We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low density hotel with heritage deco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1881 Chong Tian Hotel
Ranked #69 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
KL
1 review
“Low density hotel with heritage deco”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I personally think that the price is still reasonable as it's a low density hotel with only 11 rooms, we have more privacy during our stay. Can't really compare with the big name hotels. Each room deco with local antiques n theme, the room is spacious too. Location is great, easy to get public buses.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilyksl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
30
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford Uk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Let me start by saying that I am a fortunate "traveller".
I get the opportunity, for business, to stay in some "nice" hotels.
So maybe my “expectations” are a little high.

I caught a glimpse on a TV travel programme of a feature on the 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang, which looked impressive and led me to their web-site.

"Presenting the first and only luxury gateway to 19th century Chinatown of Penang....." is how their website describes their Hotel.

“ the open air roof top bar oversees a breath-taking panoramic view of iconic Georgetown” sounds perfect for pre-dinner glass of champagne or G & T.

I booked two nights in their “top” Seah Suite and was asked to pay. OK. RM 998 per night, (about USD 320).

More expensive than then a suite at the Eastern & Oriental which is very close and an adorable hotel.

More expensive than an executive room at the beautiful Shangri-La’s Rasa Sayang Resort, which is also in Penang.

But OK, it is a special occasion and I wanted to try somewhere new and different.

Big mistake!

First disappointment on arrival was to be informed that the roof top bar was closed as there were problems with noise.

Why was I not informed of this when making the reservation?

When I asked about where to have a pre-dinner drink was told only option was the restaurant or a Karaoke room……not what we had in mind!

Let me just say that I know that this is a “Heritage” hotel and therefore is going to be “different” .

The “luggage only” lift was amusing and the steep stairs to the first floor in “character” with the age of the building.

When entering our room the first thing that hit you was the pungent and musky smell.
Never mind I’d read on the website that the suite had an “court yard bathroom” so we could easily open a few windows and air the place….wrong. The “court yard bathroom” is enclosed completely.

Open the windows and you over look the kitchen store area and the entrance to the ground floor loo’s!

“furnished with priceless 19th century unique…..” with no where to hang anything?

The décor was appalling. Large damp patches on the walls. Strange looking “slim marks” in the bathroom. Dangerous looking sockets next to the sink.

But what was the real “clincher”, in making the decision that we could not stay in this hotel, was the strange looking “mouldy fungi” growing on the window frames. It looked decidedly unhealthy!

So despite having pre-paid we left without even turning down the bed sheets…………

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TonyOxfordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed at 1881 for 4 nights, and was treated with an excellent service. The rooms are spacious and have a unique feel. The restaurant is fantastic and very reasonably priced. Close to local heritage sites. Highly recommend 1881 if you are after a Penang heritage experience.

Room Tip: depends on your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt123Geog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel--you're only blocks away from Little India, China Town, and just a short rickshaw ride to the other places to see. It's also a short walk to the bus station, where you can get a bus to anything outside of walking distance, like Penang Hill and Batu Feringhi.

The decor is amazing--it feels like you're staying in a museum! Our room was comfortable, with great little extra touches, like a tea station and great air con.

The staff is always friendly and helpful. We needed non-feather pillows, and they got some for us quickly. They were also always ready with a good restaurant recommendation. 100% of the places they recommended were fantastic. Just make sure that at night you walk down Jalan Campbell instead of Jalan Chulia. Some "ladies of the night" come out on Jalan Chulia.

I wish that they had breakfast included--even something simple, like an assortment of breads, fruit and coffee. I also wish that they had told us to avoid Jalan Chulia at night! We had to learn that the hard way!

We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to see the old town of Georgetown.

Room Tip: We had room 2, which was a HUGE room for the four of us (two parents, two kids). It was a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

One word to describe this hotel" Thumbs Up".Let's start my journey story...first I stay in this 1881 Chong Tian Hotel that located at Rope walk.It is the main town area in penang.It special interior and exterior design totally catch my feeling..when I direct walk in to this hotel,the receptionist was so friendly and manners to serve me. After compare with others hotel like yeng keng,campbell house,banana and etc..my final decision is to stay at 1881 Chong Tian Hotel.I can get the cultural feeling if compare to other hotels.The others hotel is too modern and even totally not cultural.Oh yes,one more things...from the receptionist information i knows that 1881 Chong Tian Hotel currently get first prize winner of the most cultural hotel among asia pacific .For those who really want to enjoy this feeling i recommend you to this hotel.it totally can;t compare with other hotels nearby there.I was check in to standard room Room 7.First,the hotel owner maintain the wood stairs and the courtyard,so it will be a bit hot because is open air. One more,there have a retro lift but just provide to our laugage..haha..i thinking to try but not allow to use it.After enter to the room,WOOW...I LIKE IT.THIS IS WHAT I WANT!!! The room decoration is so amazing...the bed so comfortable and etc.once you open the window,you can feel that look like staying in a village.The morning sun and the fresh air...woww....!! No more word can describe to this hotel anymore...i love it...i will be back and recommend to my relatives and friends. I hope that my next time trip i can meet up to this hotel owner,and if i not mistaken i think the owner name is Mr Seah,SALUTE to you MR SEAH!!

Room Tip: Check on the room picture before make decision because the room design is too attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jolinkarista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This has got to be one of the worst hotels i've ever stayed in. The room smelt the bathroom was dirty there was nowhere to hang clothes the lift was not for guests only luggage. there was no breakfast. Arriving back one evening the lights in my room didn't work. It was a sort of Chinese Faulty Towers.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just explored this superb awesome and historical hotel in Georgetown. There are 11 different kind of decoration of rooms which are full of antiques. The gorgeous design makes me feel like goes back to 100 years ago with the classic music. The location is really awesome which is really a heritage place. The hotel is also very considerate. They provide car jockey due to the lack space of parking lot, which means that we're not worry about to find the parking lot by delaying our time to explore more awesome place.

A good service is definitely important to me as in wanted to enjoy my holiday. They also provided good service by fulfill my demand effectively, with a great friendly smile too. Besides, the friendly staff does explain to me each of their antiques.

There is also a Chinese restaurant at the ground floor. Their Chinese cuisine is really delicious with “ Nyonya” style. I personally loves it. I would definitely bring my friends and family to visit here again by sharing this awesome historical building.

To show filial respect to old ones, we can bring them to here. I think they would definitely loves it as in the ambiance is really nice and comfortable. Of course to the youngster would loves it too because they would like to enjoy the historical place as in they could experience the back in time like me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelvin_lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Penaga
Hotel Penaga
#16 of 84 in George Town
669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#6 of 84 in George Town
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Court The Tavern
Chulia Court The Tavern
#32 of 170 in George Town
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Betel Nut Lodge
Betel Nut Lodge
#5 of 170 in George Town
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
23 Love Lane
23 Love Lane
#16 of 170 in George Town
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yeng Keng Hotel
Yeng Keng Hotel
#8 of 84 in George Town
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1881 Chong Tian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1881 Chong Tian Hotel

Property: 1881 Chong Tian Hotel
Address: 38 40, 42 Jalan Pintal Tali, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 1881 Chong Tian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1881 Chong Tian Hotel is the Chinese Culture hotel and is the first of its kind in Malaysia. Housed within a century plus year old building, it was also previously known as Chong Tian Hotel back in 1881. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 1881 Chong Tian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing