We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Red Inn Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Inn Cabana
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This backpackers inn will be a very good choice for travellers on a budget
Located in Georgetown itself and might be abit difficult to find initially
The staff were friendly and the place was clean and the bed was comfy too
Room was big and spacious enough too
Only downside to the place was its buffet breakfast.
Not too worry bcoz, food is readily available just next to the Inn
A hawker centre with variety of local food to pig out from

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran_Chalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    30
    13
    20
See reviews for
10
30
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a difficult time searching for this place, in the late evening upon touch down (generally the roads in Penang are kept the same width, in between rows of post-war shop houses and there are many small roads, which makes it difficult to identify which roads we are driving on).

Overall, the price was reasonable, although we had to wait for the room service for about half an hour. Free flow of warm coffee/tea/plain water (as well as breakfast, although we wasn't too keen given the variety of choices in foods around) were available in the common room.

The place was conveniently located next to a food centre, as well as a Ge Tai (singers performing a mix of english, chinese, malay & etc songs). However, the music/noise continued every night that we stayed, often till late night & the floor boards creaked whenever someone walks by/around in their own room, with slight noises in the pipings/plumbing as well. This meant that our quality sleep were often compromised, which were placed of utmost importance to us.

The other point worth mentioning was - the slow speed of the free wi-fi available in any spot. The connection wasn't very stable, when I was attempting to surf the internet using my iphone/ google nexus 7.

The limited parking space in front of the Inn, was also horrible. The most significant incident was when we left our luggages in the car & walked to a nearby place for breakfast. We were horrified to find the car doors unlocked & the car shifted to a new parking lot, without our knowledge. The parking attendant found a way to unlock our car door, without our permission!

Also, the receptionist on night shift wasn't being very helpful when we arrived at the place but things changed for the better, when we checked out & left the place (a lady receiptionist attended to us).

All in all, this is a place to be recommended if you're looking for somewhere budgeted to bunk in with your friends (& to party your nights away).

Room Tip: If you're someone who likes a private bathroom, please ensure your room booked includes one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liveundheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

red inn cabana was a comfort place to stay...the place was clean, the price also worth it, close to every places that I want to visit in Penang (on foot, of course)...the staffs were friendly and it had a good wi-fi also...we can found many street food near the place, and about 5 minutes walk then we also found the best Nasi Kandar there...if I had the chance to go back to Penang, then I will stay again at red inn cabana...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nazraaulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Hostel in great location, rooms nice and clean with communal area in middle of rooms where breakfast is served.

Reasonable cost at 25rm per night but air con didn't work in room and only 1 of the lockable cupboards worked, others were broken.

Room was very noisy on the Friday night as it is right next to a food court, but was fine for the other 3 nights.

Hot showers, good wifi and free use of iMac downstairs.

Reception not very helpful, bit of an attitude but overall was good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaG2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for about 5 days and had an overall pleasant experience. It's a hostel place, with multiple dorm rooms. Most (if not all) bathrooms are not attached. For the price - 30 ringgit a night - it's not a bad deal! Breakfast is included, as well as free wifi (which is slow but usable). We stayed in an AC bunk bed room, which was great; the AC worked wonderfully and the beds were comfortable. I don't know what other reviewers are talking about - they provided us with towels, sheets, and toilet paper free of charge.

My biggest complaint would be that the staff locks the doors at midnight every night. If you're not back by then, or if for some reason you'd like to go out (to grab some snacks, have a smoke, whatever), it's quite a hassle to wake somebody up and have them open the doors for you.

Overall, though, it's a great place with friendly staff and a great location (10 minutes' walk to Little India as well as the ferry/bus station).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrysteFerrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

So this place is very cheap! Not even £10 a night and it includes breakfast.
So you wonder what the down side is,
Well shoes have to stay outside the building, not jut your room the whole building. There are bunk beds in the dorm the top bunks don't get lockers but the bottom ones do, so I guess they think robbers are too lazy to walk up the ladder. The toilets and showers are quite dim, not very bright lights and theyre not easy to find either. Make sure you bring your own towel, and ed sheet as well ad you have to pay for them, 5 ringgits, i know its not thr expensive but luckily i have a towel and a bed liner. If you loose either the towl or bed sheet its a 30 ringgit fine, each.
However there is breakfast included in that cheap price and free wifi. The location is right near a massive food court which has a great atmosphere and is next door to a chocolate boutique. Heaven.
We're about a 15 minute walk to the dock where you can catch a boat to another island which is handy.

Overall I personally wouldn't stay again but it's good experience

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amylora30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hostel centrally located. Stayed in dorm room with good beds and AC. Simple breakfast included. Not a party backpackerplace. Staff is mostly helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. I think it is great value for money, 25 RM for dorm bed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nipeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Inn Court
Red Inn Court
#18 of 112 in George Town
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
TIDO @ Penang
TIDO @ Penang
#22 of 112 in George Town
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
House of Journey
House of Journey
#7 of 112 in George Town
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roommates Penang
Roommates Penang
#15 of 112 in George Town
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#6 of 112 in George Town
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 112 in George Town
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Inn Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Inn Cabana

Property: Red Inn Cabana
Address: 22 Lebuh Leith, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 112 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Inn Cabana 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guesthouse features 19 rooms with 2 chill out areas. Where there is choice of varieties of private room types and Dormitory rooms. Red Inn Cabana is a warm and friendly, that welcomes travelers from all over the world. We have a wealth of experience in the industry and know what travelers value and need during their stay.Guest can relax in our courtyard or catch up with friends and family over the internet. Wi-Fi access is also available throughout the property. (FREE OF CHARGE)Trips and tours can also be booked at our reception, so don't be afraid to ask.Red Inn Cabana has various private room types are: single, double, twin and triple, and dormitory of 2 beds, 4 beds, 6 beds and 8 beds with shared or attached bathrooms that can accommodate a total of 70 people.Bed sheets and linen are provided and there is a choice of low and high budget for roomsAir-Conditioning rooms are available for your choosing.Bathrooms comes with 24hrs hot showers. Red Inn Cabana is located in the heart of Penang Island. We are 15 minutes walk from Penang Port Pengkalan Weld George Town. Bus stops at Lebuh Chulia that need 7 minutes walk to our Red Inn Cabana.If you like shopping then you can go along Jalan Penang or even Lebuh Chulia, were you can find and also taste a lot of different foods (Chinese,Indian,Malay and Peranakan)and merchandise.Georgetown also has a briliant nightlife and there are a whole host of clubs and late night bars where you can go out and party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Red Inn Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Inn Cabana Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing