We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Budget Hotel, Good Location, Worth The Price”
Review of Super 8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Hotel
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Budget Hotel, Good Location, Worth The Price”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here w/ husband and 2 kids before went on cruising. Quite well for a budget hotel,very worth the price. We had a room with no windows. But the room was clean: clean bedsheets, clean wall-to-wall carpet, clean bathroom. They provided water dispenser w/ hot and cool water next to the elevator in every floor, and also coffee-tea in the room. The rooms are not quite sound-proof, so you can hear every sounds from the corridor. The surrounding environment was old-style residential building, very interesting if you like heritage buildings. Foodstalls and hawkers are near, and it is only a few blocks away from a big mall (can't remember the name). The minus part is the pub next to the hotel, which is pretty noisy at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jooneek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    38
    41
    14
    9
See reviews for
28
24
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

For the price, everything is ok except the bath towel is bad. Brownish and not water absorbing. Feels like it has been soak in oil before or maybe it is not coton. I got a replacement towel and still the same problem. Hope the management will pay attention to this issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Recommended for those traveller travel with car at penang.
Room is big with clean and nice bathroom.
Pillow is small and not very comfy.I know this is not expensive hotel,but at least please give more comfort pillow to guest as pillow is one important part to make your guest happy while staying there.
Attention to the management,your bathroom water is a bit fluffy.I only shower for not more than 3 minutes then water start to reach my ankle.Hope u can fix this.
Parking lot is available.
No need to complain much as i think it's value for money we spent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButtermilkHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

we were given a 'cell' during our stay there.. there were no windows in our room. the sheets were smelly especially at the area where we rested our heads.
the toilets were clean though but you will need to bring ur own toiletries.
i wouldnt stay there if i can help it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judithgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Staff is not friendly, some rooms do not have windows and the bed sheets were not very clean although the bathroom was clean and the shower was great! The Hotel is in a strange area and you should not walk around alone there after darkness especially not as a woman! It is about 20 min walking distance from all the sights and also from the main road where all the bars are.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with window and non smoking althoough i had the feeling that there was smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmunz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A very good budget hotel, first of all I would like to say If I have a chance to visit penang in the future and if I need to saty in a budget hotel, I will choose Super 8 again. even though the hotel is not located in the heart of george town but near to komtar (strategic center in pennag), and also next to 3 Shopping Malls. Our room was clean, but not very clean, the shower and bath was very good. We had only two problems: 1. There was a strong smell of cigar smoke in the room, we tried our best to remove it with keeping the windows open and ... but ... 2. There was no slippers in the room, it was very bad at the beggining...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sergioKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The location of the hotel is very near to Komtar and the other mall.Its a walking distance, but not recommended to walk alone at night. Local food can be found near the hotel. We stay at the double room without window and its really a nightmare for us, because of the smoking smell from the previous guest. We stay there for 3nights, from first day until last day the smell is still there even we open the door also cannot help. We ask for room changed, but too bad all the room is fully booked.
If without the smoking smell this hotel can consider good, clean and nice with the affordable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#47 of 84 in George Town
72 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#55 of 84 in George Town
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#35 of 84 in George Town
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eton Hotel
Eton Hotel
#48 of 84 in George Town
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Munlustay 88 Hotel
Munlustay 88 Hotel
#56 of 84 in George Town
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hotel

Property: Super 8 Hotel
Address: 81 Tye Sin Street, George Town, Penang Island 11050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing