We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind hosts but don't book transport through them”
Review of Cocoa Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cocoa Mews
Ranked #33 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kind hosts but don't book transport through them”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Had an excellent stay here for a few days. Looi and Wan were extremely helpful and always good natured. They helped us plan our time in Georgetown

The rooms are very clean and nicely sized. For our first night we had a room with a window on the street. We moved to an interior room because of the street noise and not because there is an abbatoir across the road (as the first review says). There is a big difference between an abbatoir and a butchery and there are no unpleasant sites.

Cocoa is well located for exploring Georgetown and is in easy walking distance of most of the sites.

The only negative with our stay was leaving. We booked our onward journey to Singapore through Cocoa. The bus company we used (newsia) were not very good and didn't explain that we would only be deposited on the edge of Singapore.

Other than that, very recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    55
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
3
79
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
korea
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

people running the place are dishonest,they charged me more than their website quoted..
this place also lists on hostel world and if anyone gives them a bad review it gets deleted.
better value places in chulia street.

Room Tip: go to hostels in chulia street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonga77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hostel/guesthouse has all the qualities that are important to me when I'm traveling. While not super flashy (but I'm not sure anything on Penang is?) the place is impeccably maintained and is situated in the historic heart of the town. Given how hot and humid it can be in Penang it was great to stay in a place that has legitimate A/C. The showers too are really nice compared to typical backpackers place. I can't speak for those who want to stay in a private room, but if you're a backpacker and you want a quiet spot to get some rest and relax this is your place. Also, the hosts seem like pretty good people, they were able to answer all my questions about the island and helped me book onward transportation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I've worked in hospitality exclusively for the last 2 years, and I will be the first to admit that it can be hard to genuine to every single guest coming in, but that's exactly what Wan and Looi were. This particular place, Cocoa Mews, is the newest in Georgetown, and the cleanliness of it represents exactly that. But that doesn't mean that the owners, Looi and Wan, are new to hospitality: they've been running hostels for over 3 years together. And the thing that impressed me the most was that they haven't lost the passion for meeting new people and making their stay as comfortable as possible. In my experience, I lost that quicker than I thought I would, and the fact they haven't speaks to the type of people they are. The place is cleaner than any place I've stayed, the location is great, the price is more than fair, and Wan and Looi are genuine about their commitment to you and your stay. There is not a single negative thing to say. If you're coming to Georgetown, stay here.

Room Tip: The entire hostel is new, so there is no preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDREW C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2012

It's pretty much perfect. The only downside being it can be a little noisy if the other guests are inconsiderate because this lovely little place has genuine wooden flooring.
The Staff, Looi and Wan are excellent people and do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible and have a wealth of knowledge of Penang. I wholly recommend it.

Room Tip: Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This place is awesome. An excellent place with everything you need, it makes you feel so comfortable, also very well up keep, heritage atmosphere, very good location. ( In little India yet near to china town. Can see the famous Muslim mosque. it's just happens within a 100 meter street.

Friendly and helpful staffs. Good food, reasonable price and too many good things to say about the place. I would definitely come back for sure.

Mark

Room Tip: Room 2. Which with heritage window and king street view. The entrance is away from walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Planned to stay 8 nights, but managed only 2, had a room with a window and had a great view of the goat abbotoir over the road. The road is noisy 24 hours a day, and the windows dont dampen the sound one bit. The walls to next door room are paper thin and you can hear everything the guests there say and do! The bathing facilities involve a walk past the reception area, which was usually filled with 'friends and hangers-on' who would all stop thier conversation to stare as I walked past, then there would be a comment followed by stifled laughter, which adds to the general feeling of 'uncomfortable-ness'. There are many better, cheaper, more welcoming places to stay in Penang, I would recomend you AVOID this one.

Room Tip: If you really must stay here, (someone would have to hold a gun to my head to make me go back), choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Just Inn
Just Inn
#14 of 170 in George Town
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#22 of 170 in George Town
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny Side
Sunny Side
#22 of 115 in George Town
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Muntri House
Muntri House
#26 of 170 in George Town
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#48 of 170 in George Town
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Magpie Residence
Magpie Residence
#10 of 170 in George Town
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Mews

Property: Cocoa Mews
Address: 101 Lebuh King, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocoa Mews 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Cocoa Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing