary life in Malaysia, they also seem to always have time to answer and discuss your questions about anything.

We really enjoyed staying here and hope we managed to keep the kids realatively quiet at critical hours. Only drawback with Cocoa Mews are the thin walls, so keep that in mind if you are noise-sensitive. We had rooms at the stairs and none of us were bothered by people coming and going, though. Cocoa Mews is in a heritage house, and therefore no permanent walls may be erected and the wooden floor cannot be changed as per regulations for the old heritage buildings. But as stated, it didn't bother us and nobody there mentioned it as a problem.

Howie is a great host and Cocoa Mews was the best place we stayed in our month in Malaysia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larsvilhelmsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This was one of our most wonderful stays during our 7 month trip through asia! We had such a wonderful time here.
Although the facilities are a bit basic, it's clean and nothing to worry about.
it's really the people (both guests and staff) and the atmosphere here that made our stay here one to remember.
Howie, the manager is a really nice guy, he really made an effort to make you feel at home. The fruittasting, and all other kinds of food he made us try were really nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnoud-adutchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Si Thammarht, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked to stay at Cocoa Mews for three nights originally but extended the stay an extra night as we had such a good time in Georgetown and at Cocoa Mews. The staff are so welcoming and helpful - offering advice on places to eat, bus routes and things to see and do. There were a few occasions in the night when we could hear people walking loudly in the corridors but it is an old heritage house so it is perhaps to be expected. We were on a visa run from Thailand and the staff at Cocoa Mews advised us to get an agent to do all the leg work so we could just relax and enjoy Georgetown. So glad we did as it only cost 30 RM each extra and we had all the time to explore instead of going to and from the Thai consulate. Little India is an excellent location to stay- delicious, cheap food, beautiful architecture and a great atmosphere. This is now on my list of places to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

First the good things: the location , I stayed at the dorm section of this hotel for 3 nights (13-16 Dec). The location is right in the heart of georgetown (little india) from where you could walk to major places of attraction (within the george town area). Also the place is close to eateries and bus stand... Then air conditioned room at a very affordable price (around RM 25 per day).

Now the drawbacks: the beds have real poor quality mattresses (low density foam) and my back ached heavily in the mornings. The blanket they provided was just half-size- enough to cover just the legs ( was shivering away the whole night on the first day, till someone switched off the a/cs).The WiFi is free but is excruciatingly slow (and thus of little use), so I used my own wireless modem instead. Being housed in a heritage building (as written on their notices), the walls are thin-wood partitioned and you could even hear the whisper from the other room. At night found it really difficult to sleep.

I would advise travellers to choose this hotel for location and price but not to expect much in terms of facilities. However, if the hotel could improve on few things (the problems mentioned above) it would be a convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sameerkr03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We arrived quite late and were greeted by Howie whose enthusiasm and friendliness made us feel right at home. The restaurants he recommended were spot on and he really went the extra mile to make sure all his guests were happy and comfortable, even going as far as taking us out for breakfast which he paid for out of his own pocket. He really made the stay memorable.

The hotel was great value for money and very clean and comfortable. The location is very good, being within walking distance of all the major sights and is easy to reach from the bus station. I'd also highly recommend you try Kapitan restaurant on the corner of the street for really good cheap Indian food,

Overall I couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkthisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Ros Heritage Motel
Ros Heritage Motel
#51 of 168 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.6 mi away
28 Bahari
28 Bahari
#22 of 168 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#20 of 168 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Just Inn
Just Inn
#15 of 168 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
D Mo Inn
D Mo Inn
#48 of 168 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guest Inn Muntri
Guest Inn Muntri
#66 of 168 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Mews

Property: Cocoa Mews
Address: 101 King Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocoa Mews 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Cocoa Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing