We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great budget choice!”
Review of The Small Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Small Inn
Ranked #83 of 169 George Town B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A great budget choice!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is not a pretty classical building that Georgetown is renowned for, but if you want a cheap and decent hotel room that has solid walls and offers a good night's sleep, this is a great choice. It is close to most of the attractions, quiet at night time and the staff are very friendly. It is slightly set back from the road, so difficult to see at first, walk down Kimberly until you almost reach Carnarvon Street and you will see it. Also, there is a great dim sum place for breakfast just up the road on Kimberly and Tali called Leong Kee Dim Sum. Rooms are basic, but fine, bathrooms okay too and for this kind of money I don't think you will find much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pastygringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We quite satisfied the condition of the room. We had double bed room with clean bed sheet, had hot water heater, LCD TV, towels etc. We felt that it was value for travelling as couples with the price of room only RM58! Somemore, staff were friendly and helpful!

The hotel situated in Georgetown and only needs 2 to 5 mins walking distances from KOMTAR to the hotel. The hotel also located in the heritage sites. It was very convenient to visit the old buildings and try delicious Penang food.

We will stay there if we have second chance go to Georgetown again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Winxlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Small Inn and stayed again on our return visit through Georgetown. Travelling as a couple we felt that it was value for money, room had tv, aircon, hot shower etc. Very clean and staff friendly and welcoming. They also helped book our onward travel to Cameron Highlands.

Location is the only slight compromise, as we found most of the things we wanted to see/do were in the northern part of the town, about 7-8minutes walk to nearest point...not massive, but loads of accommodation nearer.

If we went back to Georgetown we would absolutely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mat_Nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vientiane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This place is excellent! The location is perfect, it is five mins from Chulia st and 3 mins from Komptar, but u hardly see a tourist go past. The staff are as friendly as any i have come across in years of travel, they are always willing to help, are very honest(always give u a receipt) and will chat with you anytime day or night. They all have great local knowledge and can point you in the right direction. The price now is 58 ringit per night, for this you have a large , very clean room, double bed , clean new sheets, LCD TV ( 3 channels , movies, NG wild, and an asian channel, Air con, large spotless modern bathrooom and toilet, always warm water. My room was a street view and can get a little noisy but i knew this in the first place as there is road construction going on, this will be completed soon. Across the road is an indian food joint, 100 metres away there is tons of chinese food stalls, open most of the night, some all night. If u want your room cleaned just ask, if need new towels just ask, water also. This place is just really good value for those who want more than the usual backpacker offerings . I would recommend this Small Inn to anyone and any type of traveller.

Room Tip: since the roads are being worked on then any at the back will be quiter in the morning, mind u the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank crusadersrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#34 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#44 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#46 of 169 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollo Inn
Apollo Inn
#11 of 169 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Sixteen
Heritage Sixteen
#41 of 169 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Small Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Small Inn

Property: The Small Inn
Address: 19 Lebuh Kimberley, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Also Known As:
The Small Inn Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing