We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, noisy singing at night”
Review of Red Inn Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Inn Cabana
oxford
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location, noisy singing at night”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a nice place with decent rooms and good showers. The breakfast is disappointing, there are no tables so you end up sitting on sofas with your plate balanced on your lap. Tesco Value marmalade and margarine for toast, although there is also fresh fruit and noodles.
There's hot and cold drinking water as well as tea and coffee all day which is good.
There was a lot of noise at night coming from the food court next door. We thought it was bad karaoke but it appears they are actually paid singers!
Overall it's good value though.

Room Tip: Pick the side away from the food court!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    29
    13
    19
See reviews for
10
29
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Only two of the shared bathrooms were completely renovated when I was there. I was told to shower in the unfinished bathrooms during my stay there. There was no where to hang your clothes in the bathrooms, and one of them didn't even have lights in it (It has open ceiling instead).

The room (with shared bathroom) was definitely over-priced at RM80+ per night. The blanket provided by the hotel looked old and worn out. My room was extremely noisy at night because of the outdoor karaoke in the hawker center beside. The singing didn't stop until 1am. It was also really noisy early in the morning because of the traffic and conversations from the street downstairs. It was as if they were just right next door to you!

The towels provided had stains on it. The receptionist replaced them with new ones unwillingly upon request. But still, the new towels smelled like mothballs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonYNg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Slovakia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We booked Deluxe Room with private bathroom.
The room was OK, was clean, renovated but very noisy as from outside also from inside. During the night we couldn't sleep since the food court next to us (Red Garden) was having Live Music.... So take ear plugs! mosquito's repellent must be, because as in the room also in the living room you will get beaten by them in no time.

The private bathroom, was looking very bad, I think they were still renovating it....

Positive:
- coffee, tea, drinking water available anytime in the living room (free)
- breakfast - fruit, bread, jam, butter, noodles, ...
- WiFi- stable and quiet fast
-Laundry - 5MYR/Kilo (wash, dry)
- receptionist- helpful lady
-location - close to Indian and Chinese quarter, next to Food Court and public buses

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felllicita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Ok so for £14 a night I didnt expect the Ritz but I did expect the place to at least be finished! The photos do not match what the 'hotel' (hostel) actually looks like. Their so called 'Spa' is a building site, it is not finished and I had to shower in an unfinished disgusting room with about 5 men outside! The breakfast is bad, you are lucky to get a piece of toast and there is nowhere to sit when eating it. Also had dirty bed sheets and its very noisy at night..feels like an earthquake when someone walks past your room! The location was good and wi-fi seemed ok but apart from that i would avoid!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CJCJ2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borneo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Towel : yes
Toiletries : no
Minibar : no (coffee & tea available at main hall area)
Restaurant : no (next door is the nite food court centre with plenty of choice to eat & drink-nearby also there is a lot of coffee shop & hawkers)
Hot shower : yes
Wifi : yes & free

Room is clean & comfortable but might want to bare the feet smells after the housekeeping have lean the room up, after awhile the smell will disappear or you will get used to the smell. Area is quite close by to almost everything you need from food, sightseeing, transport. Laundry service is available at th check-in counter or if you're the adventurous type just a block away you can find a laundry shop also, bare in mind that Sunday some laundry service only operates half day but there is 1 laundry shop that operates on Sunday till 9pm.

It is also walking distance to Komtar or Prangin Mall or 1st Avenue. If you plan to travel to the borderline country such as Hatyai you can arrange with the check-in counter at the hotel as they can arrange the pick up from the hotel, same goes for trip going down to KL so no hassle of going down to the terminal & prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: Room away from the food court is better if you plan to have an early night rest as there is always a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pimpmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed in a dorm and those are just rooms as part of the hotel. I thought it was a nice looking place in a good area. The only reason I moved to another hostel was because my dorm was empty all the time and I found it difficult to meet other travellers here.

Clean, good breakfast options and hot showers. The only complaint is that my blanket looked more a like 150x150 cm towel. Extra blankets were available for additional money. Honestly, I just took one out of the closet instead. Oh and the internet is terrible here. I'm sure it's because of other guests, but even basic things were impossible to do due to slow connection.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witte_Aap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2012

With 3 months stay, its really a nice and pleasant guest house. Above average in genaral except the coffee and breakfast. Few times for breakfast at the very beginning of the stay ever since.

Unfortunately there are couples of small requests left unattended lately like mosquito coils (the mosquitos are attacking day and night like nobody's bisiness), wire extension plug (need to leave your electronic devices on room comment area) and no tv programmes (lots of the guests were sitting down with the remote control for a couple of minutes and walk away.

Although those are small requests but promp response would be much appreciated. However, will plan to switch guest house soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrdCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
TIDO @ Penang
TIDO @ Penang
#23 of 106 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roommates Penang
Roommates Penang
#14 of 106 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Inn Court
Red Inn Court
#17 of 106 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#5 of 106 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
House of Journey
House of Journey
#8 of 106 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
SIOK Hostel, Penang
SIOK Hostel, Penang
#3 of 106 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Inn Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Inn Cabana

Property: Red Inn Cabana
Address: 22 Lebuh Leith, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 106 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Inn Cabana 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guesthouse features 19 rooms with 2 chill out areas. Where there is choice of varieties of private room types and Dormitory rooms. Red Inn Cabana is a warm and friendly, that welcomes travelers from all over the world. We have a wealth of experience in the industry and know what travelers value and need during their stay.Guest can relax in our courtyard or catch up with friends and family over the internet. Wi-Fi access is also available throughout the property. (FREE OF CHARGE)Trips and tours can also be booked at our reception, so don't be afraid to ask.Red Inn Cabana has various private room types are: single, double, twin and triple, and dormitory of 2 beds, 4 beds, 6 beds and 8 beds with shared or attached bathrooms that can accommodate a total of 70 people.Bed sheets and linen are provided and there is a choice of low and high budget for roomsAir-Conditioning rooms are available for your choosing.Bathrooms comes with 24hrs hot showers. Red Inn Cabana is located in the heart of Penang Island. We are 15 minutes walk from Penang Port Pengkalan Weld George Town. Bus stops at Lebuh Chulia that need 7 minutes walk to our Red Inn Cabana.If you like shopping then you can go along Jalan Penang or even Lebuh Chulia, were you can find and also taste a lot of different foods (Chinese,Indian,Malay and Peranakan)and merchandise.Georgetown also has a briliant nightlife and there are a whole host of clubs and late night bars where you can go out and party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Inn Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Inn Cabana Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing